We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveller rating
42
67
56
53
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
67
56
53
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviews home brew bit dated real ale large room one night stay horseshoe falls brewed trepidation poster soaps velvet
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 302 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2018

Just got back from a 3 night stay and I can honestly say It was worth every penny if you want 5 star pay for 5 star very large room 4 poster bed great location good breakfast and very clean what more do you need

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank petemanchester j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Arriving at this hotel with trepidation after reading TripAdvisor reviews saying it was dirty and that a tramp wouldn't stay there; we were pleasantly surprised to find this a charming hotel. As some people had stated no-one was on reception but we soon found a member of staff. The hotel was warm and clean and the food was satisfactory and breakfast was substantial. Our purpose for this trip was to go walking and visit NT properties and this hotel was ideally situated for these pastimes. For the price we paid for our two nights away we could not find any fault at all with this hotel.

Date of stay: October 2017
1  Thank ARIADNE1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

we booked this Hotel as we had a labrador dog and trip Advisor gave a list of dog friendly Hotels in North Wales . we were redirected to Booking.com who gave no information on taking a dog and it was only when i arrived that i found i had to pay an additional £10 for the Dog ( The hotel blamed Booking.com and another lady had the same complaint) Apart from that we had no complaints with the hotel , a pleasant Barmaid dealt with all our needs and we had a meal in the hotel as well as breakfast which for the money paid £50 was very good value for a 3 star hotel.

Room tip: Rooms at the front have a nice view over the Hills
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpcaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

Visited the Abbey Grange as we passed through Langollen. All three had slow roasted pork belly. Unfortunately the pork was burnt and not very good. On the upside the staff were pleasant, the local welsh dark ale was enjoyable and the snoring bull mastiff, Samson, was amusing. Try the place but be careful of the food.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

Myself and 3 friends were booked into Abbey Grange as part of a larger group who were all playing golf at the Vale of Llangollen Golf Club for the weekend. Our room was basic but the bedding was clean. After playing golf on the Saturday afternoon I was looking forward to a nice shower which frankly was very poor. It was no more than a trickle. After a protracted struggle to get ready to go out I went down to the bar. The young girl was very pleasant and served us our drinks. I asked what time breakfast was being served and she replied 08:30. I advised her that we were all due to play golf at 09:00 and would there be a chance that we could have breakfast a little earlier. She said that she would have to ask the manager who was out at the time. As we were out for the evening I asked if they could leave a note under the door with an answer. After a very enjoyable evening in Llangollen we returned to our room to find a note taped on the door advising that they would not be providing us with any breakfast before 08:30. We checked out at 08:00. There was no-one around to speak to regarding a refund with a note on reception asking us to leave our key in a box. I noticed as I was leaving that the food hygiene rating for Abbey Grange was 2 (requiring improvement). Just as well then we didn't get breakfast. Incidentally the breakfast at the golf club was excellent.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews