We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
All Saints Hotel(Bury St Edmunds)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Angel Hotel(Bury St Edmunds)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$169
US$162
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bushel(Bury St Edmunds)
Book now, pay at stay
US$79
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$106
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oak Farm Barn(Bury St Edmunds)
US$90
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Abbey Hotel(Bury St Edmunds)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ixworth House(Ixworth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (687)
Filter reviews
687 results
Traveller rating
374
171
70
43
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
374
171
70
43
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmews roomst edmunds roomclassic menushetland poniesfour poster bedthe main housea la carte menuwedding receptionsecret escapes dealsloping floorslovely groundslovely venuecream teacourse dinnerafternoon teaopen firewedding venue
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 687 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

We booked a last minute overnight stay here en route to Norfolk. Upon arrival we were advised we'd been upgraded to a room in the main hotel. It's fair to say that the hotel could do with some decorating and updating but this is more than made up for by the staff who are all very friendly and the food, which is surprisingly good. We ordered fish and chips for dinner which was a huge plateful and really very good. Breakfast is generous, good quality and well cooked. Would definitely return.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pipsmum999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

Went to Ravenwood Hall for afternoon tea with my 93 year old mum who birthday it was and her sister.
We booked well in advance but when we got there, we were shown to a side area with a low coffee table and low seats in which both my mum and sister had trouble sitting down on. The table was very low and would have been hard to eat the afternoon tea. We asked to be moved and were shown outside to a higher table. This was amongst the people enjoying an afternoon drink. I would have thought that afternoon tea which you pay extra for would have been allocated a special area.
The after tea was enjoyable with sandwiches' , scones with jam and cream, cake and a small trifle so no complaints there. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

Loved this hotel and will, hopefully, return very soon. We had booked for one night as we were attending a wedding nearby but the location makes it very convenient for Bury St Edmunds, Newmarket, Cambridge etc..so we'll definitely go back to explore the area. Just being there for one night we'd booked a room in the Mews which was perfectly adequate and well equipped with a modern en suite including bath and good supplies of tea and coffee. However it was perhaps a little dark and slightly claustrophobic. For longer stays we'd probably want to stay in the main hotel. There was also a slight issue with our luggage (the main reason for awarding four rather than five stars). As we'd arrived before official check in the receptionist offered to look after our bags and place them in one of the two rooms we'd booked once they were ready. However, on returning to the hotel at 11.30 we found that this had not happened and our bags were still in the main building which had been locked up for the night! (Not a major issue in our case but it could have been awkward had they contained medication for example). Other than this slight hiccup however, we enjoyed an excellent stay. The breakfast was wonderful with a wide choice and attentive, friendly service. The grounds are a delight with goats, Shetland ponies, croquet and a small swimming pool. This is a beautiful, historic and atmospheric hotel with great staff and real attention to detail. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Mews rooms are quite small but well equipped and okay for a short stay. For longer I'd opt for the main hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alison52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

We had a great Sunday lunch with friends. Service was excellent and very friendly. We were not rushed we could stay as long as we wanted. There is a lounge bar where you can have a drink or coffee before or after food.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017 via mobile

Most disgusted that on a warm sunny lunchtime we turned up to be told we could not sit outside. The tables outside were laid up for food but the waiter looked around at the 4 or 5 tables that were taken and said NO! I'm too busy.
Won't mention the funny handshake that the waiter gave the men who walked in before us. They obviously only serve those they want!!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
7  Thank cassiemcintosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews