We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$97
View deal
Priceline
US$103
View deal
Trip.com
US$88
View deal
Expedia.comUS$91
Hotels.comUS$91
Agoda.comUS$103
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (456)
Filter reviews
456 results
Traveller rating
110
116
83
62
85
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
110
116
83
62
85
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 456 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2019

Hotel does need updating but the staff are very friendly. Nothing was too much trouble from the breakfast lady louise who was very friendly and polite she heated up our breakfasts as it was very cold which us a bit disappointing. Room was clean and tidy just needs a good lick of paint and new carpets.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ria12345s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 October 2019 via mobile

Poor quality hotel, bedrooms old and tired - paper thin walls - poor beds & bedding. Downstairs bedrooms smelt of damp - cracked wall paper. Very poor wifi for a business trip. Poor carpark. Unwelcoming staff, uninterested in how my stay was. OK breakfast, cold and unwelcoming breakfast room.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBHotelBirmingham, Manager at The Great Barr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2019

Thank you for staying at the Great Barr Hotel and for your review. I was sorry to read that you were unhappy with your stay and we will be reviewing your issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2019 via mobile

Easyish to find off the main road.
Receptionist helpful.
Room booked was a double, but ended up being a twin. No other rooms available to swap to.
Radiators weren’t on, but decided to start banging at 5.30am.
Shower didn’t have a door.
WiFi was slow.
Dinner in the bar was very average and would have been nicer going to a fast food burger place.
Breakfast was also very average.
I wouldn’t stay again.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank JonW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBHotelBirmingham, Manager at The Great Barr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2019

Thank you for staying at the Great Barr Hotel and for your review. I was sorry to read that you had a few issues during your stay and I will be passing these on to the departments involved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2019 via mobile

We booked the Club Suite room (132). We have a very late check in due to our long drive but was not and issue as they have 24hr check in.

Seen very quick and in room in minutes great check in.

Room was a good size with very large bed, sofa and wet room. Room needs a little TLC head and there but was a comfy night sleep . Dog friendly too and we had our 2 dogs stay in the room too for a small extra charge.

Would stay again. Cheers!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mattiep44
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBHotelBirmingham, Manager at The Great Barr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2019

Thank you for staying at the Great Barr Hotel and for your review. It was great to read that everything was to your satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2019 via mobile

Stayed here on a stop over headed south, it’s kind of hard to find. My heart dropped when I thought it was the Indian on the corner lol!

Arrived to a big impressive frontage and was checked in quickly despite being nearly midnight.

Staff were friendly and the breakfast was good. Happy with the room and we all got a good nights sleep in the suite.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ashleyphill88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBHotelBirmingham, Manager at The Great Barr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2019

Thank you for staying at the Great Barr Hotel and for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews