We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Abbey Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Abbey Grange Hotel
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Reviewed 6 January 2018

Just got back from a 3 night stay and I can honestly say It was worth every penny if you want 5 star pay for 5 star very large room 4 poster bed great location good breakfast and very clean what more do you need

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank petemanchester j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2017

Arriving at this hotel with trepidation after reading TripAdvisor reviews saying it was dirty and that a tramp wouldn't stay there; we were pleasantly surprised to find this a charming hotel. As some people had stated no-one was on reception but we soon found a member of staff. The hotel was warm and clean and the food was satisfactory and breakfast was substantial. Our purpose for this trip was to go walking and visit NT properties and this hotel was ideally situated for these pastimes. For the price we paid for our two nights away we could not find any fault at all with this hotel.

Stayed: October 2017
1  Thank ARIADNE1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

we booked this Hotel as we had a labrador dog and trip Advisor gave a list of dog friendly Hotels in North Wales . we were redirected to Booking.com who gave no information on taking a dog and it was only when i arrived that i found i had to pay an additional £10 for the Dog ( The hotel blamed Booking.com and another lady had the same complaint) Apart from that we had no complaints with the hotel , a pleasant Barmaid dealt with all our needs and we had a meal in the hotel as well as breakfast which for the money paid £50 was very good value for a 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a nice view over the Hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpcaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

Visited the Abbey Grange as we passed through Langollen. All three had slow roasted pork belly. Unfortunately the pork was burnt and not very good. On the upside the staff were pleasant, the local welsh dark ale was enjoyable and the snoring bull mastiff, Samson, was amusing. Try the place but be careful of the food.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

Myself and 3 friends were booked into Abbey Grange as part of a larger group who were all playing golf at the Vale of Llangollen Golf Club for the weekend. Our room was basic but the bedding was clean. After playing golf on the Saturday afternoon I was looking forward to a nice shower which frankly was very poor. It was no more than a trickle. After a protracted struggle to get ready to go out I went down to the bar. The young girl was very pleasant and served us our drinks. I asked what time breakfast was being served and she replied 08:30. I advised her that we were all due to play golf at 09:00 and would there be a chance that we could have breakfast a little earlier. She said that she would have to ask the manager who was out at the time. As we were out for the evening I asked if they could leave a note under the door with an answer. After a very enjoyable evening in Llangollen we returned to our room to find a note taped on the door advising that they would not be providing us with any breakfast before 08:30. We checked out at 08:00. There was no-one around to speak to regarding a refund with a note on reception asking us to leave our key in a box. I noticed as I was leaving that the food hygiene rating for Abbey Grange was 2 (requiring improvement). Just as well then we didn't get breakfast. Incidentally the breakfast at the golf club was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
5.6 km away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
578 reviews
3 km away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
434 reviews
1.7 km away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
517 reviews
1.4 km away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
835 reviews
2.9 km away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Grange Hotel

Address: Horseshoe Pass Road, Llangollen LL20 8DD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Price Range: $90 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Abbey Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Grange Llangollen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing