We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Royal Hotel(Llangollen)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bryn Howel Hotel(Llangollen)
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$86
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$185
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hand Hotel(Llangollen)
US$107
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$86
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Britannia Inn(Llangollen)
US$80
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Mulberry Inn(Llangollen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
314 results
Traveller rating
142
113
42
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
142
113
42
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine barcontinental breakfastsmall decanter of portexcellent winegroupon vouchercar parkold buildingcomfortable bedstop floorhigh streeton arrivalwarm welcomeenjoyable staycentral locationself cateringevening mealstayed for one night
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 314 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2017

On first impressions, Gales Hotel is old and dated; the rooms however, are fresh and very pleasant, with comfortable beds. Be warned: there’s no lift. The manager is an affable and friendly man who takes pride in what he does. We opted for a continental breakfast, but the cooked breakfasts we saw coming out of the kitchen looked and smelled delicious! Free off-street car parking is available out the back. We were in the area to see Pontcysyllte Aqueduct, but Llangollen is a nice place in its own right, with one or two good restaurants and a pleasant riverside walk.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tony1992NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
13
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

It really is a lovely hotel great location and friendly but when on your first visit they given your cottage away and on the second visit your not booked in the restaurant ? Somebody needs a kick up the jacksy

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017 via mobile

Good room for good price. Enjoyed evening in wine bar and will definitely come back out of season. Breakfast was delicious also. Convenient location for bikers to coed llandegla.
Little problem with parking

Highly recommended

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank Matus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

My husband and I used our Gift Ideas for Two voucher here which included the room and a two course meal. The room was nice and was clean and comfortable. The age of the building and the furniture added to the quirkiness of this hotel which we liked. As we had used a voucher we had a choice of any two courses from the set menu. There were only three starters, five mains and three desserts to choose from and unfortunately they weren’t really to our taste, but we picked the option we favoured most. We realise that we didn’t have access to the full menu due to cost, however an option could be to offer either any two courses from the set menu or £X amount towards it. We could then have chosen what we really wanted to eat and just paid the difference. The port in the room was a nice added touch and there was also parking which was great.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Dan78Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed at Gales as.the rest of our group were accommodated at Manorhaus, which was full. Lovely old world style property in a quirky little street with antique shops. Love Llangollen which we have visited before. Clean rooms, continental breakfast included. We chose to order cooked breakfasts which were very tasty and good quality. Friendly staff. En suite could do with updating but no issues. The rooms are above the wine bar which was very popular at night. Recommend a visit.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank woo4wen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews