We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,933)
Filter reviews
2,933 results
Traveller rating
1,054
929
557
223
170
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,054
929
557
223
170
Show reviews that mention
All reviews club room dyson fan leisure facilities sky tv great facilities huge tv coffee machine swimming pool leisure club business park modern hotel steam room business stay comfy bed self service one night stay reception area
Filter
Updating list...
2,703 - 2,708 of 2,933 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2012

There was a group of us staying for an event at the NEC, which was only 10 miles away. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly. The jacuzzi was a welcome sight at the end of a couple of loooooong days.
The food was incredibly bad in the restaurant. One of us was given a completly different dish to what he'd ordered, nobody came to tell us that they had sold out of his original choice (which happened to be £13 cheaper!) A few of us ordered steaks - big mistake - the chef seemed to think that Medium/rare means cooked brown all the way through, and Blue means the tinest hint of pink in the middle. The manager made a big mistake telling the guy who had ordered a Blue steak that "nobody orders a blue steak" when he complained. After some elongated negotiation we were eventually given a discount on the "wrong" dish and a free drink. Not up to the same standards we've received from other De Vere venues.
On a plus note - the food in the bar seemed to be better and breakfast was good.
I would definately recommend NOT eating in the restaurant - definately not good value for money - even if it was cooked correctly.
The rooms were large enough, clean and well stocked with toiletries etc.
Reception staff helpful and courteous.

Room Tip: The family rooms are larger & have adjoining doors so if person in the next room is snoring you'll hear it!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Just what you'd expect from a chain hotel
The staff, room and food where all of an acceptable standard.
My only complaint that is wasn't until I'd stepped into the shower that I realized that the shower gel dispenser was empty.Not a good place to be.
The location is fine if you arrive by car, not so good if you arrive by train.
I would be quite happy to stay there again

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redscarfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Hotel is OK for business purposes, I found the food overpriced and poorly cooked, I was told that the tuna was served rare but it was served completely over cooked and dry, £17.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stainlesteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Booked special rate, room was clean, pool was good although I did feel the "regulars" where against hotel guests. Good pub grub in Victory bar. Stayed with our neice before trip to Cadbury World.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yogibear30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed here for a Saturday night at the end of April. We paid £85 for a superior room. Check in was fine and quick however the room was miles away from reception and you had to go up one flight of stairs across the full length of the hotel and then down two flights before getting to the room. With this you at least expect it to be a quieter part of the hotel, however this was not the case. The floor above is made out of the thinnest and noisiest material ever and anybody walking or running down the corridor cause a terrible noise heard from within the room. The room was ok but basically very similar to a premier inn although as this was a superior room I would not like to see what a standard room is like. £85 probably is a fair reflection of what should be paid as there are the leisure facilities however next time we would stay at an alternative before returning here. We dined at the main restaurant and was impressed with the food although not the cheapest the price does reflect the quality of what was received. Overall the hotel did fit the requirements of the trip and was suitable for the money paid however it is unlikely we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the new extension
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barryfryus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews