We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Angel(Abergavenny)
US$180
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Guest House(Abergavenny)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Abergavenny Hotel(Abergavenny)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kings Arms(Abergavenny)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Premier inn Abergavenny Hotel(Llanfoist)(Great Value!)
US$77
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Plas Derwen(Abergavenny)
US$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lamb & Flag Inn(Llanwenarth)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
48
10
6
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
10
6
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunday lunchwill return soonlovely lunchexcellent foodroast potatoesthe pubmealwaitressscrummyportionsusk
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2015

We booked a table for 3 on the Monday before Xmas; yet another enjoyable visit. Meals were served promptly and in good style; ample portions, well cooked and served by a most efficient and delightful young waitress who was so attentive and efficient, she made the whole meal a sheer delight.. Noting was too much trouble and she received a well deserved tip! We'll definitely be back again .. and again ..... and again!! Thank you Sue & Alan and good luck for the New Year!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Will L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2015 via mobile

This is the second time we have visited the Foxhunter since its been under new management.
I can only describe the food as stunning- cooked to perfection and piping hot! Service was quick and staff efficient but not to the extent that you were being rushed. We used to visit this pub years ago when it was a country pub serving great food at reasonable prices. Well- that great country pub is back. Well done to the new owners. Definitely going back especially as it's within walking distance from home!

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Huw J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2015

My wife & I booked here for an evening meal on Saturday evening for the first time since it's been under the new management. How glad we are that we did!! excellent in every way!

A friendly welcome, followed by a selection of really fine food to select from (and at sensible prices too!)

Our meals were served by smartly dressed, sociable and helpful staff who were attentive to all our needs without being intrusive. Our chosen dishes from each of three courses were all of a fine standard; cooked to perfection and presented in a good style and ample portions.

We will most definitely return for more in due course and wholeheartedly recommend to friends and family.

Our best wishes to the new owners for a long , happy & successful future at the Foxhunter

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Billyboy572014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2015

Stunning food! Beyond compare great range of food to choose from really really nice staff and really welcomed by Matt and Lisa I have been here about 5/6 times now. Great this place is great. Best restaurant I have been to maybe.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Booyaka 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2015

As a fairly regular visitor here, I have seen many different people at the restaurant. On the whole, my fellow diners have been lovely, and the meal has been memorable. The food has always been fantastic and the service friendly. Lunches have been relaxed, dinners have been exceptional and atmospheric, and Sunday lunches friendly. The Foxhunter has a knack of bringing strangers together & conversations cross tables - everyone sharing in the experience.

One review on here has said they were asked to remove their 8month old baby because he was "talking / expressing himself". I hope this brilliant child who can talk at 8 months achieves everything his parents want - possibly becoming an orator or something artistic?. I would say, though, that if the child was screaming I would have hoped the parents / guardians (not sure what they are) would be courteous & take the child outside for a few minutes & calm them down. This has happened a couple of times, and the parents came back inside more relaxed as the offspring wasn't making as much noise - even the child was much happier. If the noise was affecting other diners and hindering staff, then the owners were quite correct to ask that the child is taken for a walk to settle them if the parents are too selfish to do so of their own choosing.

The stable & cottage are both well equipped for a relaxing night, and with the fridge & cupboards filled with breakfast items, a good start can be made the next morning.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobinC35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews