We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quintessential English tearoom.”

Lavenham Blue Vintage Tea Rooms
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Lavenham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$21
Description: A timber framed, 16th century cottage which has been converted by the owner to a traditional tea rooms. Get taken back in time with original family photos on the walls, Glenn Miller being played on the gramophone, bone china cups & saucers and a proper tea pot with tea cosy! Situated on the Market Square overlooking the magnificent Guildhall in the heart of the medieval village of Lavenham a warm welcome and a relaxed ambience is guaranteed. Freshly prepared ploughmans, doorstep sandwiches & light lunches using locally sourced produce, bread supplied by the bakers two doors away! Homemade cakes, scones & cupcakes. Traditional Afternoon Tea is a delight! We also offer a courtyard garden which is a real sun trap. Dogs & well behaved owners are welcome!
Restaurant details
Description: A timber framed, 16th century cottage which has been converted by the owner to a traditional tea rooms. Get taken back in time with original family photos on the walls, Glenn Miller being played on the gramophone, bone china cups & saucers and a proper tea pot with tea cosy! Situated on the Market Square overlooking the magnificent Guildhall in the heart of the medieval village of Lavenham a warm welcome and a relaxed ambience is guaranteed. Freshly prepared ploughmans, doorstep sandwiches & light lunches using locally sourced produce, bread supplied by the bakers two doors away! Homemade cakes, scones & cupcakes. Traditional Afternoon Tea is a delight! We also offer a courtyard garden which is a real sun trap. Dogs & well behaved owners are welcome!
Reviewed 12 October 2018

What a wonderful experience. We were visiting Lavenham with our good friends and enjoyed the perfect cream tea presented by the lovely Amanda and her very smiley staff. Scones baked by Amanda’s mum,surely the doyenne of scone bakers. Amanda happy to explain the brief history of her tea room home. Check out the family photos, a definite must is, use the loo, if you have a heart it’ll make you smile all day. Thanks Amanda Gra,Judy,Nick,Lin

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank grahamandjudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda M, Owner at Lavenham Blue Vintage Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2018

Dear grahamjudy
Thanks so much for your terrific review of your recent cream tea at Lavenham Blue Vintage Tea Tea Rooms. It was a pleasure to welcome the four of you, I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us. I am sure our Scone Diva (mum) and Team Lavenham Blue will also be chuffed to have received a mention - thank you. I really appreciate your lovely comments and hope to welcome you again.
Best wishes
Amanda & Team Lavenham Blue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2018

Lavenham is on the tourist map because of its Tudor buildings which have been well preserved and looked after over many years. And this tea room is part of the scene. Oak beams, bone china tea service, pictures of USAAF airmen on the wall (Suffolk was home to a lot of air bases in WW2) and nostalgic music playing in the background - Glen Miller, Vera Lynn, etc. Vey nice cake, fruit loaf, tea and coffee, all in all a delightful experience.
Highly recommended if you are in Suffolk, well worth a visit.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda M, Owner at Lavenham Blue Vintage Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2018

Dear Michael D
Thanks for taking the time to share your review of your recent visit to Lavenham Blue Vintage Tea Rooms. I am delighted your enjoyed tea loaf (made for us by the local bakers), cake & drinks. It's always great to read such positive comments about my much loved home (as well as tea rooms)! Thanks also for your recommendation.
Hope to see you again.
Best wishes
Amanda & Team Lavenham Blue



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

Excellent doorstep sandwiches brought to us for a working lunch. Freshly made and plenty of filling followed by delicious cake!!

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Mandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda M, Owner at Lavenham Blue Vintage Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

Dear Mandy P
Thanks so much for sharing your review of your working lunch. It was a pleasure to deliver your doorstep sandwiches to your doorstep! We wish you every success with your new, larger salon which will undoubtedly be fabulous and I will soon be a visitor!
Best wishes
Amanda & Team Lavenham Blue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

What a lovely change to have fresh local produce, freshly prepared and well presented. I would highly recommend the Blue Vintage Tea Rooms for food and service above the normal

Date of visit: September 2018
2  Thank V8104TTjohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda M, Owner at Lavenham Blue Vintage Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Dear John S
Thanks so much for your review of your recent visit to Lavenham Blue Vintage Tea Rooms. I am delighted by your comments. We are so very fortunate to have a fantastic bakers, butchers & grocers in Lavenham who all work with us to ensure we offer a great selection of terrific quality, local produce on our menu. I appreciate your recommendation, thank you.
Hope to see you again.
Best wishes
Amanda & Team Lavenham Blue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

Spent a very pleasant afternoon having a delicious cream tea here. The scone was homemade and tasted lovely. Nice variety of scones to suit all tastes. Service was personal and very friendly.

Date of visit: September 2018
3  Thank RachelMaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda M, Owner at Lavenham Blue Vintage Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Dear RachelMaisy
Thanks so much for your review your recent visit to Lavenham Blue Vintage Tea Rooms. I am delighted you enjoyed your cream tea. Our homemade scones are always a firm favourite wth our lovely customers!
Hope to see you again.
Best wishes
Amanda & Team Lavenham Blue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lavenham Blue Vintage Tea Rooms also viewed

Long Melford, Babergh District
Lavenham, Babergh District
 
Lavenham, Babergh District
 
Lavenham, Babergh District
Lavenham, Babergh District
 

Been to Lavenham Blue Vintage Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing