We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn’t fault the service.”

The Duchess of Cambridge Pub
Ranked #20 of 234 Restaurants in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$21
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Duchess of Cambridge officially opened on 21 June 2011 after an extensive refurbishment to ensure she was able to carry her Royal name with pride. And in fact The Duchess of Cambridge pub in Windsor is the only pub in the whole of the world which has the name of the newest member of the Royal family. Seating almost 120 customers and offering fantastic food, from breakfast through lunch,and on to dinner. Plus a drinks list to match every occasion, including fine wines and ales from our own Whole Hop Brewery in Hertford - The Duchess is the perfect pub for you to rest your Royal or not so Royal legs! With The Duchess pub just across the road, or should we say cannonball shot away (!) From the Castle, it is a pub that will welcome you as a tourist to the town or as someone who lives and works within the lovely city of Windsor. Freshly prepared for you at the time you order it. Yes, that is what we do at The Duchess. Guests of our lovely Windsor pub can relax as their food is prepared just they way they like it. So if you are in need of a quick bite to eat and refreshment in Windsor then we are the perfect stop. And if the clock isn't an issue then we have a selection of starters, mains and desserts to keep you occupied and off the streets for a little while longer. We look forward to seeing you
Reviewed 4 October 2021 via mobile

I came with a group of 8. They accommodated us straightaway. Service and food was excellent. In particular Jeremy looked after us - couldn’t fault the service and friendly attitude. I work in tourism and this was an eco Ellen’s example of how to welcome visitors from overseas. Well done to the team!

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank sari_kiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duchess W, General Manager at The Duchess of Cambridge Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2021

Thank you for the kind words, if you come back again we will have the tall tables ready for you :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 1,311 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2021 via mobile

A friendly member of staff made us really welcome sitting us in a lovely window seat so we could people watch on a busy Saturday evening

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank annalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duchess W, General Manager at The Duchess of Cambridge Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2021

thank-you for taking the time to review , we are so lucky with our location , hope to see you gain soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2021

We were on a family holiday in the Windsor area and were looking for a nice bar with good food and drink. We came across the Duchess of Cambridge and we were not disappointed! The staff were so friendly and welcoming. We were greeted by Jamie, who took the time to give us some advice about the food and drink on offer and chatted with us about our holiday. The food and drinks arrived and they were spot on was, big thanks to Violet who prepared the food. Would highly recommend this location. Try it, you won't be disappointed.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank 180tomasb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duchess W, General Manager at The Duchess of Cambridge Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2021

thank you , we are very lucky to have Jamie on the management team and violet with over 10 years service , we hope to see you all again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2021 via mobile

This is our go to pub for lunch. We meet up in Windsor 4/5 times a year and we always have lunch here. Two of us visited here on Friday 17th and as always the service and food were great. We have had lunch in other places but always come back here. It’s bright and clean and very friendly. We will be back very soon.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank rarewords
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duchess W, General Manager at The Duchess of Cambridge Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2021

thank-you , the team appreciate you lovely feedback /see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2021 via mobile

Visited this place for the first time with the missus since it was a slug and lettuce!!!

Will try and keep this brief in points.
1. great welcome, acknowledged by 2 staff polite and both friendly.
2. Quick and efficient with menu and drinks when ordered.
3.flexible with changing tables from inside to outside no quibbles.
4. Had the tapas 4 for 20.00 Portion was very generous and the food was delicious.
5. Thai chili chicken bites, mushroom with Stilton, garlic prawns and Halloumi highly recommend !

6. So impressed with how the staff handled an individual customer who was extremely rude to the waitress, so rude the outside area went very quiet!! We all heard the arrogance and disgusting way he spoke to her. Really upset her but she stood her ground well, took his order and escalated accordingly. 2 other members of staff brought out his food and drink, but the the little sh*t decided he didn’t want it any more and told them he isn’t going to pay and continued being aggressive.
Eventually he left and we all spoke about the incident and applauding the way management and the waitresses handled this situation. Thanks Chloe for your hospitality and to your colleague who had to take the order off the aggressive man! Well done girls !!

I included point 6 as I want management to know and acknowledge this review regarding the great work your staff do especially in these hard times!!!

We will definitely be back soon as we loved the service and the food!!! The outside area is very cosy thanks for putting on the small lights .

See you soon!!

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank blinkerthinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duchess W, General Manager at The Duchess of Cambridge Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2021

thank you , the team will really appreciate that feedback and the time and effort it took , means a lot to the team who work very hard delivering the best experience they can .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Duchess of Cambridge Pub also viewed

Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to The Duchess of Cambridge Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.