We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
All Saints Hotel(Bury St Edmunds)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Angel Hotel(Bury St Edmunds)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$172
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Abbey Hotel(Bury St Edmunds)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$115
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$104
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$348
US$233
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oak Farm Barn(Bury St Edmunds)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$93
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ixworth House(Ixworth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (579)
Filter reviews
579 results
Traveller rating
180
194
111
67
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
180
194
111
67
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildinggarden roomchalet roomswestern hotelslovely groundstown centregood sizeold housestayed here for two nightsgood nights sleepexcellent breakfastbiscuitsenjoyable stayshort breakstefanweddingannex
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 579 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2018

We were very obviously staying in one of the older rooms (in the garden section), but it was still spotless despite the knackered carpet and bed and we found it very cozy with an excellent shower and bath. I liked the ‘motel’ style layout of the hotel and found its old fashioned-ness quite charming. Both of the ladies we spoke to on reception were extremely bright and cheerful. 20-25 minute walk to get into town or it’s a 5 minute drive. We paid less than £60 for this room and would definitely stay here again if ever in Bury.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank andy2581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim D, General Manager at Best Western Priory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Andy2581,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Priory Hotel.
I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us, and your kind comments will be passed onto my teams.
I hope that next time you are in the area we can show you the new extension to our Garden Restaurant and the new rooms that will be coming also by the end of the year.
Yours sincerely,
Kim David
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

For the most part, the Priory is what you would expect from a three-star hotel. The room was not spectacular, but it was comfortable and of reasonable size, with sufficient bedding and towels, plus all the little fripperies: hairdryer, iron & board, sewing kit, shoeshine pad etc. Plentiful supply of tea, coffee etc and that rarest of occurrences, a decent amount of sugar. I liked the large backlit bathroom mirror with built-in digital clock. Two very large TVs (this was a multi-bed room for three adults), but the remote affected them both at the same time. When we came into the room, one of the TVs was already on (why?) and switching it off then activated the other, and so on. Irritating.

A couple of other little niggles: the three tea/coffee cups were all of different design. The kettle lid fell off when I went to fill it. A larger niggle: the shower. The design of the knobs was such that you couldn't actually tell whether you were changing the power level or temperature. After a lot of uncomfortable trial & error I worked out that the tiny raised line on the knob indicated the correct position, not the large section of knob that overhung the dial and looked like a pointer. Very poor design. One of the towels was stained.

Most of the rooms are outside the main building - almost like a motel - meaning you go inside, then come outside again before getting into your room. We were misdirected so instead of a 30-yard straight line walk, we went round most of the perimeter. This led to my wife suffering a fall on some narrow, irregular, poorly lit steps. These steps need attention and the signage could also be improved.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim D, General Manager at Best Western Priory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear Stephen T,

Thank you for taking your time to leave us a review. We take all feedback into consideration and make great effort to make changes that are needed.
We are having an extension and refurbishment at the hotel very soon so i hope that when you are next in the area we can show you around and you will be more than happy with the changes.
If you have anything that you do wish to discuss over the phone, please don't hesitate to call and i will be happy to answer any questions or queries.
Kind Regards,
Kim David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

We stayed here for a 2 night New Years eve break. Our room was a courtyard room which was very comfortable. Will need a refurbishment when the work is to be carried out later on in the year when new rooms are added and the restaurant is increased in size also. The first night we had a 3 course dinner but this was cut short when a member of staff was taken ill. The staff dealt with this well with the help of a lady who was a nurse and removed everyone away from the incident and then made the bar free while they were dealing with this and continued to make it free for the rest of the night . Breakfast was good the next day although the staff appeared a bit overrun with the numbers. The evening was excellent with a 5 course meal and the disco had the place rocking all night. The following morning there was a brunch served from 10 a.m and this made our departure much more leisurely. Would like to say a big thank you to Manageress Kim David and all the staff especially Matthew Cooke who went around making sure everyone was enjoying themselves. We would definitely consider going back next New Years eve to see not just the improvements to be made and to once again hopefully enjoy a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are very quiet but you have to go outside to get to main hotel which maybe a problem if weather is bad
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Normanbray44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim D, General Manager at Best Western Priory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

DearNormanbray44,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Priory Hotel.
Your kind words will be passed on to all the teams and also to Matthew.
The new rooms and extension to our Garden restaurant are due to start in the coming months - with a view that this year's New Year Eve party will be held there for all guests.
I am glad to see that the incident on your first night did not affect your stay and that you continued to enjoy your time with us.
I certainly hope that next time you are in the area that you do stop by to see the improvements going ahead.
Kim David
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

Having enjoyed the 2016/17 New Year celebration we decided to return again this year. We stayed four nights and were looked after by caring staff. Accommodation in one of the courtyard rooms was again excellent, food too was to a high standard. I had encountered a problem at the outset with my booking that seemed to follow me when checking out. However, an extremely efficient and very professional young lady named Lauren immediately resolved the issue without further problems. Our last day at breakfast we met Tracey who had just returned from her Christmas break and she too was equally as efficient and professional in her manner and a joy to meet and made us feel welcome as did the other restaurant staff during our stay. All the staff who served us and looked after us are a credit to this hotel. It was unfortunate that a gentleman who was a member of staff was taken poorly whilst on duty, he too was such a caring gentleman and a pleasure to meet and to talk to. As a result of the paramedics having to be called to him, the Chief Executive Chef came to the rescue and whilst giving consideration and priority to this gentleman he also gave the same consideration to the guests. He dealt with a very senstive situation with the utmost efficiency and professionalism as he also did on the night of New Year's Eve when on duty in the restaurant. There can always be little things that can mar a stay and sometimes guests can allow that to cloud their thoughts but for my husband and I anything that may have been a problem to begin with was soon overcome by the way in which the staff caringly dealt with it. Once again may I say that the staff are a credit to the hotel and a joy to deal with. We will definitely return for another stay.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim D, General Manager at Best Western Priory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear Dawn B,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Priory Hotel.
You kind words have been passed onto my teams, who are always aiming to make a stay with us as enjoyable as possible.
I hope that at the end of this year we will be welcoming you back for another New Year celebration in our newly built Garden Restaurant and bedrooms.
When you are next in the area I would be happy to go through the renovation plans and show you where our improvements are taking the Priory Hotel in the future.
Yours sincerely,
Kim David
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

Stayed at The Priory with friends for a new year 3 day break. This is a small very personal hotel that served great food on hot plates with a smile. Breakfast was perfect as was our evening meals. The staff while mostly young were very polite and extremely professional in a incident when someone fell ill during dinner. Paramedics were called instantly. Senior staff came in while off duty and worked very hard to keep the evening running smoothly.

While some paint is needed in a few places the important things like hot water from taps, control of heat from radiators, ample parking spaces comfortable bed, table and chairs in our room with a proper wardrobe made the stay home from home.

We will be going to The Priory again.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Paul_Jilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim D, General Manager at Best Western Priory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Dear Paul_Jilly
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here with at the Priory Hotel.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
The hotel is going through refurbishment and an extension to our Garden Restaurant this year. I hope to be able to show you around, once this has been completed, when you stay with us next.
Kim David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews