We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Angel(Abergavenny)
US$116
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$124/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Abergavenny Hotel(Abergavenny)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kings Arms(Abergavenny)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Premier inn Abergavenny Hotel(Llanfoist)(Great Value!)
US$63
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Plas Derwen(Abergavenny)
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$78/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Lamb & Flag Inn(Llanwenarth)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
48
11
6
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
11
6
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunday lunchwill return soonexcellent foodlovely lunchroast potatoesthe pubmealwaitressscrummyportionsusk
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 72 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2016

You only have average or very good on Tripadvisor - so you can't say good which is a bit of a shame!

We went for dinner with family - the restaurant is lacking a bit of character, although it is pleasant enough........service was extremely charming, but a bit slow/forgetful.

The food was all very nice except for the quorn fillets with Iman Biyaldi - which really did look like the quorn fillets had just been 'plonked' on top - no real thought about how to try and make it look more attractive - lets just say I could have done a better job!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Roodeberglodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2016 via mobile

Have been here s couple times before and it's one of our favourite fine dining restaurants, we travel from Cardiff. Popped in Sunday and were surprised to learn the Crkebrity Chef Matt Turbott no longer ran it, he's rented it out, but the same chef is in the kitchen. We had the Sunday roast and it was delicious and very ample with a gorgeous array of root vegetables. One of the better Sunday lunches so would recommend. Prices have also slightly come down, but missing Matt .

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Shameem A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2015

We booked a table for 3 on the Monday before Xmas; yet another enjoyable visit. Meals were served promptly and in good style; ample portions, well cooked and served by a most efficient and delightful young waitress who was so attentive and efficient, she made the whole meal a sheer delight.. Noting was too much trouble and she received a well deserved tip! We'll definitely be back again .. and again ..... and again!! Thank you Sue & Alan and good luck for the New Year!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Will L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2015 via mobile

This is the second time we have visited the Foxhunter since its been under new management.
I can only describe the food as stunning- cooked to perfection and piping hot! Service was quick and staff efficient but not to the extent that you were being rushed. We used to visit this pub years ago when it was a country pub serving great food at reasonable prices. Well- that great country pub is back. Well done to the new owners. Definitely going back especially as it's within walking distance from home!

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Huw J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2015

My wife & I booked here for an evening meal on Saturday evening for the first time since it's been under the new management. How glad we are that we did!! excellent in every way!

A friendly welcome, followed by a selection of really fine food to select from (and at sensible prices too!)

Our meals were served by smartly dressed, sociable and helpful staff who were attentive to all our needs without being intrusive. Our chosen dishes from each of three courses were all of a fine standard; cooked to perfection and presented in a good style and ample portions.

We will most definitely return for more in due course and wholeheartedly recommend to friends and family.

Our best wishes to the new owners for a long , happy & successful future at the Foxhunter

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Billyboy572014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews