We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great accommodation for relaxing break”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cedar Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A romantic night in, or you can dine al fresco on the sun deck. The hot tub, with ample seating for four, offers that something special for a great relaxing break.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
A romantic night in, or you can dine al fresco on the sun deck.
The hot tub, with ample seating for four, offers that something special for a great relaxing break.
Atmospheric lighting for those special meals in.
Stunning contemporary design with fully equipped kitchen, and adjoining dining area.
A spacious bright shower room with large shower enclosure.
Wake up in a king-size bed with French windows opening up onto the sun deck with hot tub close by.
Enjoy the private garden setting.
The high quality hot tub sits on the sun deck close to the bedroom doors.
A relaxing retreat, inside and out.
Will you be celebrating? Ask about our romantic package, for just £49 payable once here.
Upthorpe Lodges provide a private and quiet holiday retreat.
Close by is Wyken Hall, with gardens, restaurant, cafe and weekly farmers market.
A short walk away, the local wildlife reserve, Sid's Piece, has views beyond Stanton Mill.
Traditional timber-frame houses at Walsham le Willows, with two pubs and a prize-winning butchers.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gary s
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great accommodation for relaxing break”
Reviewed 16 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

This was our second visit and we chose Maple lodge for a change, but quite honestly they are all superb. We just chilled out visited Burt St Edmunds and a few farm shops etc. Made good use of the hot tub, very relaxing. It’s just nice for a couple to get away, and there are no screaming kids running around.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2018
Thanks for returning to Upthorpe Lodges, and also for taking the time to post your review, much appreciated! We hope to see you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flyer6741...
1 review
“Fantastic place”
Reviewed 9 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Lodge was brilliant, Bury Saint Edmunds was too. My wife had too leave early because she had a bad back, but, the time we stayed was brilliant!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2017
Thanks very much for taking the time to review Cedar Lodge and we were sorry you had to leave sooner than intended. We hope to see you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quiet and Tranquil with everything that you would need”
Reviewed 30 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Great quiet location, arrived to a welcome pack of goodies and a lovely letter from Deb and Ian. Hot tub was lovely and hot on arrival and was beckoning us in as soon as we got there. Had fish and chips the first night and they are gorgeous. Second day went into bury then out for a meal at the Dog in Norton, was lovely but quite busy. Third day went to Bury Abbey and Cathedral, what a sight and the cafe in the cathedral does amazing cream teas!. Fourth day we pottered about and went for a walk around the fields and ventured out to the Blue Boar for a meal, which was amazing a definitely a look again. Friday came and we had to leave, but it was an amazing week and helped us unwind and relax with the added aid of the Hot Tub which is amazing at night seeing bats fly overhead. We will be back and hope to try one of the new lodges next time. Thank you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2017
Good to hear you made the most of your stay and we hope to see you both again. Thanks very much for your kind review. (The Dog does get quite busy but never disappoints - they do a very good value menu every Monday evening but pre-booking recommended.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Jun 2017
What more can we say? Thanks so much for taking the time to submit your review and we hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Joanne H
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Relaxing Peaceful Birthday getaway”
Reviewed 13 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Just returned from a great relaxing weekend break at Cedar Lodge. The lodge is stunning, beautifully decorated,spacious and has everthing you want - including an amazing hot tub ( even in the middle of November). Welcome pack on arrival is a nice touch and the owners are very helpful.Only 20 minutes drive from Bury St Edmonds - nice shopping centre with all the chains,a few independent shops and loads of eateries. We ate at the Giggling Squid Thai restaurant reall nice. Would highly recommend this lodge - very private and peaceful and expectional value for money - will return again. Thank you for a lovely stay,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub and the layout of the lodge
Liked least: if you had no car - getting around would be difficult
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2016
Thanks for your great review, we really appreciate it. Good to hear about the Giggling Squid - a new one to us so we'll give it a try. Hope to see you back sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing