We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best scones in Chichester!”

The Buttery At The Crypt
Ranked #92 of 273 Restaurants in Chichester
Price range: US$3 - US$10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Buttery at The Crypt is a 12th century building with amazing stone arches having been restored in previous years, we have seating for 60 people in our Cafe Tearoom and offer from 9.00am full English Breakfasts, a range of delicious cakes and Gateaux,morning coffee/Teas Speciality teas cappuccinos lattes, milkshakes. Light lunches, Daily chefs Specials,soup. toasties, Deli rolls, omlettes, sandwiches, Homecooked Ham free range eggs and chips, Homemade shortcrust Pie of the day with fresh vegetables.Our cakes range from Carrot cake, Apple cake, coffee and walnut Cake, millionaires shortbread and more. Available all day are our wonderful Clotted cream Teas, and other Set Teas available all Day. Licensed and open 7 days a week.
Reviewed 16 April 2017

The location is lovely and so is the staff. They have the best cream tea and scones you can get in Chichester. Love it!

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pinini96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 93 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2017

After a visit to the Cathedral fancied somewhere different for tea and remembered this place from years ago. Great choices of breakfasts to 11.30 am, salads, main courses, paninis, sandwiches, cakes. A cafe menu plus the usual sandwiches and jacket potatoes. Good service, small seated are outside, reasonable prices too. I had a huge cheese scone so fresh with added grated cheese and an amazing onion chutney. My pot of tea was endless and would have been normal enough for two. A lovely old interior to the building dates back to the 12th Century -see details by the entrance.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank DAVIDMS20050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017

Lovely venue in old crypt, nicely laid out with good selection of hot & cold foot & excellent cakes. Seating out on the street for a nice day. However, they have an odd system of only one person taking the orders at any one time which creates a backlog. We only had pots of tea which was lovely & also served with extra hot water. It's shame the ordering service lets this place down.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank Mo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017

We enjoyed a lunch in this restaurant but the level of service left a lot to be desired. I ordered a piece of cake after our main meal and watched as the waitress entered the order into the till and then nothing. I thought she might be busy but when she started clearing tables and hanging around the counter I knew she was not. Eventually we asked the manageress to remove the item from our bill and left.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TheJiveMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017

We were looking for somewhere for lunch and were recommended the buttery.It offers plain cooked uncomplicated tasty food .We both had the beef and ale pie which came with boiled potatoes and vegetables and a jump g of gravy.The food was piping hot and very tasty.We were both too full to have a pudding although they looked good.We were impressed by the value and service.It seems rightly popular.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank mc m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Buttery At The Crypt also viewed

Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to The Buttery At The Crypt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing