We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub food”
Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I went to the Red Lion for lunch with 2 friends. We had trouble finding a parking space in their car park as it is very small and one of my friends is disabled so we had to park near. Eventually we parked the car and went in to find our pre-booked table. The waitress was very friendly and took us to our table. We had a lovely meal and we all had their Haddock and chips, which was really good. Service was excellent considering they were really busy. I can thoroughly recommend the Red Lion.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob F, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Robin M,

Thanks for your feedback regarding your recent visit to The Red Lion. I'm so glad you had a pleasant experience and your waitress looked after you well. Our car park does get really busy especially at this time of the year, but we do have allocated disabled spaces too.

We look forward to seeing you soon..

Rob F

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (707)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 707 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our party of 3 popped in for a drink (Tuesday evening at 10pm) after an evening out as our daughter could get a Costa Hot Chocolate at the bar. If she had not been able to get this, we would have walked straight out! The female behind the bar was ignorant and rude and too busy chatting to a colleague moaning about how long it was until he finished and customers, to bother about us. She was far too busy talking to care about any customers, and we were surprisingly not the only ones, although why anyone goes I'm at a loss to comprehend. We waited for over 5 minutes while she ignored us. They were not doing anything and could have served. When she finally served us our 2 pints and hot chocolate, they were served with a "growl" and slammed down - most unpleasant and definitely not anyone's definition of customer service! Absolutely dire! We did give her another chance 2 nights later, as we can all have a bad day. Same order, ignored for far longer while she chatted and moaned, Costa machine taken to pieces "for cleaning" before 10pm so no hot chocolate and the pints were poured with the same disgraceful and unacceptable poor "service". I would not recommend this place for anything and think the management should have a close look at their staff, as we are not alone in thinking this is dreadful.

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank CumfyCritter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

Very busy place but we got served quickly. The food was fantastic, end prices as you would expect. Nice atmosphere and in the heart of stratford. There is a car park which is pay and display. Our hotel was just over the road so s great start point for us. Obviously a popular place but well worth the visit if you can get a table. We managed it on a Saturday afternoon. This place will not disappoint.

Thank TheStig75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob F, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

TheStig75,

Thank you so much for your great review on your recent visit to the Red Lion. We like to think we are competitive with other pub restaurants in Stratford upon Avon and we are prime location in the centre of town with a great garden for this time of year.
we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Rob F

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile

Popped in on my lunch break a week or two ago. I had the paprika chicken, it was around £5/£6 I think. The chicken was cooked perfectly, I asked for a jacket instead of chips to be healthy. We all enjoyed our meal and prices were excellent. Our waitress was fantastic, I think she had pink hair, she was friendly and made is laugh, great service offering us more drinks and checking on our meals. Would recommend for a pub lunch.

Thank Amymw123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob F, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Amymw123,

Thank you so much for your review of your recent visit to the Red Lion. Your waitress would of been Jen with pink hair. I will make sure she gets this great feedback as we make sure the team are recognised when they receive great feedback.
We hope to see you again soon.

Rob F

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

We were staying at Premier Inn for weekend and Red Lion is opposite the Inn, so we decided to give it a try. Varied menu. We opted for steak. The steak itself was very good, but the accompaniments somehow lacked that oomph factor (small tomato, very small portion of mushrooms and the chips were most bland looking and mean portion too. Having said that the pub is attractive, plenty of parking with a huge garden.

Thank crazystarkey38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob F, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Crazystarkey38,

Thank you for your review on your recent visit to the Red Lion. I'm pleased you enjoyed your steak but would like to apologise for your accompaniments. Next time, please let us know at the time and we will sort something out for you straight away in terms of replacements. We would much rather know before you leave.
Hope to see you again soon.

Rob F

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing