We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remarkable but not exclusive.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Wood Norton Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Evesham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Last time I visited was about 15 years ago for a company 'of-site' event. This visit was on a personal basis - interesting to see that a number of companies still use the facility for training purposes.
This is still a remarkable place considering that it is 120 years old and started life as a family home. There is plenty of wood panelling and original features (such as fireplaces) on display - all of which is in a very clean condition. There are no musty smells, in fact as you wander around, there are some very pleasant fragrances - especially the odd whiff of woodsmoke from the open fire.
Turning off the A44, the fairly steep driveway is initially shared with the BBC training facility next door (all very discrete). Thankfully, there is a turning circle and drop-off point outside the main entrance with parking for disabled guests (although it was quite noticeable that others parked in the area outside of the identified bays). The main parking area is further up the hill with pedestrian access back down to the main building over a well worn path resulting in some quite deep steps.
A small reception area is just inside the main entrance and we were able to check in ahead of the stated 3 p.m. stated time, without a quibble. We had booked an executive double room as part of a package (which included a brasserie dinner on the first night; breakfast and 25% discount if we pre booked dinner on the subsequent evenings) and were advised that we had been upgraded (but not sure as to exactly what this was). However, the room was on the first floor with double aspect looking out over the gardens to the front and side and Breedon Hill in the distance.
Everything was to a pretty high standard with fairly modern decor complementing the carved fireplace surround. This had obviously been a large room with an en-suite created by forming a boxed in area behind the ample Kingsize bed. This was cleverly done with some concealed lighting to enhance the features and a glazed border at high level to maintain privacy. A step up into this area presented a large shower area with seat and the usual washbasin and w.c. pedestal. Plenty of towels draped on a heated tower rail badly let down by two face cloths which looked a dirty grey as though they'd been used for mopping up the floor and not laundered. Plenty of good quality shower gels, shampoos, etc., were to hand and replenished each day. We never did manage to get hot water in the hand basin and I had to defer showering for 15 minutes as there was no hot water on the second morning.
A couple of easy chairs were provided in the window bay area with a range of quality magazines to sit and peruse with a cup of Nespresso coffee (again, the pods were replenished on a daily basis). The 'normal' tea and coffee facility (with biscuits) was in a cupboard area next to the wardrobe on the way into the room. Bottled water was also provided (replaced daily) with decent glasses supplied.
Lighting was subdued and the only way you could read was using the bedside lights (one of which had a shade with a mind of its own and needed propping against the wall). A freestanding standard lamp in the seated area is required.
The bed was quite high - probably due to a ducted heating system which seemed to come from its base - but was firm and comfortable. Good size pillows were complemented by a duck down duvet - very warm.
Meals were taken in the panelled dining room which was a brasserie arrangement with comfortable chairs, spoiled by some appalling piped music which was supposed to be background noise level but the bass beat could be heard in the bedroom (not sure if this came through the ducted heating system).
In addition to a limited a la carte menu, there was a fixed 3 course menu for £30 (which we were clearly told was the 'package dinner' and that we couldn't mix and match). The quality and portion size was, in the main, good although the pigeon breast served with parsnip as a starter was cool - even though the piece of slate on which it was served was touch warm.
The gardens are well maintained and even though our visit was mid-November, it was very pleasant to walk around. No doubt they are quite a treat when in full bloom and would make a good backdrop for wedding parties.
The young staff were all very pleasant, helpful and attentive - especially the receptionists (we met two) who certainly played their part as 'first impressions'.
Overall, there was just the feeling that the hotel was trying to be something - and was just failing. Whether this was due to sharing the location with corporate training candidates (no doubt necessary income) or the small items such as the poorly laundered face cloths or Robbie Williams (and others) belting out over a (supposedly) leisurely breakfast or intermittent hot water, etc., - but at the rates charged one could expect something a little more exclusive.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Malcolm K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSweeny, General Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Malcolm K, Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your overall experience of The Wood Norton, and will be sure to take your feedback on board so that we can continue to improve our service offering. I hope to welcome you back in the near future, Kind regards, Steven.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,084)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 1,084 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We had booked a one night luxury package to the Wood Norton, that included afternoon tea, fizz & chocs in our room & the 7 course taster menu for dinner. Started well, lovely, impressive building, full of interesting history and friendly reception staff. Our room was on the second floor in the main house. Being a corner room, it had no view really but an very comfortable, big bed and an enormous walk in shower. None of the rooms on the second floor had a good view as the windows are quite high up. If I were to return in the summer months, I would book a first floor room, to enjoy the view over the lovely gardens.
Afternoon tea was nice, personally I’d have preferred a few more finger sandwiches and a few less sweet things, but the scones were light & delicious. It’s a shame that they don’t offer top ups of tea and coffee, as one small cup of coffee does not suffice. The setting in the beautiful lounge area is lovely & service was good too.
We enjoyed an hour in the billiard room later, good fun & relaxing.
Dinner was a big disappointment though. The seven course tasting menu was very underwhelming. A small spoon of heritage tomatoes was one course, a small shallot with goats cheese in it another. The small piece of turbot was delicious but the duck three ways that followed it was overlooked and almost inedible, all four of us left it. This was followed by three small & very sweet desserts. I think we’d have fared better if we’d just had the a la carte menu, but who knows?
Breakfast the next morning though was lovely. Tasty pots of fresh fruit salad, good breakfast mains, including Omelette Arnold Bennet, which was a pleasant surprise. Lashings of fresh coffee & good, efficient service.
So, all in all a very pleasant stay in a lovely hotel. We would return but definitely not opt for the taster menu again.



Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Sindy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSweeny, General Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Sindy7, Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your overall experience of The Wood Norton and hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Steven.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

on arrival..was greeted with a lovely warm cream tea,the scones where soooo nice a meal in itself .. bar and reception staff were friendly and helpfull...went to the room which was loacated in house..was lovely and cosy with a chilled bottle off prosecco on arrival..followed by a lovely warm bath.

after a relaxing afternoon,we made our way down to the restaurant ..had a lovely 3 course meal..and was very pleased to see alfonzo,he looked after us on our many visits there..he his friendly,helpfull and always takes time to speak to us..makes us very welcoming.

as for the the grounds they always look very well kept esp for this time off year ..

can not wait to return for our anniversary in feb!!!!

Room Tip: balcony room was lovely and quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aj662017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSweeny, General Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear aj662017, Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience of The Wood Norton and look forward to welcoming you back in February. Kind regards, Steven.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

We had high expectations to stay at The Wood Norton, that is why we chose it. But, our stay in general was only "nice". The location of the property is in the countryside, peaceful and quiet. It is also very close to Stratford-upon-Avon, a 20 minute drive. Breakfast was really good, we loved the lemon curd and the honeycomb was a lovely touch, something that reminded me of my childhood. The main building is spectacular, really impressive and well-looked after, also the grounds and garden; but we were in actual fact rather disappointed that we were put up in a seperate building (we were unaware that our accommodation would be in another building...when we booked, there were no other options availabale apart from the room we booked), so that meant we didn't have direct access to the billiard room or sitting in front of the fireplace before going to bed. We ate dinner at the restuarant for our first night, it was enjoyable and not over-priced as we expected, although smallish portions. The staff was friendly. With regards to our accommodation: our room was smaller than we thought it would be, and the bathroom was rather dated, with a crack in the toilet bowl, and water taking forever to drain from the hand basin. The hot water in the shower ran out rather quickly. Apart from that, the bed was comfortable and the room was warm (at times, even too much). Even though we liked being on the ground floor (having a lot of luggage and there being no elevator in the building where we were accommodated), and seeing that no one offered to help with our luggage. It was rather noisy when other guests talked outside in the courtyard. There was no view from our room apart from the courtyard which is also the entrance to the building. We would only go back if we got a better room next time.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldhopper101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSweeny, General Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear worldhopper101, Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. I apologise that we did not meet expectation in all areas on this occasion, but will be sure to take your feedback on board so that we can continue to improve our service offering. I hope to welcome you back in the near future, Kind regards, Steven.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

We had the best night's sleep in weeks. Wonderful beds, quiet fresh air, powerful showers and a fantastic fresh avocado and poached egg on sour dough for breakfast. They even have their own apiary! An entire rack of fresh honey comb on the breakfast bar! Amazing surprises every where with the most attentive, gentle and kind service. What a treasure. I will recommend it to everyone I meet!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank khjlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSweeny, General Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear khjlondon, Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience of The Wood Norton and hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Steven.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evesham
4.4 km away
Evesham Hotel
Evesham Hotel
#1 of 11 in Evesham
608 reviews
11.5 km away
Dumbleton Hall Hotel
Dumbleton Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Evesham
1,132 reviews
4.2 km away
The Northwick Hotel
The Northwick Hotel
#5 of 11 in Evesham
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Best Western Salford Hall Hotel
12.4 km away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
77 reviews
6.8 km away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pershore
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wood Norton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wood Norton Hotel

Address: Worcester Road, Evesham WR11 4YB, England (Formerly Wood Norton Hall Country House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Evesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Evesham
Price Range: $162 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wood Norton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wood Norton Hotel & Restaurant , the former home to French Royalty, is a glorious Grade II listed, four star country house hotel. Set in its own grounds the hotel looks over the beautiful Vale of Evesham to the nearby Cotswold Hills.50 rooms and suites with beautiful public areas, large ornate gardens, and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Wood Norton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wood Norton Hall Country House Hotel And Restaurant
Wood Norton Hall Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing