We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice little place”
Review of The Soap Factory

The Soap Factory
Ranked #606 of 2,231 Restaurants in Leeds
Price range: US$9 - US$22
Description: A design-led cocktail lounge and eatery with a laid-back atmosphere. The perfect location to drop in and have a coffee, lunch, or somewhere to sip cocktails on a Saturday night. Sure to be a firm favourite with locals and visitors to the city alike.
Restaurant details
Description: A design-led cocktail lounge and eatery with a laid-back atmosphere. The perfect location to drop in and have a coffee, lunch, or somewhere to sip cocktails on a Saturday night. Sure to be a firm favourite with locals and visitors to the city alike.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in hotel overnight the bar area is small but very nice reasonably priced for Leeds staff attentive very clean and modern great for evening pre drinks will be back

Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLeedsCentre, General Manager at The Soap Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

thank you very much Tracey, we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Ludovic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

Lovely hotel. Helpful friendly staff. Quite disappointed with afternoon tea. Too much sweet stuff AND not enough savouries. 3 small sandwiches, buns, cakes and macaroons and of course the obligatory scone with cream and jam. I am a regular afternoon tea participant and would say this definitely was not the best. Got a deal on groupon so okayish for price but would have been mortified to pay full price.

Thank ceejayai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLeedsCentre, General Manager at The Soap Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Thank you for your feedback and we am sorry this was not to your liking, it is indeed a more modern afternoon tea rather than a traditional however we would always be flexible and adapt to specific guest requirements when known. we'll speak with our Head Chef for the next menu. Kind regards, Ludovic & Baz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018

My friends and I got a Groupon deal for afternoon tea with prosecco at the soap factory. The decor is very modern, making us feel like we were in a 'fancy' restaurant (which is a good thing!!), definitely suited for adults and not families. It was an unusual experience when we sat down, we were directed to our seats and then waited for about 10 minutes until a waiter came over to the table. They delivered our prosecco but then didnt ask if we wanted any other drinks, they just walked away. We had no idea what was happening as, again, the waiting staff didn't actually tell us our afternoon tea was being prepared. We waited about 15 minutes before it was placed on the table which is when we had to have an awkward conversation to request different sandwiches. Credit to the waitress, she sorted this for us without question in a very friendly manner. But, it did once again leave us with no food for another 5-10 minutes.

The quality of the food was good, lovely fresh bread and cakes. My only gripe is that they only provide one slice of certain cakes, so you either have to flip a coin with your friend, or have a very literal slither of that particular cake.

All in all, it was not particularly unpleasant, but I do feel that there were a few front of house areas of improvement.

Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLeedsCentre, General Manager at The Soap Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Thank you for your review and for your feedback Claire, Whilst i'd like to apologise for the poor communication on the day, I'd be grateful if you have the time to let me know which day this was so I can address this with the right person (it will be addressed with the team in general anyway). Should you be in the area regularly, please let me know and I'll organise something for you. Kind regards, Ludovic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

Handy to have a drink or snack while staying at hotel. Not overly priced . Does cocktails and sandwiches again not over priced
Staff are very helpful

Thank Corinne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLeedsCentre, General Manager at The Soap Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Thank you for your kind review and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Leeds. Kind regards, Ludovic & Baz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

Took advantage of a Groupon offer for afternoon tea. It was a small but lovely seating area near the bar. The girl who greeted us was very welcoming and the Tea was served very quickly. There were a few sandwiches and lots of cakes including scones with jam and clotted cream. We both opted for coffee and set about demolishing the very nice confectionery !
We enjoyed everything but really there were too many cakes, I think maybe swapping a couple of the sweet things with maybe crisps or pork pie would have made it even more enjoyable,for us anyway.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank billyboy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLeedsCentre, General Manager at The Soap Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Thank you for your review and feedback. If you live in the area, please contact us via our Soap Factory Leeds Facebook page or specific website with your preferred choices as we are flexible if given a little notice. Kind regards, Ludovic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Soap Factory also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Soap Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing