We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time for tea (and cake).”
Review of The Tea Set

The Tea Set
Ranked #17 of 41 Restaurants in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$13
Description: We are a new kind of tearoom in The Cotswolds and younger sister to The Tea Set, Chipping Norton. We offer freshly prepared, locally sourced dishes which include breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea, cake, tea & coffee. We offer gluten and lactose free options and we welcome dogs!
Restaurant details
Description: We are a new kind of tearoom in The Cotswolds and younger sister to The Tea Set, Chipping Norton. We offer freshly prepared, locally sourced dishes which include breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea, cake, tea & coffee. We offer gluten and lactose free options and we welcome dogs!
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

We were looking for somewhere to have a cream tea as a family, we struck gold after a very short walk from the car park in the centre of Broadway. The Tea Set isn’t your typical huge chain of cafe and all the better for it. On arrival we were directed to a large oval table toward the back of the cafe, this in front of a wonderful wall of mirrors. The decor here creates a lovely warm feeling, escaping a cold November day this was just what we needed.

We ordered 3 cream teas and a couple of soft drinks and two slices of cake, the cake was enthusiastically chosen by the kids from the glass display stands adorning a dresser. The cakes were beautifully made and went down a treat. The cream teas, with one plain and one fruit scone came with a pot of cream and a pot of jam. Again these were lovely and with just the right amounts. The tea was in a pot with strainer, really nice to see tea leaves these days (it really does taste better). We loved the vintage tea cups and tea pots, so colourful and with varied patterns.

I think any tourists or natives that happen across the tea set will be pleasantly surprised. Very quirky and quintessentially British with good efficient service, reasonably priced too. What’s not to like.

Thank Avonshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRWills, Owner at The Tea Set, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Thank you so much for your glowing review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 53 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2017

I was very disappointed with The Tea Set in Broadway. We ordered 2 coffees with hot milk, a tea, 2 pieces of lemon sponge cake and a toasted tea cake. The milk was originally served in an old tea pot which was cracked. I asked for a milk jug but was told that they had run out. I pointed out the crack and the girl changed the "milk jug"/ tea pot for another very much smaller tea pot with hardly enough milk in for 3 cups. The milk was cold and no hot milk was ever brought for the coffees. The lemon sponge cake was very nice but the toasted tea cake took that long to come by then we had finished everything and were ready to leave.
We sat at the back of the shop, on the right. Not to be recommended as the kitchen door swings both ways and has no stop. A couple of times it swung back and nearly hit my 77 year old mother off her chair.
We live locally and visit Broadway regularly but will not be returning to "The Tea Set" that doesn't have a tea set i.e. no milk jug and the tea cup and saucer didn't match

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank markblundell1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRWills, Owner at The Tea Set, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear Mark
We're so sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit to our Broadway tea room. The fact that our china is vintage means that sometimes it is less than perfect, most of our customers are ok with this but we will always try and change an item if the customer feels it is too 'shabby'. As you probably realised we were incredibly busy on Sunday and therefore most of our china was in use which is why you were given a small jug, however if you'd have asked we would have replenished it as many times as necessary. We are very sorry your hot milk didn't arrive, did you mention it to one of our team? If you did and it still didn't materialise we will investigate further as obviously there was a breakdown in communication. Many apologies for the delay in receiving your teacake, as previously stated we were extremely busy and kitchen items are in a queuing system which means that although it was only a small item if it was behind a large order there may have been a wait. The table which you were seated at is for two people so with an extra person at the end there is a danger that staff may inadvertently knock into someone, was your mother injured in any way? If so please call us and we can discuss it further as the last thing we want is for our customers to suffer any injuries and take our legal responsibilities very seriously.
We are very sorry that you won't be returning due to mismatched china, but thank you for your review
Kind regards
Victoria Wills

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

We were looking for a venue for a family get together at lunchtime. There is a lot of competition in Broadway but The Tea Set positioned as it is away from the Main Street has a great ambience. We chose from the limited menu however there is a great selection on the specials board. The food came quickly even on a busy Saturday lunchtime. The staff were most helpful and we had an enjoyable time. The Tea Set is right opposite the main short stay car park.

Thank Andy and Kath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRWills, Owner at The Tea Set, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit! We hope you will visit again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Went for coffee initially then later for lunch gorgeous sandwiches and cake and tea served in a proper China cup.....perfect very friendly pleasant staff loved it.

Thank Beverley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRWills, Owner at The Tea Set, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Hi Beverley, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit! We hope to welcome you back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

A really great lunch, dog friendly and helpful staff. Tea was made with tealeaves and strainer with china cups. Good lunch menu catering for my vegetarian husband and meat eating me. Close to short stay parking and easily accessible for those that need it.

Thank Marion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRWills, Owner at The Tea Set, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit! Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tea Set also viewed

Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire
Broadway, Cotswolds
 
Broadway, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Tea Set? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing