We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy location, great hotel, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Plough and Harrow Hotel
Ranked #88 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Brighton
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Handy location, great hotel, friendly staff”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed last week at the Plough & Harrow, and found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. I am pregnant and our original room was quite a long way away from the reception. They immediately swopped our room for one that was closer (and better!). We had a meal there on the night too, and was completely faultless. Very impressed with the service throughout. Handy to have the free parking too.

Room Tip: Ask for one near the reception, otherwise its a bit of a walk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrightonRockChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and will pass on your kind comments to the team. Take care and hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    211
    156
    103
    82
See reviews for
209
198
25
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

My family and I use hotels frequently, normally staying in everything from De Vere to Holiday or Premier Inns. This place compares very favourably to the large chains - the room was large, quiet, clean and comfortable, as were the beds, the cooked breakfast was excellent and included in the price, and the staff were brilliant without exception. The parking was plentiful and free for guests. Some areas are looking a little dated, but everywhere was clean, and the public rooms were lovely, very elegant and stylish. The building is listed and full of character - apparently Tolkien stayed there in 1906!
It is about a 15 min walk into the Broad St/Symphony Hall area of the city, but buses pass the hotel every few mins if you don't fancy using shank's pony.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and we will definitely stay here again when we visit Brum (which was also fab and a wonderful place for a long weekend - we are looking for an excuse to come again!).

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room as the hotel does host functions such as weddings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nonimomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Sounds like you had a great time all round and your right Birmingham is a great city. Thanks for the great comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bramley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We arrived on Saturday 18th February, my daughter myself and two excited grand daughters in a hail shower to start a weekend away to include Cadbury's World. The rooom was of a good standard, both bed and bedsettee were comfortabl, the staff very helpful and went out of their way to be of assistance. The food was good in the Beaufort bar and the service very good. The tickets for Cadbury's World were arranged by the hotel and included in the overall price. Thank you all very much for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie_Wales_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Thank you for writing and I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I have stayed at the Plough & Harrow several times previously, so knew what to expect.

Stayed in Room 11 (a bit of a hike, but no real issue). Upon arrival, the room was particularly cold, and even after having wound the radiator up to maximum, it was not really improving quickly enough. Following a call to reception, an additional heater was provided which quickly did the trick.

Ordered room service sandwiches at about 23:00hrs (24hr service); was told no chips as kitchen was now closed? The sandwiches turned up promptly, and were obviously freshly made, but were very basic.

Breakfast is worth taking, good service and a reasonable choice.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
Thanks very much for taking the time to write and I am pleased you are continually enjoying your stay. Will have a look to see if we can improve our 24 hr room service menu further
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Stayed for one night as we were attending a wedding at the Botanical gardens only a short walk away. The rooms were slightly dated but large and spotlessly clean. Reception were polite and helpful. We had a problem with the lights in our sons room but it was dealt with promptly, with no fuss, and resolved before we returned to our rooms later that evening. Breakfast was simple but done well (certainly good enough for the price paid) and the waiter was very friendly with a " nothing's too much bother" approach creating a relaxed atmosphere. Overall, excellent value and a positive experience. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend for a comfortable and friendly stop over.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#14 of 117 in Birmingham
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#31 of 117 in Birmingham
883 reviews
Edgbaston
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel
Edgbaston
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
#101 of 117 in Birmingham
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plough and Harrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plough and Harrow Hotel

Property: Plough and Harrow Hotel
Address: 135 Hagley Road | Edgbaston, Birmingham B16 8LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price range (per night): $84 - $132
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plough and Harrow Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome and traditional hospitality awaits guests at the Plough and Harrow Hotel Birmingham. Built in 1704, originally as a wayside inn, the hotel has over the centuries become steeped in history and is recalled by many as being one of the most popular places to stay in Birmingham during the last few decades. The red brick Victorian architecture of the original building together with the large garden, lawns and plentiful car parking serves to set the Plough & Harrow Hotel apart from other Birmingham hotels This 45 bedroom hotel brings a country house style to the city with elegant & intimate lounges, a restaurant & terrace overlooking the garden. In recent years the hotel has become a very popular wedding reception venue in the city & also offers happy couple the chance to get married & hold the reception in the same place. While staying at the hotel guests are within 1 mile of Broad Street, the NIA, ICC, Symphony Hall, the Botanical Gardens and Edgbaston Cricket Club as well as the shopping precinct & other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Plough and Harrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plough And Harrow Birmingham
Hotel Plough And Harrow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing