We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Date Night with my Wife”

Chung Ying Central Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #153 of 2,493 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$47
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

My wife wanted to meet me after work and go for Chinese Food. OMG we had the Special Set Meal for 2, we had a huge portion of Chicken Yuk Sung and huge portion of Battered Squid, then Beef in Black Pepper, Sweet N Sour Chicken with Cashew, Sea Bass Thai Style and a decent size portion of Rice, the food was amazing, very tasty, hot and plentiful, we could not eat all of the food and ended up taking a doggy bag home, amazing food, friendly and efficient staff, vast choice of food and drink, cannot fault this place, will definitely reccommend it to everyone and will definitely come again soon, how can anybody fault this place. AMAZING....

2  Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William W, Manager at Chung Ying Central Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Hi Matthew. We're so glad that you enjoyed your date night with your wife. We hope you'll come back again together very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (550)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 69 of 550 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

One of the best Chinese meals we've had. On Colmore Row, very convenient for bus and rail links. Perfect service. We had a set meal. Very tasty high standard food. Highly recommended.

1  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William W, Manager at Chung Ying Central Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Hi Michael. Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017

We had tried to get in on Thursday evening but they were full so we asked if we could book for Friday evening for 7 people.
Wonderfully polite lady took our booking and said if we could not make our booking to please let her know as Fridays are very busy.
We arrived at 7.20pm and she welcomed us and took us straight to our prepared table, allowed us to settle before returning to ask if we required drinks.
She then gave us more time to browse the menu then took our food order, the service was absolutely wonderful - but the food was to Die for !! Great taste, plentiful supply and prices we expected overall we would all give this restaurant a 10/10 for overall service and food - cannot thank them enough for making our evening more enjoyable.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LiverpoolMike27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William W, Manager at Chung Ying Central Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Hi Mike. It's great that you enjoyed your visit to our restaurant. We're so glad that you appreciated both the service and our food. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017

Oh my god, I cannot express how much I enjoyed the food and drink here. I am not usually a cocktail fan but the lychee vodka cocktail was absolutely sublime. And the food....incredible duck pancakes, prawns, Singapore noodles, calamari - there was nothing that wasn't delicious. The staff were incredibly professional and friendly, cannot wait to go back

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank FlapsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William W, Manager at Chung Ying Central Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Hi there. We're a huge fan of the lychee cocktail too! Thank you for taking the time to review us and hopefully we'll see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017

Called in for lunch to rest after too much christmas shopping.Service was friendly and prompt despite there being a few christmas groups dining too.Duck with pancakes was complimented with a generous portion of onion and cucumber;chicken curry had a great flavour. Definitely be back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pugwash26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William W, Manager at Chung Ying Central Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Hi there. Many thanks for taking the time to review us. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chung Ying Central Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Chung Ying Central Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing