We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
jennycosens
Wiltshire, United Kingdom

Amazing rooms

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Aug 2021via mobile
Positives:
The hotel, room and bathroom are all beautiful. The room looked amazing. The jet bath is a fabulous extra to the room with the lovely shower above it.
Really nice extra touch of a card in our room congratulating us on our engagement.

Negatives:
The only thing that let the room down was the very small bed in comparison to the room. A much bigger one would fit and suit the whole room better. The one thing in the bathroom that is missing is bubble bath in the little packs (take out the moisturiser if necessary).
Staff weren’t as welcoming and as happy as we were expecting. Didn’t give us the lovely welcome we were expecting given the look and feel of the hotel. Mixed messages given to us as well. Breakfast seemed overpriced so we didn’t book in for it.

Overall We had a very lovely stay and cannot wait to come back!!
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Knight, Guest Services / Front Office at The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review
Responded 23 Aug 2021
Dear Jennifer,
Thank you ever so much for your feedback, I am delighted to hear that you loved your room, the décor really is lovely and the spa baths a real treat.
I take onboard your feedback about the bed. Bubble Bath is not permitted for use in the spa baths as it usually results in excessive bubbles and even long term damage to the pumps.
I am disheartened to hear of your feelings about the staff most of our guests find them to be warm and friendly. At £10.00 per adult breakfast is among the cheapest you will find in any hotel.
Congratulations on your engagement, we look forward to welcoming you back here soon.
Kind regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
S$105
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
1.2 km from The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
S$143
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
2.1 km from The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff
Pool
Restaurant
Exterior
S$55
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
1.2 km from The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    S$114
  • Booking.com
2.0 km from The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    S$144
  • Expedia.com
    S$156
1.7 km from The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    S$200
  • Booking.com
0.5 km from The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    S$46
  • Hotels.com
2.0 km from The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Travelodge
  • ZenHotels.com
    S$87
  • Hotels.com
2.0 km from The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Exterior view
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Mercure
    S$104
  • ZenHotels.com
    S$93
  • Booking.com
2.1 km from The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Cardiff
Reviews (1,576)
Filter reviews
1,576 results
Traveller rating
1,129
199
128
62
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,129
199
128
62
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jacuzzi bath main hall grand hall amazing building beautiful hotel bridal suite original features bottle of prosecco beautiful room building work dressing table fabulous stay afternoon tea function room birthday treat breakfast was delicious mermaid quay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
675 - 680 of 1,576 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2021 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed here overnight Saturday - Sunday and had a wonderful time.

Provided I had already checked in online, the check in process upon arrival was a little slow but staff were very friendly.

Our room was spacious and nicely decorated with a huge jacuzzi bath which came as a surprise.

We booked the “Date Night Package” and so had our dinner and breakfast the next day included in the price. The dinner consisted of two courses and the food quality was nice, however a £15 supplement for a steak seemed a bit steep.

In the morning, there was no queue for breakfast and the food quality here was great. Everything was hot and fresh and tasted great.

Again, check out was a little slow but expected. Overall, we had a great stay and would definitely use this hotel again in the future.

* I would advise you to use the Q-park car park (about a 5 minute walk) from the hotel to park as there is no parking at the hotel. The hotel will also send a discount code for you to use if you park there.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank claire95x
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Knight, Guest Services / Front Office at The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2021

Dear Claire95x

Thank you ever so much for your feedback. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at The Coal exchange. The staff really are an asset to us. I am also pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food in our restaurant and enjoyed the spa bath, they really are a treat. We look forward to welcoming you back here soon.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2021

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary and took our 3yr old with us as well. The room was big and the 3yr old got a kingsize bed all for herself! The bathroom had a jucazzi bath we could all just about squeeze in. The breakfast had a good quality hot food buffet to chose from. Just before leaving Cardiff in the afternoon we realised we had left our tablet at the hotel so drove back and as they hadn't started cleaning the room let me pop back to the room and search for it.

There was a good mix of people there from couples, hen dos and families. We had a peer into the main hall late in the evening as my husband had been to the place when it had been used as a concert venue. My favourite bit was the history info boards and that some of the rooms had plaques for what coal businesses used to rent the room as their offices.

The only negative we had was the mix of signage for room locations. The new receptionist pointed us in the wrong direction first and the one side seemed to be well sign posted of where to find rooms. Once back at reception we were pointed in the right direction but with a lack of signage we still got lost finding our room and had to ask for help from someone in the bar till we found our room.

Date of stay: August 2021
1  Thank fannyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Knight, Guest Services / Front Office at The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2021

Dear fannyUK

Thank you ever so much for your feedback. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your anniversary here at The Coal Exchange. It is lovely to know that you enjoyed the atmosphere created by the variety of guests and rich history of the hotel. I take on board your comments about the signage, the new receptionist is already becoming better with directions.
We look forward to welcoming you back here in the near future.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2021 via mobile

Just got back from our 1st stay at The Coal Exchange in Cardiff and it was fantastic.

The hotel when you walk in is very dark with all the wooden trim but it is a listed building but once you get to your room then the quirkiness starts😁

Arrival was abit difficult in that they do not have a car park so when we found the hotel i went in with the cases and my husband took the car to a secure multi storey car park that is 5-10 minutes walk away, which is ok if it not raining.

All around the hotel is short stay parking, max 4 hours so not convenient for hotel.

Check in was very easy, given room key and remote control for tv sanitised in a plastic bag.

Finding the room was confusing but the receptionist helped me with my case because i got lost, their is a lift but it at other end of hotel.

When we got into our room which was a double it was fab, bright orange thick curtains and wall paper but it was lovely.

Wardrobe had safe, iron and hairdryer in it.

The best part was the double jacuzzi bath with a rain shower over it, amazing jacuzzi🥰

There was no air con in our room but we brought are own fan and their was also one in the room.

The hotel had given us a bottle of processco as well which was lovely.

We had booked the 'Fizzy Friday' package which included bottomless brunch, off to the restaurant we went which was very nice too, service was fantastic as well and we could have free flowing prosecco - which i had and husband had welsh beer. Food was main and dessert again very nice.

Staff were very good, our glasses were never empty.

Breakfast in the morning husband went to restaurant to get for us as they didn't do breakfast in your room but he brought us a cooked breakfast and fruits back - fab again.

Check out is 11am but spoke to man at reception (don't know his name but he was fantastic- wore glasses) and he extended our check out to 12, thank you.

Yes this hotel is on a back street and doesn't look very inviting in reception but the staff and quirkiness of the hotel really do make it a wonderful place to stay and we defo be back x

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank josoap1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David Lecoq, Guest Services / Front Office at The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2021

Dear josoap1,

Thank you ever so much for your lovely review.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, the staff here really do go the extra mile to make everyone feel welcome. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Coal Exchange in the near future.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2021 via mobile

Just returned from a very relaxing 2 night break celebrating our wedding anniversary at the Coal Exchange Hotel in Cardiff. What can I say. This is such a quirky, but lovely hotel. Our trip didn’t get off to the best start as I had a phone call from the hotel 2 days before we were due to arrive to say there had been an error with their booking system and we were told the price we had paid was only for 1 night (despite the confirmation email stating it was a 2 night stay). We were asked to pay more than the original price quoted on their website which to be honest I was not happy about and it kind of got the break off to a bad start. However, everyone knows mistakes can happen and boy did they make up for it when we got there! On arrival we were greeted by the friendly staff on reception who upgraded us to THE BRIDAL SUITE! :-) From that moment on our stay just got better and better. On getting to the room we were welcomed by a lovely card wishing us a happy anniversary from all the staff. The room was spectacular, the jacuzzi bath was a great way to unwind after a day walking around Cardiff and the bed was soooooo comfy! We did have a problem with the door handle falling off a couple of times, but the problem was very quickly resolved once reported to reception who were always only too happy to help. The Sunday lunch in Culleys, the hotel restaurant, was to die for. Food, atmosphere and service was spot on. All in all we had such a lovely stay and didn’t want to leave. Thank you Coal Exchange for making our anniversary so special. Hopefully see you again soon!

Room tip: Pre book parking at QPark (10min walk away) as you get a discount if staying at the hotel.
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David Lecoq, Guest Services / Front Office at The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2021

Dear Hannah W,

I really love your feedback and the fact that you understand that mistake happen.
Thank you for your trust and I am looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2021 via mobile

Amazing building with lots of history with the interior decor to match. An impressive restoration adding to the hotels story.
We had a nights stay to celebrate our wedding anniversary not too far from home. We also booked into the evening entertainment of “Dirty Grease” tribute act. (Including dinner)
On arrival we were greeted by a lovely friendly receptionist who checked us in and showed us where to go for dining and rooms. The helpful and friendly nature of the staff continued throughout our stay.
We had booked a double room directly but were actually given a triple. The room was decorated in keeping with the building and clean. The bathroom was lovely with a double jacuzzi bath. Bed was comfortable and air con worked.
We both had a great time at the evening entertainment. A good fun performance with audience participation. Great to let our hair down after lockdown. All of which made our stay the more special.
Treated ourselves to the breakfast too which was delicious and again tended to by lovely staff.
Hopefully stay again in the future.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 248nealc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Knight, Guest Services / Front Office at The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2021

Dear Mr & Mrs Craig,

Thank you ever so much for your lovely feedback. I am delighted to hear that you were given a warm welcome to The Coal Exchange and the helpful nature of our team was consistent throughout your stay. Congratulations on another year of marriage, we hope you have many more to come.
We look forward to welcoming you back here again.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews