We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sunday roast ever !! ”
Review of Lygon Bar & Grill

Lygon Bar & Grill
Ranked #24 of 41 Restaurants in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$45 - US$121
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Lygon Bar & Grill is inspired by The Lygon Arms’ English heritage and Head chef Ales Maurer has created a seasonal British menu that celebrates fantastic local ingredients in a relaxed yet imaginative way. The highest-quality produce is at the heart of all dishes, and has stemmed from friendly and sustainable relationships with Cotswolds suppliers, farmers and artisans to produce a varied a la carte menu.
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

Came to the newly renovated Lygon Arms for Sunday roast. It was without doubt the best roast beef I have ever tasted. Delicious food . Fantastic service from Max and Freddie- nothing was too much trouble and the new look restaurant is stylish and classy. Excellent meal all round.

Thank MichelleR05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme N, General Manager at Lygon Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Dear MichelleR05, thank you for your lovely kind words following your recent visit. I am delighted you enjoyed your short time with us and hope to welcome you back soon.

Thank you once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 66 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

Really enjoyed our visit to the restaurant. The food and the service were first class, and matched the fabulous surroundings. Special mention for 'Freddie' (who I think was the manager), who was both professional and very friendly. All in all 10/10 and would recommend to anyone

Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme N, General Manager at Lygon Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear Ian S, Thank you for your lovely kind words about Freddie following your recent visit, I truly appreciate highlighting the team by name, which in turn allows me to ensure they are both recognised and rewarded for their great service delivery.

We will look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

The Lygon Arms has recently undergone a substantial renovation with the Lygon Bar& Grill now replacing Barringtons( now their Wine Bar) as their main lunchtime eaterie. We chose to eat in one of their casual lounges overlooking the courtyard which was really relaxing. They have a good menu choice and the standard of food was excellent- locals can currently frequently get 20% off vouchers through letterbox flyers- as they continue to rebuild their custom after the renovation. Overall a really nice relaxing lunch- will definitely come again.

Thank Mickletonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme N, General Manager at Lygon Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear Mickletonians, thank you for your lovely kind words following your recent visit for lunch, I was delighted to read you found the food to be of excellent quality and was equally pleased that you were impressed with our recent refurbishment of all our lounges.

We will look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

The Lygon Arms is a beautiful building in a gorgeous village. We were however a little disappointed with our lunch which was OK but nothing special. My Cheese soufflé starter was peculiar, served in a metal dish with a very sweet sauce around it that was like custard, and a separate dish containing some vegetables - very odd! My fellow diners did enjoy their smoked salmon and octopus. Main courses weren't bad, the fish and chips were lovely but served on a 'trendy' platter which meant the peas ended up in your lap. The burger was a bit dry, and the chicken and mushroom pie had soggy pastry. But the surroundings wee lovely and the waitress was also very nice and friendly.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme N, General Manager at Lygon Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear Sue P, thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent lunch visit. I truly appreciate your comments and will ensure we share them with chef and his brigade.

Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Had a wonderful meal here. Everything was spot on. Attentive service, not rushed. Great wine and lovely food. Will definitely be back again

Thank mazlirocchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme N, General Manager at Lygon Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear mazlirocchi, thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent dining experience. Thank you for your kind words about both our food quality and service delivery, they are truly appreciated and will be shared with the team.

We will look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lygon Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Broadway, Cotswolds
 

Been to Lygon Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing