We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
7 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$106
Hotels.comUS$106
PricelineUS$106
TravelocityUS$106
eDreamsUS$106
getaroom.comUS$119
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,043)
Filter reviews
2,043 results
Traveller rating
1,229
503
158
81
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,229
503
158
81
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gin bar the club lounge pillow spray jacuzzi and steam room train station spa facilities mini bar lovely hotel city centre afternoon tea car park good size coffee machine birthday treat bars and restaurants comfy bed stayed for one night
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 2,043 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2021 via mobile

Really poor customer service throughout. The hotel was busy, which seemed to come as a huge surprise to management, as just about all the amenities failed to cope. I’ve stayed here before when it has been quiet and it was pretty good, as you would expect, but the leisure facilities, the breakfast and the room cleaning etc proved unfit for purpose this time round.

Room tip: Avoid when likely to be busy. Don’t pre-pay for breakfast as you will quite possibly end up eating elsewhere.
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank jwright1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Borg, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2021

Dear jwright1313 ,

I am so sorry you did not enjoy your recent stay , we are busy but our team are used to being full and always perform to the best they can , apologies if you did not find this to be the case .

Kind Regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2021

The lowest standard of cleanliness in any hotel I have ever stayed in and their website and welcome letter state there is enhanced cleaning protocols in place ! Rooms not cleaned or freshened once during a three day stay. No clean towels, linen or cups offered or given when requested. Bins in and around hotel not being emptied and overflowing, outside seating area strewn with rubbish.
Rude and unhelpful staff !

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank G3963ELlisah
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Borg, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2021

Dear G3963ELlisah,

Apologies you did not enjoy your stay , we always endevour to meet our guests expectations obviously we did not for your .

Sincere apologies

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2021 via mobile

In 18 years of being an IHG member I am sad to say your hotel is probably the worst Crowne Plaza we’ve ever stayed in.
Check in with the bored lady who was rushing to finish her shift.
No thankyou for being an IHG member. Never told us where breakfast was never told us pool only open for children at 4pm.
Went to the bar to get a drink and see the bar menu. Wife says there’s not much on there let’s eat in the restaurant. Restuarant manager tells me that due to a coach party all FULL paying guests cannot eat in the restaurant until 20:30. It was 18:15.
Also there is no other menu. Why.
Ordered in the bar
Lasagne chunky chips and garlic bread
You get cold lasagne skinny chips and salad
Chilli will pilau rice and brazed onions
You get beef with no spices boiled rice and raw onion
Huge problems
You have no allergy system in place as you put food on plates that is not on the description
In 18 years as an IHG card member I have never been treated as a second class guest behind budget coach tours that are paying probably a 1/3 of what we are.
The chicken burger my wife was served after 45 mins of complaining about the first food was at best from Iceland.
Is the best you can do at a Crowne Plaza a splat of lasagne on a plate. Not even served in a dish for presentation
Rich Furlong
292-056-878

Sent from Richie's iPhone
Then they ran out of orange J2os
All in all this hotel is shambolic. Please refer to my review of the express Inverness for a great IHG. With super service.
Sitting watching full paying guests asking for the restaurant at 20:15 and being turned away and walking out.
The decision of this hotel to prioritise coach tours over full paying guests is breathtakingly stupid.
I will be contacting IHG to discuss this decision further.

Room tip: Come on a coach tour
Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank richie196
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG Service, Sales at Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2021

Good day! richie196,

Your review caught my attention. We want our guests to be recharged and feel inspired, but your feedback says otherwise. Your IHG® Rewards membership perks certainly do not include this kind of experience. I am sorry for the lapses encountered with the service, the unavailability of the pool, and the restaurant during your visit. I've shared your comment with our management team, and I've sent you an email to get more details for us to be able to address your concern properly.

I hope to get another chance to host your stay and make the value of your experience worth it for all the right reasons.

Yours in hospitality,

Jeraldine R.
Case Manager
IHG Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2021 via mobile

Attended a wedding here last month and the venue was an ideal location for it. Very nice room for the service, great staff throughout the day and evening, amazing vegan food and great rooms for a very reasonable rate. Good location with city centre bars and restaurants just minutes walk from the hotel, the train station literally across the road and the quayside area just 5 mins stroll away.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank deepfreezevegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Borg, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2021

Dear deepfreezevegan ,

Thank you so much for your recent review , great to hear you enjoyed the hotel and the location .

Kind Regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2021 via mobile

Excellent customer service throughout our three night stay from all staff especially young lad on reception who was very clear and informative on our arrival
Very spacious clean room and bathroom separate shower and bath
There was also tea and coffee making facilities a hair dryer,iron,fridge and large television.
The breakfast was good buffet style but plenty of choice which was well laid out and kept hot.
The bar was well stocked and plenty of staff but very expensive which we expected
The pool steam room and jacuzzi was excellent very clean and not too busy
The car park level 10 plenty of space and make sure you pay at reception to get your discount

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Departure24272155202
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews