We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Attractive spot for a tea break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thomas Oken Tea Rooms

Thomas Oken Tea Rooms
Ranked #1 of 10 Coffee & Tea in Warwick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A quintessential English tea rooms in a beautiful tudor house set against the wall of Warwick Castle
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 395 helpful votes
“Attractive spot for a tea break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2016

We called in here after a walk around Warwick on Sunday for a late morning tea break. We managed to secure a table for the 5 of us outside in the sun, in front of the lovely historic building down a quiet side street, Service seemed slightly scatty - the table we took over was covered in the last guests' debris, and when we asked if it could be moved, the waitress suggested we move to another table at the far side of the square which only had 2 chairs! We also seemed to wait for a very long time for our order to come out, at least 20 minutes, when we had only ordered drinks. One of our party was actually half way to the door to chase up in case the order had been lost, when the girl came out with our tray. However the vintage china was a nice touch and the wide ranging drinks menu meant we could make interesting choices, so perhaps that slowed things down. My hot chocolate with marshmallows was lovely when it came.
Thankfully we weren't in a big rush but I wouldn't recommend calling in here for a quick snack or drink!

  • Visited July 2016
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    157
    29
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Weird experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2016

We dropped in the Oken tea Rooms to escape the rain and to have lunch/snacks. My Ploughman’s Platter was OK, but my husband ordered Stake and Ale pie, the middle of which was still frozen!
And the toilet is a disaster, I just looked in and turned out, it is unbelievably dirty....

  • Visited July 2016
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Raggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea for two”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2016

My second visit here and yet another great experience. This place is quirky, lovely old building, great location in the town.
Great menu and plenty to choose from.
Everything is fresh and home made, super tasty!!
Loving the vintage crockery, it adds that extra special touch.
I will definitely visit again and highly recommend to everybody.
Loving the small shop downstairs too.
Thank you and keep up a good work :)

  • Visited June 2016
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DGH82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2016 via mobile

The delightful owner and girls served us delicious chai tea and refilled coffee .. together with warm decadent chocolate brownies. No wonder it's packed.

Visited March 2016
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quaint place for tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2016

We celebrated Thanksgiving at the Tea Rooms with three generations of my family. Everyone loved it. It is full of charm and character, plus the food is amazing! It is a great value for a full afternoon tea.

  • Visited November 2015
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aprila3231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thomas Oken Tea Rooms also viewed

Warwick, Warwickshire
Warwick, Warwickshire
 
Warwick, Warwickshire
Warwick, Warwickshire
 
Warwick, Warwickshire
Warwick, Warwickshire
 

Been to Thomas Oken Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing