We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Royal Hotel(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$95
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Jurys Inn Cardiff(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$146
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Jolyon's Boutique Hotel(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$134/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Clayton Hotel Cardiff(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$95
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$55
US$52
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$63/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$141
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tanes Hotel(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$61
US$59
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,185)
Filter reviews
4,185 results
Traveller rating
1,712
1,161
769
356
187
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,712
1,161
769
356
187
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaster suiteoverlooking cardiff bayspa facilitieson arrivalmermaid quaythe hotel car parkpay and displayfloor to ceiling windowsrobes and slippersafternoon tearelaxation roombirthday treatan upgradewelsh cakesbars and restaurantsa lovely staymillennium centre
Filter
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 4,185 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2018

for a treat we booked st david's hotel for one night and what a wonderfull experience we had, it started from the moment we walked in to the grand entrance wich is breath taking very frendly reception staff who check you in then direct you to the room
the room is large and fantastic great views over the bay towards penarth i loved the corridors something unique about them, we managed a few hours in the health spa, amazing expereance

Room Tip: all rooms have water views
Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nathaniel-Richards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Dear Nathaniel-Richards,

What a fantastic review to read! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves of our warm welcome and customer care and look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind regards,

Russell Durnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018 via mobile

We stayed four nights, good reception and check in and check out, assisted with luggage both ways , room had everything you could need , bathroom luxurious plenty of room for my stuff. !
Very close to plenty of restaurants , Wetherspoon, bills, Chinese , subway , just a wee walk from Hotel .
We decided not to pay £18.50 per person for breakfast and instead just walk to Wetherspoon or subway for a meal at half the cost, the odeon Cinema is within walking distance we saw two movies during our stay .
I went to the spa every morning, the Hotel supply dressing gowns towels and slippers even a token for the locker !
The gym has a great view and I was on the exercise bike every day, the pool is cool but I did read other reviews and expected this.
There was a small child there and he wouldn’t go in as it was too cold .
There is a private lift to the gym and spa which means you can just go down in your gear with your dressing gown on , thought this was a great touch .
The view from our room was wonderful , the car park is £20 a night , which I thought was a bit steep but again I knew when I booked, all in all a great stay , plenty to do near by , we had two drinks on the bar £23 for a gin ( with too much ice ) and a Bacardi and Coke ! My tip go to Wetherspoon
Would like to return in the summer ,
Good location and views x
Skip breakfast and go out for it that will pay for the car park. !!!!!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank buttsScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Dear buttsScotland,

Thank you for such a detailed review. It’s great that you had a comfortable stay in a room that suited all your needs and made use of the spa facilities during your stay.

It is a pity you didn’t have breakfast with us as we regularly get compliments on what good value it is, especially when booked in advance at only £12 per person. There are also breakfast items too, ranging from Eggs Benedict to smoked salmon and scrambled eggs.

We trust we will be seeing you again very soon and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Russell Durnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018

The hotel staff couldn't have been friendlier, or more helpful. I was staying on my own and even got an upgrade. The restaurant is worth going to even if you don't stay at the hotel, not many veggie options for breakfast but definitely didn't go hungry! Lovely rooms and just a really nice atmosphere. Gym is small but has everything you need and the pool is great. Wish there had been a steam room but would 100% come back here : )

Room Tip: ask for one with a balcony over looking the bay- you won't regret it!
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderercox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Dear wanderercox,

What a fantastic review. It is clear you really enjoyed your stay and the team took care of your every need.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon to St David’s.

Kind regards

Russell Durnell
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018 via mobile

Stayed for one nights relaxing break. Can’t fault anything. Service was excellent all staff friendly and helpful. Lovely room clean and spacious with balcony and amazing view. We used the spa which was lovely and relaxing we stayed on a tues night and it was nice and quiet. Had evening meal in restaurant it was amazing, food service and deco, also breakfast excellent, views again lovely from restaurant. Very happy with our stay here and would highly recommend. Will return even if only for the restaurant.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Melaine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Dear Melaine J,

Thank you for such a wonderful review. To get a perfect score incredibly generous indeed.
Many thanks also for the high recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards

Russell Durnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018

Returned to this hotel for a weekend break and were not disappointed. The revamped bar and restaurant are really good and it was a pleasure to spend time eating and drinking there.

On arrival we found our room did not have a window or door that could be opened but the staff were able to move us to a room that did allow us to access fresh air. We were grateful to them for this help. All very good.

Room Tip: Wonderful views of Cardiff from most rooms; car park was full both nights we were there so we had to find alternative car parking.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Dear Michael O,

I am delighted that you returned to stay with us again and were impressed by our new “The Admiral St David” bar and restaurant’s light and friendly atmosphere.
Thank you for highlighting that not all our rooms have balcony access. To guarantee a balcony, it is best to book a Superior Room type or above so as to make the very best of the views of Cardiff Bay and it’s great to see that the team were able to assist with your request.
I trust we will be welcoming you back very soon and look forward to it.

Kind regards

Russell Durnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews