We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
All Saints Hotel(Bury St Edmunds)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bushel(Bury St Edmunds)
Book now, pay at stay
US$80
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$116
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Abbey Hotel(Bury St Edmunds)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$106
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Northgate(Bury St Edmunds)
Book now, pay at stay
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oak Farm Barn(Bury St Edmunds)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fox Inn(Bury St Edmunds)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (687)
Filter reviews
687 results
Traveller rating
374
171
70
43
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
374
171
70
43
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmews roomst edmunds roomclassic menushetland poniesfour poster bedthe main housea la carte menuwedding receptionsecret escapes dealsloping floorslovely groundslovely venuecream teacourse dinnerafternoon teaopen firewedding venue
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 687 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2017

We got a really good deal and stayed for two nights. Our room was one of the Mews rooms which require you to go outside to access the main hotel. Not a problem, literally a minute away. The room itself was very clean, warm and comfortable with all the accoutrements we have come to expect. The bathroom was large and warm with nice fluffy towels and an actual bath tub. The bedroom most definitely did not smell of damp.
The staff were without exception friendly and helpful and in the bar was an old inglenook fire with a log fire burning. The food was very good and well presented and served.
The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and you can even bring your dog if you wish.
A very pleasant stay and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. Well done!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank R0100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R S, Public Relations Manager at Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Dear Guest,

How lovely to read such a nice review. The team at Ravenwood Hall will be thrilled to know you had such a pleasant stay and enjoyed all elements, from your room, exceptional service, great food and peaceful surroundings, The team pride themselves on making everyone's stay memorable.

We hope to see you again soon

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017

We stayed on 22nd November for one night on a (ridiculously good value) Secret Escapes deal.
This hotel oozes something that is almost impossible to create artificially - warmth and charm. It just has a lovely relaxed, friendly, informal and good quality feel to it.

We were staying in one of the cheaper Mews Rooms, room 6. The room is accessed via an external spiral staircase. The room is bijou but utterly charming with tasteful decor and a cosy feel. Don't expect a gargantuan suite and you won;t be disappointed.

Everyone we met throughout the hotel, from the reception, bar and restaurant staff to the gardeners and the gentleman looking after the animals, was friendly, welcoming and a credit to the hotel. i would have liked to thank everyone by name but unfortunately staff do not wear name badges.

We had an evening meal in the restaurant. The restaurant itself is welcoming and elegant, with a nice fire roaring and comfortable seating as well as decent sized tables. We ate from the "Classic" menu, which was included in our package, but we did have the option of choosing from the main a a la Carte menu at a supplement.

The classic menu was simple, unfussy and beautifully cooked and presented. The choice was limited but each of the dishes we had were excellent. I was reminded of a "Carte du Jour" menu at some of those wonderful small French country restaurants. The a la Carte menu offered a significant choice of more complex dishes but our smoked salmon, spinach and feta parcel, braised blade of beef and traditional fish pie were wholesome, filling and full of flavour.

We selected desserts of the main menu and these were also very good although, form my perspective, a little over-engineered, but this is just a personal opinion.

A relatively small but well priced wine list was available.

After a great night's sleep we had a wonderful freshly cooked breakfast - certainly among the best i have ever had and so much better than the usual self-service buffet.

So in summary, this hotel is not grand nor is it pretentious. But it has an amazing ambience hat cannot be artificially created. We loved it and left with a big smile, vowing to return very soon.

Howard

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank howard d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R S, Public Relations Manager at Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Dear Howard,

Well what a lovely review and I can not tell how much that means to everyone who works at Ravenwood Hall Hotel. We feel it is a little gem in the Suffolk Countryside, a bit special and the team work so hard to make everyone feel welcome.

We look forward to you returning soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017

The chef is batting above his rating as we were well please with our meals both nights; Staff attentive and smiley…..always a good sign; Room (mews) maybe just a tad tired and I suspect in the summer noisy as it’s ½ a mile from the A14. Otherwise I would rate this 5 stars.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R S, Public Relations Manager at Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Dear Charles,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. The whole of the Ravenwood team strive to give excellent customer service. They will be so pleased you enjoyed your stay and I will pass on your lovely comments to Tom, our chef.

I have also noted the comments regarding the mews room you stayed in, we are always striving to improve were possible.

Hope you will visit again soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

Staff were very pleasant and helpful, especially the lady who I assume was the manageress. I liked the decor of the hotel. Stayed in deans room which was a good size with a large comfortable bed and for an old property the room was lovely and warm. Dinner and breakfast were of a good standard. Would definitely return.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank sjs123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R S, Public Relations Manager at Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Dear Guest,

The Ravenwod Hall team really appreciate you taking the time to review us. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful wedding here. The staff helped throughout the organisation and quickly replied to any emails we sent. We attended multiple times running up to our wedding day to view the venue and to test set up the tables. Which we were delighted that this was no trouble for the hotel staff. The wedding itself was very well coordinated and everything went smoothly. The food was wonderful the chef did very well the food was tasty and still warm to eat. We opted for the fireworks at the end which was set off by the chef (multi talented man) and they were a wonderful end to our lovely day. Our room was lovely and clean although we didn't stay in the complimentary bridal suite we stayed in the st edmundsbury room which in our opinion should've been the bridal suite as it is the most wonderful room of the house. It was clean and the facilities were spotless. The next morning breakfast was a little slow to get going but ultimately was very very nice. Just what we wanted after a long day/night. Myself and my partner will be returning for an anniversary meal and to remember the wonderful experience. Thank you ravenwood for making our day a wonderful memory.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R S, Public Relations Manager at Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Dear Alex,

On behalf of the Ravenwood Hall team, thank you for your wonderful review. It is lovely to know that you enjoyed your special day with us and that we played a successful part in your wedding celebrations. The whole team works very hard to make sure that all aspects of a wedding celebration at Ravenwood Hall is successful. I will pass on your comments to the team and to our Chef in particular who made parts of your day very memorable. We hope you will come back and see us again.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews