We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gales Of Llangollen
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hand Hotel(Llangollen)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Hotel(Llangollen)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Chainbridge Hotel(Llangollen)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Abbey Grange Hotel(Llangollen)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bryn Howel Hotel(Llangollen)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lion Quays(Weston Rhyn)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (300)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveller rating
138
106
42
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
106
42
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine barcontinental breakfastgroupon vouchersmall decanter of portexcellent winedifferent winesquirky roomscar parktop floorold buildingcomfortable bedson arrivalhigh streetvery comfortable staywarm welcomecentral locationstayed for one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 301 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2018

Yes the hotel is a beautiful old building but with so much charm and character. which is quite refreshing to the square soulless box rooms in the modern hotels. The staff and owners couldn't have been more friendly and welcoming. We dined in the wine bar and the food was simply delicious and the owner so knowledgeable of the wines on offer. Llangollen its self is a wonderful town with something for everyone, beautiful scenery. the river, the canal boats the great variety of little independent shops and the many eateries offering something for everyone and their budgets. Not forgetting the many outdoor pursuits you can participate in. We have been to Lllangollen many times before but not stayed over. We intend to do so again in the future. In fact we would like to say a Big Thank You to all the town folk for making Lllangollen the amazing little gem it is.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Sue8thm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed at gales of Llangollen for my husbands birthday booking a cheap deal on the booking.com website £65 with continental breakfast.

We found the hotel to be in a good location within easy walking distance to the local bars and restaurants.

Check in was quick and easy we called Richard to check us in he shown us through to reception where a young chap checked us in to room 7. Richard shown us to our room and was very welcoming suggesting places for us to visit during our stay, he let us know where breakfast was and at what time, we got continental breaks after included but could opt to pay for full if we wanted.

Our room was adequate enough for a 1 night stay clean and quirky. Equipped with a kettle and condiments to make a cuppa in the morning. The room was very warm when we walked in so we did turn the heating off or so we thought as it’s was quite uncomfortable.

We headed out for an evening to the corn mill for a meal and had afew drinks in the bar across the road. When we returned we found the heating hadn’t turned off and the room was far too hot for us to sleep comfortably in. I’m 6 months pregnant and the heat was actually making me dizzy and sick, despite our efforts to turn this off it didn’t work my husband opened the windows and stripped the bed to sleep with the sheet only, we wasn’t able to cool down and kept making frequent trips to stand outside. Needless to say we didn’t sleep very well at all or even at all leaving us up and out walking before 8am. This spoilt it for us sadly, had we have been staying another night we could’ve notified the owners to switch off the heating but at 12am we didn’t feel it was appropriate to call. We didn’t stay for breakfast as we were eager to get home to bed therefore can’t comment but I’m sure it would’ve been lovely.

I’d recommend this hotel for its location and cleanliness our only let down was the heating which you will know from this review to ask to be turned off especially if your expecting or have asthma.

Thanks
Claire

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tinkers86X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017

On first impressions, Gales Hotel is old and dated; the rooms however, are fresh and very pleasant, with comfortable beds. Be warned: there’s no lift. The manager is an affable and friendly man who takes pride in what he does. We opted for a continental breakfast, but the cooked breakfasts we saw coming out of the kitchen looked and smelled delicious! Free off-street car parking is available out the back. We were in the area to see Pontcysyllte Aqueduct, but Llangollen is a nice place in its own right, with one or two good restaurants and a pleasant riverside walk.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tony1992NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
13
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

It really is a lovely hotel great location and friendly but when on your first visit they given your cottage away and on the second visit your not booked in the restaurant ? Somebody needs a kick up the jacksy

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017 via mobile

Good room for good price. Enjoyed evening in wine bar and will definitely come back out of season. Breakfast was delicious also. Convenient location for bikers to coed llandegla.
Little problem with parking

Highly recommended

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank Matus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews