We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food & service! ”
Review of Foxhunter Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abergavenny
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Foxhunter Inn
Ranked #20 of 31 Abergavenny B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

Called in one Friday lunchtime & had a lovely lunch. Lots of choice & the food was superb. We only wish we had visited sooner as the landlord & landlady are moving to the Chain bridge pub just outside Usk in July, so we definitely be trying that soon. Thank you for a lovely meal & great service.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank bridgyWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2016

You only have average or very good on Tripadvisor - so you can't say good which is a bit of a shame!

We went for dinner with family - the restaurant is lacking a bit of character, although it is pleasant enough........service was extremely charming, but a bit slow/forgetful.

The food was all very nice except for the quorn fillets with Iman Biyaldi - which really did look like the quorn fillets had just been 'plonked' on top - no real thought about how to try and make it look more attractive - lets just say I could have done a better job!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Roodeberglodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2016 via mobile

Have been here s couple times before and it's one of our favourite fine dining restaurants, we travel from Cardiff. Popped in Sunday and were surprised to learn the Crkebrity Chef Matt Turbott no longer ran it, he's rented it out, but the same chef is in the kitchen. We had the Sunday roast and it was delicious and very ample with a gorgeous array of root vegetables. One of the better Sunday lunches so would recommend. Prices have also slightly come down, but missing Matt .

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Shameem A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2015

We booked a table for 3 on the Monday before Xmas; yet another enjoyable visit. Meals were served promptly and in good style; ample portions, well cooked and served by a most efficient and delightful young waitress who was so attentive and efficient, she made the whole meal a sheer delight.. Noting was too much trouble and she received a well deserved tip! We'll definitely be back again .. and again ..... and again!! Thank you Sue & Alan and good luck for the New Year!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Will L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2015 via mobile

This is the second time we have visited the Foxhunter since its been under new management.
I can only describe the food as stunning- cooked to perfection and piping hot! Service was quick and staff efficient but not to the extent that you were being rushed. We used to visit this pub years ago when it was a country pub serving great food at reasonable prices. Well- that great country pub is back. Well done to the new owners. Definitely going back especially as it's within walking distance from home!

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Huw J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abergavenny hotels
0.0 km away
Deri-Down Guest House
Deri-Down Guest House
#7 of 31 in Abergavenny
21 reviews
0.0 km away
The Hardwick
The Hardwick
#8 of 31 in Abergavenny
151 reviews
0.0 km away
Llansabbath Country Farmhouse B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant
0.0 km away
Brynhonddu Country House Bed & Breakfast
0.0 km away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 3 in Abergavenny
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foxhunter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxhunter Inn

Address: | Nant-y-derry, Abergavenny NP7 9DN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Abergavenny
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restaurant/Gastropub. Real ales. Great food and great value. Free wifi. Free secure parking. Outside seating available. Also beer garden. Disabled access. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Foxhunter Hotel Abergavenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing