We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The St. David's Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cardiff(Cardiff)
US$107
US$101
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Jurys Inn Cardiff(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$65
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Future Inn Cardiff Bay(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clayton Hotel Cardiff(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$65
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Hotel(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$70
US$68
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Tanes Hotel(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$65
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,098)
Filter reviews
4,098 results
Traveller rating
1,676
1,140
751
348
183
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,676
1,140
751
348
183
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaster suitecardiff bayoverlooking the bayspa facilitieson arrivalmermaid quaythe hotel car parkpay and displayfloor to ceiling windowsrobes and slippersafternoon tearelaxation roombirthday treatan upgradewelsh cakesbars and restaurantslovely room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 4,098 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed at the hotel for 1 night for my 21st birthday. We were booked into a classic room and were upgraded to a deluxe on arrival with a bay view, as they had been told it was a 21st birthday treat. We were also given small boxes of chocolates in our room. We were there on a Tuesday night and the spa was pretty much empty so had the exercise pool, hydrotherapy pool and sauna to ourselves at one point. The heating and air conditioning easy to use and very quick if too hot/cold. The shower is very powerful and there are some some nice toiletries from The White Company which was great. The breakfast was plentiful and value for money. On arrival and throughout our stay at the hotel the staff were nothing but nice and accommodating. My boyfriend was also pleased to see a famous sportsmen and his entourage at breakfast. Would 100% recommend to anyone.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Emily R,

Thanks for the glowing review and happy 21st Birthday! It’s great that you enjoyed such a special stay with us and that the team looked after you both so well. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon and thanks for the recommendation.

Kind regards

Russell Durnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband booked us a evening get away bed& breakfast , evening meal & a glass of bubbly each . Very clinical reception area on arrival, rather run down exterior not inviting . On a positive reception staff were friendly . Booked the evening meal to arrive at the restaurant with no greeting area ? We notified the bar man who told us to take a seat in bar area . Waiting a while for our table, we placed our food order which they got wrong so we then waited further more , one steak was luke warm when finally arrived with no side order? Again, we waited!! No glasses of bubbly arrived?? The staff were rushing past our seated area constantly .... we were totally not expecting this whatsoever from a 5 star hotel & restaurant! Our relaxing night away was not a pleasant one . The room was comfortable although if we are honest not much different to the comfort & service from a premier inn with a bonus of balcony & views . We did stress our concerns to the manager and recieved a apology via email fews days later offering 20% off a return visit to the restaurant which we will not be returning for . St Davids hotel did not meet our expections at all. Very dissapointed overall with quality for the high price to stay . Can we also add that the mini bar had zero refreshments to purchase ? Other than 2 bottled waters . The towels are rather rough along with the retired dressing gowns . Coffee machine has no instruction and toilet paper was awful too ! On a positive note ..Bed was large and we slept well ( better part of stay) this our personal opinion on our visit . will not be returning to this hotel and unfortunatately wont be reccomending either

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Lisa H,

Thank you for the detailed review. It is a very disappointing read but I am glad that our Food & Beverage Manager has been in touch with you directly. I trust that his communication has re-established your faith in St David’s and I look forward to being able to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards

Russell Durnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spacious modern hotel in the Cardiff Bay area. The clean, spacious and bright reception area lightened up a dreary and rainy day in Wales. Staff were always on hand and helpful. Room service for breakfast was prompt and the food nicely laid out. The bedrooms were light and airy, the bathroom had a walk-in shower. Overall very good.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a view
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank welltravelledaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear welltravelledaround,

Thanks for the 5 star review. I am delighted that you enjoyed a warm welcome and comfortable stay with us despite the wet weather and look forward to seeing you again and will have my fingers crossed for sunshine.

Kind regards

Russell Durnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Refurbished rooms are very stylish, as is the restaurant and bar. Staff are always friendly and helpful and we enjoy using the spa facilities (especially the pool).
We always appreciate the views across the water and never draw the curtains.

Room Tip: For best views go high and on the lagoon side.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank BigRedHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear BigRedHunter,

Thanks for such a positive and succinct review. I am delighted that you choose to return to St David’s because of our spectacular views and the great spa facilities. We look forward to many more visits by you.

Kind regards

Russell Durnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was passing through Cardiff on Wed March 7th and stayed for one night in the St David. What a wonderful hotel ! The staff were lovely, efficient and so helpful. My room was absolutely lovely with stunning views over the bay. I dined in the restaurant that night and had a superb meal. I left the next morning revitalised and ready for business. The one word that would describe my stay was 'wonderful' and thank you to all the wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank kkbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear kkbaz,

I am delighted that you had a “wonderful” stay with us and that the team looked after you so well and sent you off raring to do business. I look forward to welcoming you back the next time business, or pleasure, brings you to Cardiff Bay.

Kind regards

Russell Durnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews