We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, awful atmosphere”
Review of East 59th

East 59th
Reserve a table
2
Wed, 16/06
20:00
OR
Reserve a table
Ranked #317 of 2,095 Restaurants in Leeds
Price range: US$10 - US$42
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Quarry Hill
Description: East 59th is a New York rooftop bar and grill in Victoria Gate, Leeds, serving a US-inspired food menu overseen by Executive Chef Lee Murdoch.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had the tempura prawns and half lobster, and a selection of their desserts. All the food was excellent and the staff were kind and attentive.

The atmosphere was absolutely dreadful - the music was so loud it was like eating in a club. Trying to have a sit down meal with family and I'm shouting at them across the table the whole meal - it's enough to make me not want to come here again. I will revisit mid week in the hope that i'll be able to have a decent conversation with someone I'm out with. Definitely would not recommend if you're hoping for a quiet sit-down meal.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank krambo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (453)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 453 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely gutted with this restaurant booked my train tickets for a day in Leeds for our wedding anniversary, booked early to get the restaurant I wanted to be cancelled today for no other reason than a technical issue with booking system. Disgraceful & now probably won’t get in anywhere so beware if booking east 59th...!!!!

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank LincolnAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2021

This was our second time to East 59th and we loved it just as much as the first time! All of the staff were really attentive, polite and professional. The atmosphere on the roof terrace was very good, social distancing measures all followed too. The food was excellent, we thoroughly enjoyed the Chicken Burger and added bottomless prosecco to the meal too! Thank you to Joe, the manager, as he was extremely knowledgable about the menu and gave great recommendations along with good service, and thanks again to the rest of the team! We'll definitely be back!

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank mp00187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2021

We had amazing lunch today our waitress Jasmine was lovely overall all staff was friendly. We had Crab tempura and Surf & Turf for our main course was perfect. We will be back!

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank irenao320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2020 via mobile

Went for birthday celebrations. young lady server with dark hair couldn’t have been more friendly and helpful. Food was lovely. Drinks were lovely. Will definitely go back. Beautiful outdoor terrace.

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank joannecook2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed East 59th also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to East 59th? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.