We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rosery Country House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Car park is a mess decor very shabby we stayed in a family room wifi was very poor intermittent room was cold no heating on shower ran hot then cold single glazed Windows so could hear all surrounding noises doors banging till gone 1pm bed very uncomfortable carpet dirty & stained church bell went off every hour during the night. The hand dryer in the ladies toilet below our room was very noisy all night long finally got a bit of sleep when the fire alarm went off no evacuation procedures in place rushed down wooden stairs only to find it appeared to be a joke no one knew waht was going on. No apology no refund a complete rip off do not waste your money

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank troyparrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2017

We booked this hotel due to it's closeness to Cambridge, for a shopping trip the next day. Following our experience at the hotel, we decided to come straight home due to a lack of sleep. The rooms were a good size and clean, but we're very tired and in desperate need of a makeover. The room was also a bit on the cold side especially the bathroom. The beds were uncomfortable, very soft and the pillows caused two of us to have a neckache the next day. There was a party in the conservatory, but the noise from this was not too bad, however we were directly above the ladies toilet, where we heard the handryer go off every 10 minutes and other guests in the hotel using the wooden stairs outside our door were also very noisy. The hotel is situated on quite a busy road, and the traffic noise, hourly church bells, constant dog barking and the party guests departing at midnight and beyond, did not promote a good night's sleep, as the Windows were single glazed. We eventually got to sleep in the early hours of the morning, only to be woken by a fire alarm just after 8.30am. We started to make our way downstairs to realise it was a false alarm. By this point we'd had enough, packed our bags and checked out, missing the breakfast which was included in the accommodation price. The man who dealt with the checking out process hardly said two words, which especially surprised me, as I was expecting some sort of an apology for the fire alarm incident. On hindsight I wished I had asked for a discount, but I just wanted to get home to my own bed. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Possibly a hotel at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kparrish2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

Being greeted by Alan Ketteridge the new manager was a great start ! You can tell good things are going to happen at what is , at the moment, this slightly below standard accommodation! The food is absolutely amazing , they have a fabulous chef and attentive staff and once the refurbishment is complete they will have a top rated hotel all round !

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Karenf2061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Booked a table for 4 yesterday- nice and spacious in the conservatory, overlooking the garden- Good choice for Sunday lunch and served very promptly. Excellent value would come again. Very friendly and efficiently service. Thanks to Alan and his team

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank kellykelly402017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

First time here with my partner .
Very impressed with the hotel and our room .. very clean and spacious. The food was to die for . Perfect ! The staff were very friendly and welcoming . Will definitely stay again the next time we visit Newmarket! Thankyou for a wonderful stay in a beautiful hotel with gorgeous grounds &full of wonderful history

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newmarket hotels
3.2 km away
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
972 reviews
3.3 km away
Best Western Heath Court Hotel
3.1 km away
Premier Inn Newmarket Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Rutland Arms Hotel
Rutland Arms Hotel
#6 of 8 in Newmarket
504 reviews
3.2 km away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#8 of 8 in Newmarket
149 reviews
3.6 km away
Newmarket Boutique Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosery Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosery Country House Hotel

Address: 15 Church Street, Newmarket CB8 7EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Newmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Price Range: $105 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosery Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rosery Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing