We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
King's Head Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$115
US$94
Mercure
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel(Salisbury)(Great Value!)
US$170
US$160
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
US$94
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
US$119
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
City Lodge(Salisbury)
US$42
US$41
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$77
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (888)
Filter reviews
888 results
Traveller rating
344
362
121
28
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
344
362
121
28
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubwetherspoon hotelscar parkthe riverbreakfast not includedexcellent bathroomlong staysaturday nightasked for a quiet roomair concentral locationbiscuitsexcellent locationlovely roomfirst floorstreet noisereception staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 888 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

Came down here from Leicester for a weekend to see Terry Pratchett exhibit and Stone Henge. We found this Weatherspoons online for £40 for the night. Although Weatherspoons is standard across the board hearty portions of food for good prices, the room and service were excellent! Clean and tidy, very fashionable, and even though it was a Saturday night and the bar packed we could hear no noise from the bar. Highly impressed we will stay here again, thank you ❤️

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018

Dear Peter H,

Thank you for your wonderful review and 5* rating!

We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you had a wonderful time visiting the Terry Pratchett exhibit and the iconic Stonehenge.

We always appreciate receiving positive feedback, especially regarding our friendly Reception Team, as we all strive to give the best possible service and ensure our guests have a fantastic experience during their visit.

We're so glad that you are highly impressed with your stay here and we look forward to welcoming you again soon at The King's Head Inn during your next Salisbury visit.

Kind regards,

Gina Hawkins,
Hotel Receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

I am logging this hotel as "average" as I hope more people will read it. I have trawled through the reviews on this hotel AFTER our accident and the negatives other mention need to be flagged again.

We have stayed here several times, the first stays were fine as we were given a room on the second floor which was large with opening windows and away from street and pub noise. We stayed again in November and were promised a room in the same area but were given a tiny room directly over the pub. We requested to be moved and were, the second room was slightly bigger, but over the main road, very stuffy and with old, soggy beds. Areas were grubby, the heating/air-con did not work properly and windows were jammed shut.

We tried to make the best of it but as others have also said, noise from the pub can be bad, the room was scruffy and the beds not made well. But mainly, it was room that might (only might) have been Ok for a single but was appalling for a couple.

I am not going to be exact about what happened next as I have had several exceptionally unpleasant emails from the manager (Ami Price) who denies all liability for the fact that we ended up at the hospital after our stay.

Having read her responses to people's reviews, as well as to us, we feel Wetherspoons should have staff that ensure that guests can rely on a certain standard of both comfort and safety. This is not a cheap hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Mariek73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

This was a good place in the heart of Salisbury. Park behind Sainsbury in the open, pay and display car park (parking lot). Between 6pm and 8am that car park is free. If you were leaving after 8am you could put money in after 6pm and it will give time after 8am.

Weatherspoons is an economical pub. It has great choice. The food is about 1/2 the price of most pubs. It is therefore not gourmet. It is ok. It has a few good things on the menu that I like. It is very convenient place to eat or have a beer when staying at the hotel. We stayed in a room facing the cathedral on the third floor. It was very quiet, comfortable and spacious compared to what is expected. There is no lift (elevator) to top floor.

If I come back, I would come back here as long as the price was reasonable.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear Michael S,

Thank you for your wonderful review and 5* rating!

It’s great to hear that you found our beautiful central location beneficial for your stay, as we are within walking distance of all the shops, restaurants and bars that Salisbury has to offer.

We’re glad that you found your room comfortable and peaceful during your stay, despite our location in the City Centre.

Unfortunately due to the age of our building we are unable to install elevator access to our third floor, however rooms on Reception level can be requested during booking.

We look forward to welcoming you at The King’s Head Inn during your next visit to Salisbury.

Kind regards,

Gina Hawkins
Hotel Receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017

This is a nice location - on the river - close to the train station and not far from the Cathedral. There is no parking - but you can park just a few minutes away in long-stay central carpark (and if you park at the end near Sainsburys are you will be even closer). The room was nice, clean and reasonably roomy. Nice large bathroom with a large showerhead over the bath. Solid door to the bathroom that cut out all the noise of the fan. Bottles of sparkling and still water free each day. Kettle, tea bags, UHT milk and biscuits. Someone on hotel reception all day and you can leave your bags with them the day you check out. Nice Weatherspoons pub attached - with cheap food and drinks. Breakfast starts at 7am and goes to noon. No room service but you can take food and drink up to your room from the pub. We heard a very small amount of noise from other customers, mainly a family leaving early one morning, but other than that the room was very quiet. No traffic noise. Only negative would be that the bed wasn't super comfy.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear Kate L,

Thank you for your great review!

We’re thrilled that you enjoyed our wonderful central location based right in the heart of Salisbury and along the picturesque River Avon, as we are so fortunate to be within walking distance to Salisbury’s main tourist attractions.

It’s great to hear that you found the level of cleanliness within your room in keeping with our own high standards and that despite our central location, your stay was peaceful and you weren’t disturbed.

We’re sorry to hear that the bed was uncomfortable, please be aware that we have different bedding sizes available, for example standard Doubles or King size beds. If any of our guests are unhappy during their stay, we hope that they will contact one of our friendly Reception Team.

Thank you for your in depth review, we’re sure it will benefit many of our future guests and we’re glad to hear that over all you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We hope to welcome you again at The King’s Head Inn during your next visit to Salisbury.

Kind regards,

Gina Hawkins
Hotel Receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017

Our family of four had a very comfortable one night stay in this city centre hotel. It is excellent value for being in a city centre and the building itself has a lot of character. The room (room 115) was very spacious, clean and tastefully decorated. The bathroom was large and clean. The beds were comfortable and extra pillows were quickly delivered when we asked. The only thing that let the room down were the windows, neither or which closed properly. We overlooked the beer garden and so it was quite noisy as we were trying to go to sleep, but I suppose you have to expect some noise in a city centre. However, having a cold draft coming through the windows at night meant that we had to keep the heating on, and that was noisy too, plus it dried out the air in the room which meant we all awoke with dry throats
We had a wonderful and reasonably priced breakfast in the restaurant downstairs. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful, and it was easy to walk the five minutes to the car park which was also reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Ask for a quieter one, if there are any
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Emma_fom_Ruislip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear Emma_fom_Ruislip,

Thank you for your lovely review!

It’s always great to hear positive feedback regarding our building, as we believe our beautiful 19th century building has a lot of charm and we’re so glad that you agree.

We’re thrilled to hear that you found your room to be comfortable for your family and that you enjoyed the décor within the Hotel and your room, we feel it’s important to add modern touches that compliment our older building and ensure our guests are as comfortable as possible.

We’re so sorry that there was an issue with the windows in your room, please be assured that this has been looked into and is being rectified and we hope that this hasn’t negatively impacted on your stay with us too much. Please be aware that we do run a 24 hour Reception, so please do pass on any issues to our friendly Reception Team.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The King’s Head Inn during your next Salisbury visit.

Kind regards,

Gina Hawkins
Hotel Receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews