We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$103
US$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bryn Howel Hotel(Llangollen)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$182
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Hand Hotel(Llangollen)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$106
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Hotel(Llangollen)
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Britannia Inn(Llangollen)
US$79
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Mulberry Inn(Llangollen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveller rating
40
64
55
49
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
64
55
49
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswelsh breakfastbit datedreal alean evening meallarge roomone night stayhorseshoe fallslovely foodbrewedtrepidationpostersoapsvalleyvelvetsteam
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 284 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Arriving at this hotel with trepidation after reading TripAdvisor reviews saying it was dirty and that a tramp wouldn't stay there; we were pleasantly surprised to find this a charming hotel. As some people had stated no-one was on reception but we soon found a member of staff. The hotel was warm and clean and the food was satisfactory and breakfast was substantial. Our purpose for this trip was to go walking and visit NT properties and this hotel was ideally situated for these pastimes. For the price we paid for our two nights away we could not find any fault at all with this hotel.

Stayed: October 2017
1  Thank ARIADNE1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

we booked this Hotel as we had a labrador dog and trip Advisor gave a list of dog friendly Hotels in North Wales . we were redirected to Booking.com who gave no information on taking a dog and it was only when i arrived that i found i had to pay an additional £10 for the Dog ( The hotel blamed Booking.com and another lady had the same complaint) Apart from that we had no complaints with the hotel , a pleasant Barmaid dealt with all our needs and we had a meal in the hotel as well as breakfast which for the money paid £50 was very good value for a 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a nice view over the Hills
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpcaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

Visited the Abbey Grange as we passed through Langollen. All three had slow roasted pork belly. Unfortunately the pork was burnt and not very good. On the upside the staff were pleasant, the local welsh dark ale was enjoyable and the snoring bull mastiff, Samson, was amusing. Try the place but be careful of the food.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

Myself and 3 friends were booked into Abbey Grange as part of a larger group who were all playing golf at the Vale of Llangollen Golf Club for the weekend. Our room was basic but the bedding was clean. After playing golf on the Saturday afternoon I was looking forward to a nice shower which frankly was very poor. It was no more than a trickle. After a protracted struggle to get ready to go out I went down to the bar. The young girl was very pleasant and served us our drinks. I asked what time breakfast was being served and she replied 08:30. I advised her that we were all due to play golf at 09:00 and would there be a chance that we could have breakfast a little earlier. She said that she would have to ask the manager who was out at the time. As we were out for the evening I asked if they could leave a note under the door with an answer. After a very enjoyable evening in Llangollen we returned to our room to find a note taped on the door advising that they would not be providing us with any breakfast before 08:30. We checked out at 08:00. There was no-one around to speak to regarding a refund with a note on reception asking us to leave our key in a box. I noticed as I was leaving that the food hygiene rating for Abbey Grange was 2 (requiring improvement). Just as well then we didn't get breakfast. Incidentally the breakfast at the golf club was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

The room was clean and tidy. I always like a bath. The lady who checked us in was the only friendly part of the stay. It was good to have a kettle and hot drinks on tap but the biscuit ration was very meagre.The water heating system was noisy.
The walls were rather thin. As a consequence of this we were woken before 6am by voices next door. I actually thought it was voices outside so went downstairs and outside to check. So not a sound sleep was enjoyed.
Breakfast was served in a very lack -lustre way - no smiles, no welcome and when more milk was requested, it was just put on the serving table when it would not have taken much more effort to deliver it to our table. There was nobody on hand to bid us goodbye when we left. The place was tired- looking, drab and did not inspire much. I would have been very aggrieved if I had paid the full asking price for this room.Will not be returning. The contrast between our fantastic wedding venue for the day was just too much.

Room Tip: Ask for 4 poster
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mungo632015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews