We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average stay not impressed with the attic rooms...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pont-y-Pair Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #27 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2017

Average 3-star IMO... good price, good food, sweeet location with average accommodations plus restaurant & pub.

Nice location opposite the bridge and waterfalls (that's how I found it off of Rick Steve's travel videos of N. Wales). Booked off of booking dot com.

We booked three rooms for 7 people... we got three small and cramped 'attic' rooms on the top floor - would have hoped that at least one of the rooms would have been nice & spacious :( No lift so be prepared to lug your luggage up to the top floor. All the rooms + upstairs did generally smell stale/musty. The hallway light was out so we had some difficult finding the door lock to the rooms.
No A/C so as our stay was during some hot weather in June; we were very hot, even with the small windows open, no breeze no relief from the heat.
The limited parking wasn't available in front of the hotel (on the street) but is available in the 'pay' car park across the bridge. Maybe you can 'luck out' if the meter's broke, which it was for our 3 nights :)

Our breakfast were good without exception other than the service wasn't exactly quick, typically breakfast -good food for the day with the black pudding if you want it.

The hosts & staff are very nice.

The restaurant and pub were good, food great; can be very, very busy on a weekend with Scousers on their weekend refuge party.

Right opposite a nice lil fish & chippy (if you're in need of one) right on the river's edge.

We wouldn't go as far as a 5-star hotel experience -> economical 3-star for the price relative to amenity & accommodations

Room Tip: Opt for the 2nd floor rooms facing the front, which have to be 100% better than the attic! No A/C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tabzenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

Booked to stay here for two nights 15/16 july. We arrived around 3 in the afternoon and had to ring the number displayed on the door to be allowed in. The only room available was a twin room even though we booked 2 months in advance, the room is really dark, dated and also has damp in the bathroom ceiling, the shower also leaks out onto the bathroom floor.The plumbing is very noisy, you can hear other guests showers, taps and toilets being used.
We didnt eat in the pub but spent a couple of hours drinking in the bar on the friday. People were still being served in the bar late on but when i'd asked for a couple of drinks i was told we would have to take them to our rooms despite others still present in the bar. We had brekkie then went out for a walk, we forgot our camera so went back to the hotel and had to ring the bell, i had to explain why i wanted to go back to the room, on my way back out i was told the pub wont be open until 3 so dont come back until then.....(cheek)...overall its a nice pub, they also serve nice brekky but if youre thinking of booking dont let them put you in room 5 oh and dont try to get back into your room once you leave the building.....you will be told off.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank trishwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

Excellent alround from start to finish. Brilliant hosts, great atmosphere and great pub. The informative review of the area from Linda and Steve gave us a great insight. Welcoming and lovely ambience.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JasonBeaumont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

Came here last Friday on a weekend away. Received a warm welcome and enjoyed a good few drinks and food. Lovely outdoor seating area if your a smoker. I'm gutted that I can't remember the ladies name who is the manager of the bar however she was so lovely. Made us feel very comfortable and when we come back to Wales we will 100% return here.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jenniren82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

we didn't stay here but we did call in 3 times whilst camping near by. The food was delicious, piping hot and good portions. the staff are very friendly and remembered our drink order after 1 visit. They are very helpful and welcoming. I recommended it to everyone about it when i got home.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank castlesandabbeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.2 km away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
780 reviews
0.5 km away
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
33 reviews
0.4 km away
The Gwydyr Hotel
The Gwydyr Hotel
#5 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
2.8 km away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
546 reviews
1.3 km away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pont-y-Pair Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pont-y-Pair Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0BN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: $108 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pont-y-Pair Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pont-y-Pair Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pont-y-Pair Hotel And Restaurant Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing