We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memories”
Review of Symposium Ale & Wine Bar - CLOSED

Symposium Ale & Wine Bar
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Over the last fifty years I have visited this place but not for the last twenty years. The general decor is unchanged but that adds to the feel of the place. We had to wait to be given the menu and then wait for order to be taken. My main complaint is the quality of the food. The soup was very bland and could have been hotter. Out of the six people dining only one person was happy with his meal of sea bass. Four of us had sausages with very concentrated mustard mash. It could have been warmer and my dog had a sausage breakfast the next day. The other person had red snapper with gnocchi and it was very mushy. He left most of his meal.
As a group we were disappointed with the meal and will not be going again or recommend it to anyone else.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank joyce85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

This has fast become of favourite local bar. Small and friendly. Great choice of beers, gins, lagers and wine. Bar snacks are great too. Not eaten here for a while but it has always been good in the past. Dog friendly too and Benji is always very welcome here.

Date of visit: February 2017
1  Thank H2326JEneilh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Overall experience could have been better on this occasion as I had to ask for the heating to be put back on twice due to feeling cold. The lamb dish was a little fatty with a lot of bone and didn't come with many vegetables, we had to order potatoes. I couldn't fault the waitress as she was pleasant and was clearly very busy.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Best meal at this restaurant in a long time ! The fish and chips were absolutely delicious. The batter fantastic, crisp and light and the fish better than any local chip shop. It was so white, moist and large. Friendly staff and good atsmosphere. Value for money. Good selection of gins, which are becoming very popular

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Called for Sunday lunch but it left a lot to be desired.

The pub was freezing, no heating on so had to eat in my coat hunched over trying to keep warm. Wish I'd have ordered a drink first rather than food at the same time, that way I'd have realised I wasn't just feeling the cold from the walk from the car to the pub. i watched another pair dining, the woman put her coat back on after 5 mins. No heating in Jan?!

The Sunday lunch was very average, frozen roasts, solid yorkshire pudding and the side of veg looked completely dried out. We also dined on Christmas eve and the food was poor then but we put it down to the fact it was busy. The desert was a wine glass with marang, cream, lemon curd, marshmallows, none of it went, just an easy thrown together mess.

Also i have a bit of an issue with the chefs whites which are actually darker shade of grey, they look like they were last white in 2014.

Really gone down hill. Loved dining here but will have to give it a miss from now on.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank eno2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Symposium Ale & Wine Bar also viewed

Bradford, West Yorkshire
 
Shipley, Bradford
Apperley Bridge, Bradford
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing