We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (383)
Filter reviews
383 results
Traveller rating
179
130
46
20
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
179
130
46
20
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree car parkcentral locationroll top bathunderfloor heatingsparkling waterhomemade biscuitsnight portermarket townscallopsbar areasaturday nightseparate showerhigh streettea and coffee making facilitieswine listlovely towncomfortable bed
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 383 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2018

Arrived on Friday pm to the Crown for a couple of nights for my husbands 60th birthday. Free on site parking is definitely a bonus. We checked in really quickly and went up to our lovely room. The day we arrived it was seriously hot and we were really pleased that the Crown had supplied a very large fan for the room, which worked a treat. The room was very large and the bathroom also of a great size with roll top bath and powerful shower. The bathroom was quite warm as the window only opened to a small gap. We went down to dinner and had some excellent food, although my husbands rare beef starter was very sinewy and we were not charged for it. Main courses were delicious and the summer pudding with mascarpone ice cream was spectacular. Whilst we were eating, there was a thunderstorm worthy of Thor himself and as we had left the windows open to let in air, the rain did come in the room, but only onto the windowsill and bedside tables. Unfortunately, some of the magazines left on said bedside tables, were rather water logged. There was no noise from the bar (which we had been told was 24 hours if we wanted it) and we slept really well. Breakfast was very good with a lot of choice. The lovely waiting staff from the night before had recommended a pub to go to for lunch, which we went to and had a lovely lunch (although we could only manage sandwiches due to the large breakfast). We then had dinner again in the Crown, which was again delicious. It is quite expensive, but the little touches, ie the fan, white towelling robes, slippers, home made biscuits etc made it a wonderful weekend away. All the staff were delightful.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank phonelessinphuket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneLarcombe, Business Development Manager at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Thank you for your kind review and we're pleased to hear that you both enjoyed your husband's 60th birthday weekend away.

We hope to welcome you back again and if there is anything we can assist you with in the meantime, please do let us know.

Kind regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018

The Crown is often not firing on all cylinders - either the service or the food is not quite right, However, we tried once again and were not disappointed. The special Valentine's menu was superb, from the amuse bouche to dessert. My husband has a dairy allergy and having advised them in advance, they took care to ensure he had appropriate replacements for the amuse bouche right through his starter and main course.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank simmkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneLarcombe, Business Development Manager at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Thank you for returning to The Crown at Woodbridge. We're pleased to hear that your meal was enjoyable and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Many thanks for your review.

Kind regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018

My husband had booked a night here as a birthday treat and this is a really lovely place to stay. It was Suffolk Day and we took advantage of the special Suffolk menu that the hotel offered. The food was totally first class, and the service in the restaurant was very good. Lovely ambience too. We found that the drinks were not overpriced and the bar staff were very pleasant.
All the rooms in this hotel are different, and our room (9) was well decorated and very smart and clean. Bed linen crisp and mattress extremely comfortable.
Breakfast the next morning was top rate and utterly delicious. The staff were attentive and nothing was too much trouble. I cannot recommend this place enough and would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique and well situated.
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank JudyHub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneLarcombe, Business Development Manager at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Many thanks indeed for your very kind review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

We had dinner in the hotel for a family celebration. We were advised to pre book but were surprised to find the restaurant pretty empty. There was only a small selection of wines but despite that the ones we chose were thin and overpriced for the poor quality.
We all had starters and mains and the consensus was that there was not one dish that could be described as good - whether in taste, quality or value.
Two of our party chose the most expensive steak in the house and were frankly shocked by the awful presentation and poor quality of the meat.
The service could be charitably described as inexperienced.
Overall we had a very memorable evening - but for all the wrong reasons.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
4  Thank RReliant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneLarcombe, Business Development Manager at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Thank you for sharing your review, but we are extremely sorry to hear that your evening, was not the enjoyable one you had hoped for.

We want all of our guests to leave The Crown, feeling totally satisfied. We would therefore recommend diners to raise any issues with their meals or drinks, at the time of dining, as it's much easier to rectify these issues when customers are still on site. That said, in order for us to investigate this matter, please could you email me with the date and details of your family celebration, together with your Trip Advisor review title? I will then ensure that this matter is followed up.

Kind regards
Jane

Jane Larcombe
Business Development Manager
E: jane@tahotelcollection.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018

Nicely presented and modern decor. Food was tasty however the service quite poor. Staff outnumbered the guests and we had to order at the bar despite tables being served now and again. There’s better places to eat in Woodbridge with more attentive staff and tastier food!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank clive765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneLarcombe, Business Development Manager at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Thank you for your review, which makes disappointing reading. I am so sorry to hear that your encountered difficulties with ordering your food. I hope that you will visit us again soon and that you find the service much improved, upon your return.

Kind regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews