We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor breakfast”
Review of Monty Cafe

Monty Cafe
Ranked #20 of 234 Restaurants in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$20
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Traditional English food
Reviewed 30 October 2021 via mobile

Pretty poor food.
Asked for a simple scrambled eggs & crispy bacon. What I got was egg pie! The scrambled eggs were stacked in a cylindrical shape like a pie. They were so overcooked they happily stood up on their own. They seemed microwaved. The bacon was sloppy and wet - not crispy. I did not eat it. They assured me the egg was not microwaved and that they simply cook it in a dish. But tbh this is then NOT scrambled eggs.

In fairness to them, they did not attempt to charge me for the uneaten food.

The restaurant is clean & tidy in a nice part of town and the coffee was nice.

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank Vacation49571830566
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2021

Had breakfast here recently and it was very good. Great choice and fast, friendly service. The place was very clean and was obviously a popular choice for breakfast. Good value for money. Our waitress was lovely too. Would recommend.

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank JK4226
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 September 2021

Utterly delicious breakfast and brunch options are available here, and hands-down they offer the tastiest eggs florentine anywhere! They also service yummy lunches with jacket potatoes as big as your head and the most perfect chevre salaf. \they never scrimp on quality or portion sizes. You will always find seasonal, tasty and well-presented fare in a modern and pretty setting in the heart of Windsor with the friendlist staff. My kids adore their pancakes and milkshakes too! I highly recommend a visit. It's one of our favourites.

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 September 2021

This is the undisputed #1 place for breakfast. The staff are always smiling despite being continuously packed out due to their success. One lady in particular is very personable. Their fry ups hit the spot, although I'm partial to a simple scrambled eggs with salmon.

They have Sunday mornings down to a fine art.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank 318tomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 September 2021

We called into day for a short snack at lunchtime and chose the chicken and mushroom soup. It was homemade and fantastic. Followed by a coffee. Excellent food, superb service and premises very clean. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 1Fido
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Monty Cafe also viewed

Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to Monty Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.