We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - honest review ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gales Of Llangollen
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed at gales of Llangollen for my husbands birthday booking a cheap deal on the booking.com website £65 with continental breakfast.

We found the hotel to be in a good location within easy walking distance to the local bars and restaurants.

Check in was quick and easy we called Richard to check us in he shown us through to reception where a young chap checked us in to room 7. Richard shown us to our room and was very welcoming suggesting places for us to visit during our stay, he let us know where breakfast was and at what time, we got continental breaks after included but could opt to pay for full if we wanted.

Our room was adequate enough for a 1 night stay clean and quirky. Equipped with a kettle and condiments to make a cuppa in the morning. The room was very warm when we walked in so we did turn the heating off or so we thought as it’s was quite uncomfortable.

We headed out for an evening to the corn mill for a meal and had afew drinks in the bar across the road. When we returned we found the heating hadn’t turned off and the room was far too hot for us to sleep comfortably in. I’m 6 months pregnant and the heat was actually making me dizzy and sick, despite our efforts to turn this off it didn’t work my husband opened the windows and stripped the bed to sleep with the sheet only, we wasn’t able to cool down and kept making frequent trips to stand outside. Needless to say we didn’t sleep very well at all or even at all leaving us up and out walking before 8am. This spoilt it for us sadly, had we have been staying another night we could’ve notified the owners to switch off the heating but at 12am we didn’t feel it was appropriate to call. We didn’t stay for breakfast as we were eager to get home to bed therefore can’t comment but I’m sure it would’ve been lovely.

I’d recommend this hotel for its location and cleanliness our only let down was the heating which you will know from this review to ask to be turned off especially if your expecting or have asthma.

Thanks
Claire

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tinkers86X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2017

On first impressions, Gales Hotel is old and dated; the rooms however, are fresh and very pleasant, with comfortable beds. Be warned: there’s no lift. The manager is an affable and friendly man who takes pride in what he does. We opted for a continental breakfast, but the cooked breakfasts we saw coming out of the kitchen looked and smelled delicious! Free off-street car parking is available out the back. We were in the area to see Pontcysyllte Aqueduct, but Llangollen is a nice place in its own right, with one or two good restaurants and a pleasant riverside walk.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tony1992NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
13
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

It really is a lovely hotel great location and friendly but when on your first visit they given your cottage away and on the second visit your not booked in the restaurant ? Somebody needs a kick up the jacksy

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017 via mobile

Good room for good price. Enjoyed evening in wine bar and will definitely come back out of season. Breakfast was delicious also. Convenient location for bikers to coed llandegla.
Little problem with parking

Highly recommended

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank Matus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

My husband and I used our Gift Ideas for Two voucher here which included the room and a two course meal. The room was nice and was clean and comfortable. The age of the building and the furniture added to the quirkiness of this hotel which we liked. As we had used a voucher we had a choice of any two courses from the set menu. There were only three starters, five mains and three desserts to choose from and unfortunately they weren’t really to our taste, but we picked the option we favoured most. We realise that we didn’t have access to the full menu due to cost, however an option could be to offer either any two courses from the set menu or £X amount towards it. We could then have chosen what we really wanted to eat and just paid the difference. The port in the room was a nice added touch and there was also parking which was great.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Dan78Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
0.1 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
517 reviews
1.3 km away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
796 reviews
0.1 km away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
578 reviews
2.1 km away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
835 reviews
2.9 km away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gales Of Llangollen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gales Of Llangollen

Address: 18 Bridge Street, Llangollen LL20 8PF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Price Range: $116 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gales Of Llangollen 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Gales Of Llangollen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gales Hotel Llangollen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing