We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
7 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$106
Expedia.comUS$106
Hotels.comUS$106
eDreamsUS$106
CheapTicketsUS$106
getaroom.comUS$119
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,043)
Filter reviews
2,043 results
Traveller rating
1,229
502
158
82
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,229
502
158
82
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gin bar the club lounge pillow spray jacuzzi and steam room train station spa facilities mini bar lovely hotel city centre afternoon tea car park good size coffee machine birthday treat bars and restaurants comfy bed stayed for one night
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 2,043 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Night porter staff (3) do a walk around at the beginning and end of their shift. 23.00 and 05.00. However late night revellers that return drunk, are free to slam doors, smoke, play loud music and turn their tv volumes to full.

The victims are those people trying to sleep in the adjoining rooms. The victims are expected to complain to the reception by telephone in the early hours. Banging on the door of the reveller is not acceptable. However when there is a floor 6 which is sealed off from the main hotel because this floor is club-class, party go-ers are free to party without raising concern to reception.

Totally unacceptable. For those guests attending a conference the next day, their day is spoilt due to lack of sleep.

I experienced this and was accused of being at fault for not complaining in the early hours. I suggested at 07.00 that the reception staff follow me to the room in question and raise my complaint with the reveller but this was forbidden. I could not win either way.

Room tip: Do not stay in club class as late night revellers are free to party as the sound is within and enclosed area.
Date of stay: September 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mickcaseywarterford
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Borg, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear mickcaseywarterford ,

I hope you are well , Many thanks for your feedback i am very sorry you did not sleep well our nights team are very vigilant and aware of guests being able to get a good nights sleep on the
night concerned fire walks were carried out on Four times during an eight hour period if there was
noise outside these walks i apologize to you and your party .

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed Sun-Mon nights for a quick city break. The location of the hotel is convenient for many city centre restaurants and sights. The hotel facilities are very typical of trhe Crowne Plaza/IHG chain, clean and well run. Car parking is situated next to the hotel in a multi-storey complex which costs £10 per night. The hotel is easily accessed by parking your car on Level 10 but it is quite a tight car park and can be time consuming to get to the top. Newcastle train station is located opposite the hotel.
Only downside to our visit was breakfast - unfortunately, we stayed on the night of the Great North Run so the queue at 9am backed up from the restaurant to the lift lobby - clearly not prepared for the event. Other than this, it was an enjoyable stay and check in/out was efficient. Definitely a place to stay if you're looking for convenience and a reliable hotel chain.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheRidders
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Borg, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear TheRidders ,

Many thanks for your recent review great to hear you enjoyed your stay on a busy GNR weekend always a fun one
great to hear check in check out were hassle free , we look forward to seeing you soon

Kind Regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2021 via mobile

The room was good (5th floor) hotel clean and well laid out. The swimming pool and hot tube where small and difficult to use because of the number of people in there. The reception team could be better organised no clear queuing system allowing people to push in, one member of reception staff not very helpful.
We had a fire alarm at 7.45pm the hotel was emptied quickly but it would have been better with Fire Marshals on the stairs as some slower people did not keep to one side of the stairs. Leading to frustration with quicker people coming behind.
We clapped the fire men and where allowed back in 20 mins latter.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Peteuk69
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 September 2021 via mobile

Stayed here this weekend as we were attending the rugby magic weekend. We booked a king superior room for 2 nights bed and breakfast. Check in was quick. Our room was on the 5th floor overlooking the river in the distance and next to the blue metro line bridge. We weren’t kept awake by the trains at all. Lovely clean room and modern bathroom with separate bath and shower. Tea and coffee etc in the room plus a fridge/minibar. We parked in the Stephenson car park which is right next door to the hotel. It cost us £10 per 24hrs. 5 minutes walk to the station and town etc. Breakfast was good. Get in before 9am to avoid queueing ad it gets busy later on. We enjoyed our stay and will return.

Room tip: Go to breakfast before 9am. Park on level 10 of car park for quick access to the hotel.
Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank yorkshiretotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 September 2021 via mobile

Attended a wedding recently, best thing was the staff the were lovely, along with the venue, nice clean and modern. However it was spoilt by probably the worst DJ I’ve ever come across, rubbish music, couldn’t understand what he was saying, my partner and other members of our table requested songs, typical wedding party tunes to get everyone up dancing as everyone was just sat looked bored, they were never played. The food was mediocre, beef butty and a few fries. Drinks very expensive as you can imagine at a hotel.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Lindzjo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews