We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Brilliant Day Out

Visited hear for the 2nd time over three years, It is definitely worth visiting and supporting due... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
rachelteddy2018
,
Halifax, United Kingdom
via mobile
Poor animal enclosures

We visited during the holidays, 2 adults with 2 young children. Although the children enjoyed the... read more

Reviewed 23 August 2021
Z8218RVnicolap
Read all 2,339 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Leeds
from US$14.49
More Info
from US$101.40
More Info
from US$48.67
More Info
Reviews (2,339)
Filter reviews
2,339 results
Traveller rating
1,033
770
296
124
116
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,033
770
296
124
116
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roundhay park butterfly house birds and butterflies rainy day leeds card couple of hours all ages different areas great place to visit canal gardens entrance fee great for kids meerkat aquarium cafe nocturnal pram
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 2,339 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2021 via mobile

Agree with the other recent reviews, since reopening after lockdown the place looks tired and run down. So many empty tanks!! A real shame as we used to love this place but it's a shadow of its former self. Presumably this is due to covid closure for such a long time and hopefully it will pick up again in the future, but it looks like it needs a refurbishment in various areas and more animals. For what is currently there at the moment it's overpriced. No bat's at all anymore which were my favourite. Hopefully it can get itself sorted before it loses all its customers.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank Deemon3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 August 2021 via mobile

We booked our tickets but still had to queue for quite a while to get in, the staff were working as quickly as they could but only had one till.
There was no social distancing inside, it was left to people to do and I think that because of the layout even though the overall numbers were probably fine, the first section was very cramped.
The butterfly house was great, and the desert area with the meerkats and birds was good. However we made the mistake of going on a sunny day, and as you would expect, it was super hot! Fish tanks had an interesting range of fish.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank peachy352
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 August 2021

I agree with the previous reviews. We queued for over half an hour despite buying tickets in advance as they only have one till. No social distancing, overcrowded and disappointing exhibits. This used to be a brilliant place to visit but no longer.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank paulineR468
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 July 2021 via mobile

Not worth it at all. Glad I only paid £14 for 2 people. Hardly anything to see. No social distancing at all. Super cramped.

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank LensQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 July 2021

Went for a second time. Lots of empty exhibits. Very dirty in a lot of areas, it's almost as if it's just being left to do it own thing. The butterfly area wasn't too bad. It only took 30 mins to get through. A lot of the animals look sorry for themselves, it's not worth it in our opinion.

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank AidenWhelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews