We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bull Hotel - Woodbridge
Nearby Hotels
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa(Woodbridge)(Great Value!)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Ipswich South East Hotel(Ipswich)(Great Value!)
US$72
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Woodhall Manor(Woodbridge)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seckford Hall(Woodbridge)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Hotel(Framlingham)
Toprooms.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (261)
Filter reviews
261 results
Traveller rating
57
85
49
33
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
57
85
49
33
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold buildingshire hallsmall car parkstairs are steepuneven floorswork purposescooked breakfaststayed one nightfriendly hotelcomfortable bedroom was largeenjoyable stayexcellent breakfastgood nights sleepsaturday nightfour poster bedyogurt
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 261 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Old Building with narrow stairs and hard access to get to the room. The hotel is basic, no thrills, room was noisy but bed was comfortable. No shower in the bathroom, just bathtub. Perhaps with maintenance could improve quality. Very basic breakfast. No internet in the rooms and staff a bit rude.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RTCARNEIRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrsbee042, Owner at Bull Hotel - Woodbridge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

We were sorry to learn of your disappointing stay with us. We are in the process of refurbishing our rooms, which we hope will improve guest experience in the future. Regarding rudeness, it would be appreciated if you could provide us with more details so we can take the matter up with the member of staff concerned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Hadn't realised there were any outbuildings to The Bull so, although I had verbally been told that a room facing the old Shire Hall was not available, I assumed we would be accommodated WITHIN the hotel in one of the rooms of this historic building. We were however directed to the car park & a "suite" which was modest and characterless and could have been a motel room in any part of the world... so if you have imaginings that you'll feel some of the history of this town it would be best to be aware of this alternative and especially request a room within the building.
We only entered the hotel (from the rear) for breakfast & that was also in a bland "overflow" part where two large screens were normally watched for football & rugby etc.
Our bedroom window was directly onto the car park (see pictures) & although we, too, were impressed by the beautiful classic car just inches away, it was less fun to have people viewing it for up to ten minutes at a tome (with engine running) & although it was daytime we switched off our reading lights as we were clearly visible through our net curtains.
We did appreciate that parking was available.... but would have preferred to sleep further away!
The bed was lovely & we did sleep well despite our pillows (including the two stored in wardrobe) which were all really, really lumpy.
Everyone was friendly & helpful but appeared lacking in enthusiasm or total commitment to their place of work & it was reflected in lots of small ways that might diminish the comfort of some of their guests. I would perhaps try staying WITHIN the hotel (but we are more likely to look for other accommodation) when we return to Woodbridge.
Although WIFI apparently available it didn't reach our room so I used my mobile phone.
Disappointing on most counts, sadly.

Room Tip: Ask for room WITHIN actual old/original hotel building.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeDianaCosford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrsbee042, Owner at Bull Hotel - Woodbridge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

We were sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your recent stay at The Bull. We do our utmost to fulfil guests’ requests but at peak times it is not always possible to provide a specific room. The chalets are often requested by guests who prefer not to be in-house due to problems with mobility, etc. We do apologise for the problem you encountered with the pillows, which have now been replaced, and the parking of the classic car, which we can assure you is not a regular occurrence. Your comments regarding the staff have been noted and we do hope that, if you stay with us in the future, you will see a marked improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

Let’s keep this review succinct, like the one night stay;

* The car park in the courtyard has two too many car parking spaces, and im sure if you had a rather long vehicle could be a bit tricky to park in when most spaces are already in use. But I managed it in my Focus.

* Booking in was undertaken in a pleasant and efficient manner.

* Our room was on the first floor, and being in an old building meant traversing uneven stairs and corridors, which wasn’t any real trouble, just watch your head in some places if 6ft tall.

* The room itself was very spacious, and so was the bathroom. The bed was enormous and very comfy. Ok, the telly was small, as others have mentioned, but you don’t live in your room, so get out and about and explore Woodbridge and its environs, or just enjoy a relaxing good night’s sleep!

* The shower over the bath was nice and hot and was powerful enough. Although not a massive problem, but the bathroom door couldn’t be closed fully (or locked).

* The staff were very helpful and friendly, and the mornings breakfast was spot on, with a choice of cereals, yoghurts, tea or coffee, toast as well as the obligatory full English cooked affair.

Overall this was a good place to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sgt_WIlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrsbee042, Owner at Bull Hotel - Woodbridge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We are always striving to improve guest experience and your feedback will help us in this respect. We have carried out repairs to the bathroom door and apologise for any inconvenience caused. Televisions are currently being upgraded, which we hope will improve guest experience in the future. We hope to welcome you back to The Bull soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

All staff here very friendly and helpful. We were on the top floor but we ok with stairs and had a great view of the square. Room was large and bed was very comfy. Shower could have had more pressure and telephone a but bigger. The breakfast is very good as are the evening meals and very well priced. I would recommend staying here

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank neighboursKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrsbee042, Owner at Bull Hotel - Woodbridge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Thank you for your feedback, which we will pass on to the team. We hope to welcome you to The Bull again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

booked for one night as had an event to attend locally, lovely central position for town.
small double room very clean with toiletries & hairdryer
TV a little small, breakfast nice enough though had to do own toast when i would have preferred it when breakfast served,
Nice bar area with well priced meals & friendly staff
would recommend

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank susan o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrsbee042, Owner at Bull Hotel - Woodbridge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us and for the positive comments. We are upgrading to larger televisions in the near future, which we hope will improve the overall guest experience. We do ask guests to help themselves to toast as well as beverages, cereals, etc at breakfast as these are unlimited but will take your comments on board as we appreciate this may be something we need to review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews