We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding in Service and Hospitality!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western New Kent Hotel
Reviewed 19 July 2017

I was in Newcastle at the International Transplant Centre in the Freeman Hospital. New Kent Hotel was the closest 3 star hotel -about a 20min walk or a £3 taxi ride. The major surgery kept me in hospital for a month and my dear wife stayed the whole time at the New Kent Hotel. They were outstanding in their service and hospitality. I joined her for the fifth and final week before the Prof said we could fly home to the Channel Islands.

These are genuine and kind people offering a first class service in a building that is starting to show its age and maintenance issues. We had a problem with water not draining from my our bathroom and the maintenance guy could not have been more discreet or helpful. Excellent breakfasts, bar and evening food. We will certainly be there again each time I have to return to the Freeman. You can trust this establishment.

Room Tip: Osborne Road is very busy so ask for a side or back room if that would bother you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SarniaCherie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2017

This has been my first choice Newcastle hotel for many years now. It is located in the lovely suburb of Jesmond close to all amenities, public transport and green spaces. Good value rooms and friendly staff make it easy to recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Neil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

I used this hotel for a 6 night stay to generally explore the Newcastle area. I had checked with a friend before booking that Jesmond was a nice safe area to stay in and I certainly was not disappointed. The hotel is in a lovely location facing a small park and St. George's Church with lots of good restaurants a few minutes walk away. There were very nice and interesting walks up the roads behind the church towards Jesmond Dene. Very convenient at less than 10 minutes walk to West Jesmond Metro Station and also a bus stop straight outside the hotel. A small Waitrose supermarket a few minutes walk away.

I found this relatively small hotel provided me with a very relaxing stay. Although on the back with no view, my room was of a reasonable size, with very comfortable bed, large screen tv, 2 chairs and an adequate shower and bathroom. The room was very clean and well supplied with tea, coffee and biscuits, and the free wifi worked very well. My only criticism would be that with only 2 very small windows the room ought to have had better lighting as it was very dark at times, especially for reading.

The thing which made this hotel and the main reason why I will probably certainly return at some point in the future was the genuine friendliness of all of the staff. It was good to stay in a hotel mainly staffed with local Newcastle people, not Eastern Europeans, who welcomed you to their city and knew the area well.
The breakfast was very good, with the cooked items cooked to order rather than standing getting cold on a buffet counter. I only had one evening meal in the hotel, as I like to eat out locally, but that was good and reasonably priced and again served by very friendly and helpful staff.

Using the Metro or bus you could be in Newcastle City Centre within 20 minutes and the Metro was also very useful for exploring the coast around Tynemouth and Whitley Bay. Reasonably priced combined Metro/Bus tickets enabled me to travel around the area easily without needing my car. Travelling out to the museum at Beamish by public transport was very easy with just one easy change from Metro to bus at Gateshead. I recommend going out to spend a whole day at Beamish.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights beginning of July. Hotel is fab. Staff very friendly. Room excellent size and clean. Only slight issue was the lighting - was pretty dark when getting ready to go out. Free parking is excellent and location of hotel is perfect. When I'm in Newcastle I prefer to stay in jesmond as it's a great location for drinks and food and very handy to city centre. We also went to the races one night which was only 5 mins away by taxi x

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank jmilla17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017

Wifi can be a bit rubbish in some of the rooms but excellent staff and bathrooms in each room. Go for a double over a single room, it is worth the extra cost. Staff are extremely friends and helpful and am going back again.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 545TheBigJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 km away
Dene Hotel
Dene Hotel
#46 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
124 reviews
0.4 km away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#29 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
516 reviews
1.2 km away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#17 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#10 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
537 reviews
3.1 km away
Ryokan Hotel
Ryokan Hotel
#39 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
115 reviews
0.7 km away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#51 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western New Kent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western New Kent Hotel

Address: 127 Osborne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $79 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western New Kent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western New Kent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing