We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveller rating
91
88
36
14
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
88
36
14
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarket squareold marketbin menold buildingbrick fireplacewatch the worldfish and chipsdog friendly hotelthe pubthree nightscomfortable bedbeefenjoyed our staywhite company toiletrieshotel is situatedwell worth a visitbiscuits
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 241 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2018

This was an extremely comfortable and friendly hotel. Even the dogs got a sausage each for breakfast. I would recommend this hotel unreservedly - excellent menu in restaurant and the breakfast menu choice was exceptionally varied. Only down side was initially difficult to find a parking space but only because Lavenham is a very popular tourist attraction - not the hotel's fault! Only stayed for one night [attending a family funeral] but it was a Friday night and we did not experience any excessive noise - in fact the bed was so comfortable I must have had the best nights sleep away from home ever!

Room Tip: This is a Dog Friendly Hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bassethoundlover2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

Staying here just one night, first impressions were positive - it was a nice quaint old building with a friendly welcome by staff.
The pub had a nice atmosphere, a mix of locals and visitors.
We had a nice evening meal of starters Asparagus / Crab, and mains of Steak / Cajun Chicken Breast - the steak was particularly good.
Breakfast the following morning was also good.
However, the rooms could do with a little TLC, especially considering the room rate. Our room had a blown light bulb; wardrobe handle missing; and basin plug chain broken - all easily fixed for a few quid and a bit of effort.
It didn't bother us especially but light sleepers might be irritated by a distant whirring sound overnight from what seemed like a boiler or extractor fan.
Overall -- great food, good service, average room needing a little TLC.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SunJester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018

We stayed a Friday and Saturday night recently. The bar and restaurant staff board in the hotel, and were up late drinking, shouting, banging doors, and generally clumping around... The old floors and door certainly don't help with noise control, but I think the management needs to decide between hosting staff or guests. On the plus side, the food was pretty good (although the breakfast coffee isn't).

Room Tip: Don't stay in Room #5, it's right next to the staff room
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

Loved the hotel, the staff were very friendly and helpful. Very comfortable bed in a quaint sloping floored room! Our dinner was excellent, especially the 48 hr cooked belly pork.
Very quiet outside although it was on the market place. Lavenham is a delight to visit. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Suzyb16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018 via mobile

I came into the Angel a few weeks ago with some friends. At first we waited for quite a while to be served (even though there was someone stocking up the bar fridges) we got seated eventually. I ordered a Guinness (I know it takes 120 seconds to pour a pint) but it took 5 minutes to come to my table.

The servers were more interested talking to the regulars it looked like. My friends and I felt very ignored and left out, the food redeemed the experience Mushy peas and tartare are lovely and and not over priced.

But Customer Service needs improvement.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank LongIslandIcedTea997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews