We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$101
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hand Hotel(Llangollen)
US$104
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Mulberry Inn(Llangollen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Llangollen Hostel(Llangollen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (876)
Filter reviews
876 results
Traveller rating
375
288
107
54
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
375
288
107
54
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschain bridgehorseshoe fallsthe riverberwyn stationsteam trainbalcony overlookingstunning locationtow pathhanging basketsbar arealovely hotelvisited this hotelbuffet stylelamb shanklovely walkllangollen railwayno lift
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 876 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2017

We were really looking forward to this 2 night birthday break. About 30mins after breakfast, I had severe diarrhoea and then felt unwell and slept most of the morning. Went out for a walk and some fresh air and my partner then felt a little unwell and I still felt dreadful. Came back and I had continued diarrhoea and vomiting for next 18 hours and my partner then developed high temperature/shivering had high temp and diarrhoea/vomiting as well. We told the reception staff that we were unwell and asked for more bedding and got a thin single duvet, we asked for a bucket and got a dirty 25kg mayonnaise tub - gross. No-one enquired how we were in the morning - we didn't have breakfast and hadn't been seen since 7pm the night before. (We are early to mid sixties and the hotel had no idea of our existing health status - food poisoning can be dangerous for people with some health conditions.)

My partner went to down to check out the next morning (we felt so unwell a friend came to drive us home) and suggested that it might be reasonable for them to reduce the cost - they insisted on full payment and because he still felt dreadful, he paid up. On our way out I complained about this (probably not very coherently as I was also feeling dreadful and covered in sweat) and the manager told me in front of others waiting to check out that it is up to us to prove that the food poisoning was their fault I could sent a stool sample to my GP and send on the results. He then told me that he has been unwell with vomiting and diarrhoea and when I questioned if this could be linked to what we had, he denied this could be the case. Incidentally, the manager didn't know about our illness, which is poor practice.

All in all - dreadful.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jillbedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Madam, I consider your review to be libellous. The night before you came down with a sudden illness you went out to eat, not at our hotel, and ate mussels (something notorious for causing food poisoning), and the timings of your illness suggest this may be the guilty culprit. Now, we do not know that you had food poisoning, though it is, of course, possible. Should you have got it from our breakfast it's inevitable that the other guests who ate the same breakfast, at the same time, cooked by the same chef, would also have got it. Your husband may or may not have had food poisoning. If he did, he may have got it from the same place you had the mussels, rather than you and your husband being, by coincidence, the only people struck down in our hotel. If you did not have food poisoning, and had a bug, with sickness etc, it's perfectly feasible you could have passed this to your husband as you shared a room and bed with him. For the record - hello readers - I never said I had diarrhoea, I said I had a bug. If you're accusing me of giving this to you - when I had very little contact with you, or other guests, on account of this bug - I am rather confused as to why you are suggesting you had food poisoning???? I also never asked you to go to the doctor - you said you would to prove it, as well as reporting us to the Environmental Health. Something I welcomed on account of our 5* rating for food hygiene and the good practise we follow in regard to food hygiene. In my opinion, your logic defies belief. For the record we have never had a case of food poisoning at the hotel in the years I have been here. Unfortunately sometimes people do get ill, and as we host thousands of guests every year, sometimes that happens while at the hotel. You said that your husband should have refused to pay the bill for two nights accommodation, which I disagreed with - and still disagree with. I am sorry that you were ill, but stand by my opinion that it was not our responsibility, and as such, not our duty to not charge you for your stay.

Regards
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017 via mobile

My husband and I visited this hotel about 6 years for cheap weekend away and absolutely loved it. I heard that it had been renovated so was excited to return. I thought £100 a night for b and b was reasonable but would expect a decent breakfast for that price.

Good points- Adore the view and river! I'd almost put up with anything to see that. I thought our room was lovely. Comfy bed. Beautiful view. Powerful shower. I think the staff are all lovely and I like the relaxed atmosphere. These things are really important in a hotel for me which is why I would return (on a cheaper weekday)

Poor points. The reception rooms, lounge and restaurant were freezing! Everyone was trying to get to the seats near the fire. My husband and I managed to get to them after dinner and sat there for a while having a lovely chat and a drink but we would have had to go to our room if we hadn't have nabbed these precious fire side seats. I heard lots of people complaining about it.

Dinner was awful. Lasagne didn't have any tomato flavour and had a tonne of cheese on top. My husband could not eat his bread and butter pudding as you could literally see it was a white sliced loaf heated up with custard put on top. You couldn't even stick the cutlery though it. We reluctantly complained. We were offered a replacement dessert but instead opted for it to be taken off the bill. Fair enough.

Breakfast was cold. A few people complain ed to staff about this. Mushrooms out of a tin. Cheap sausages. We asked for yogurt to go with the fruit and were given two strawberry yoghurt pots that you get from a supermarket. No fresh orange only squash. I've had better breakfasts in cheap industrial hotels. Really disappointed in that as it's just greedy to give that to people when they have paid £100 a night.

I told the receptionist as we were leaving as I really want this hotel to rectify these things so I can be a return information customer for many years as it really is the most beautiful, charming place. Please, please do Chainbridge. I'm trying to convince my husband to give it another chance.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jolo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us.

While I am of course delighted that you enjoyed our wonderful views, comfy rooms and friendly staff, I am upset to read that neither your evening meal nor your breakfast were as they should be. It is rare to receive such complaints, and I assure you we will look into this to see what happened. For the record, I assure you that the mushrooms aren't from a tin, and our sausages aren't cheap (all our meat comes from a wonderful, award-winning local butcher), we offer three fruit juices in the morning etc, but it should never have been cold, and that isn't could enough.

I hope that you will revisit to see that these issues were a one-off, and rest assured, all comments, and certainly complaints, are taken very seriously and we endeavour to ensure the same mistake is never made twice.

Kind regards
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

This weekend I had a fabulous visit to the Chainbridge Hotel for a weekend away with friends. We drove from London and were greeted by a warm friendly welcome, and some wonderful Welsh Ale. We were advised well on the local area by the staff and spent our weekend walking in the magnificent countryside and enjoying exploring the local town of Llangollen. The hotel itself is beautifully situated on an amazing river - which is so relaxing it's indescribable. We enjoyed lovely, leisurely breakfasts overlooking the river, and really enjoyed sampling their local ales on offer in the hotel bar. A really wonderful country break - big thanks to all the staff there for being so accommodating, especially Maz the receptionist. Will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KingEric2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Thank you for your generous review. I am very pleased that you and your friends enjoyed some lovely country air and some excellent Welsh ales, and some respite from the hustle and bustle of London!

We will look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

We have stayed at the Chainbridge on a number of occasions , even before the present owner, always enjoyed our stays , . Now it has a new owner it has improved 100% , every time we go we can see improvements , and all for the better . Staff are wonderful , always helpful, in fact it feels like going home . Cannot recommend it enough , all credit to Seamus and the staff , makes you want to go back to see what new things have been done .

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Susan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Many thanks indeed for your very kind review - we're touched by your comments and delighted that you are so fond of the hotel.

We will look forward to welcoming you back again!

Best regards
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

This hotel is ok - but - if you are looking for a nice relaxing hotel by a calm river then think again. The river rushes by at a ferocious force and is so noisy you are glad to escape the hotel, all day all night. The balcony from the bedroom overlooked the river but it wasn't a pleasant pace to be - noisy, quite frightening rolling river! The hotel is ok, staff are friendly, probably good for a 3 star hotel, but quite old fashioned and the breakfast menu can only be ordered from if they don't have many people in.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the river have the noisy rushing river outside, rooms overlooking the canal face a wall about 15 foot away
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vickyhotelguru K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017
Google Translation

Okeeeeee.........

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews