We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absaloytly terrible”

Coventry City Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Coventry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coventry City Hotel
Ranked #30 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Reviewed 11 February 2013

The hotel looks ok from the outside.inside its way different the first room we was put into had a horrible smell the television was broke aswell as the blinds.

The second room was a bit better but still not very clean floor was filthy with hairs all over it and a stain onn the wall behind the bed that looked like poo

Overall the hotel was in a horrible location with dirty rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubblegumbumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCovManager, General Manager at Coventry City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for posting the review. I am sorry that you were dissatisfied with your stay in Formule 1. I am glad that you were moved to another room after reporting the problems but very sorry that the second room pre assigned was not up to the standard. I understand it may be tiring to report the problem twice but please by all means do not hesitate to ask receptionist to assist you to your room so that you can raise any problems straightaway. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Please, let me assure you that I will be sharing your feedback with housekeeping and maintenance departments. Kind regards, Joanna/ General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisCovManager, General Manager at Coventry City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 February 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nathan_crocker
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisCovManager, General Manager at Coventry City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Pretty basic, tiny room, the digital switchover can't have gotten to coventry yet as the TV was only tuned for channels 1 - 5. The room was clean and smelled of soap. Would do as a base to rest your head. The shared toilets/showers were cleaner than some reviews suggested. Even in the dead of night. And with it being a budget hotel it attracted a certain clientele. Running up and down the corridors at 3am drunk. Also the shared loos mean you will be woken by heavy doors shutting people get up in the night. But, as the title suggests. You get what you pay for. I think its improved a lot and the management has taken on board some of the complaints from some of the reviews i've read. But the security door was broke and I didn't see any sort of door security which was a bit dodgy and probably my only complaint.

Room Tip: Rooms far away from toilets will in theory be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank craig j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCovManager, General Manager at Coventry City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2012

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to post the review. I am glad that you found the bedroom and bathroom facilities clean and sufficient. I am very sorry that other guests did not behave quietly at night. Formule 1 hotel is patrolled at night by security company on a regular basis. I will be sharing your feedback with relevant department. Kind regards, Joanna/ General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Our stay, mine and my mum, was quite nice, however during the night we had have some unpleasent incidents didnt realeted to hotel condition (some guests were shutting the doors in the late night hours, and once even fire alarm tuned on with an incredible noice at 1am because someone was smoking in the room). Despite that our room was clean, room service was tidying it every day, and we got a new towels every day also. I am glad we chose that hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margarett125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCovManager, General Manager at Coventry City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

Dear Guest, thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. At the same time, I am sorry that you could hear other guests at night. I have shared your feedback with hotel security team. Kind regards, Joanna/ General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
0 km away
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ibis Coventry Centre
#16 of 39 in Coventry
614 reviews
1.1 km away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Earlsdon Park) Hotel
6.9 km away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
3,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
2.6 km away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#9 of 39 in Coventry
2,611 reviews
5.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel at the Ricoh Arena - Coventry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coventry City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coventry City Hotel

Address: Mile Lane, Coventry CV1 2NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Number of rooms: 86
Also Known As:
Formule 1 Coventry City Hotel Coventry
Formule 1 Hotel Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing