We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$45
View deal
Expedia.com
US$48
View deal
Agoda.com
US$37
View deal
Hotels.comUS$48
PricelineUS$42
eDreamsUS$45
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,111)
Filter reviews
1,111 results
Traveller rating
320
464
213
61
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
320
464
213
61
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family run hotel first floor central location train station double room stayed here for one night castle receptionist concert pubs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,111 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2021

Superb location right on the main entertainment street in Cardiff City Centre. The owners are very friendly and obliging ; as it's not a modern chain hotel the set up /building/decor etc is more dated but everything is clean and tidy and well maintained. Will definitely use the hotel again when next in Cardiff.

Room tip: we were at the side/rear of the hotel and had no exterior noise problems
Date of stay: November 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeLinda23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner , Owner at Cardiff Sandringham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2021

Thank you for reviewing us so nicely
We are really pleased that you have both enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Simon and Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2021

Myself and husband have stayed here twice. What a gem in the city..Clean comfortable and cozy.. Near to all concert venues shops and restaurants.
The staff are helpful and friendly. Nothing is to much trouble. Very cheap rates too.
Will return again.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lyndaa720
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner , Owner at Cardiff Sandringham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2021

Thank you Lynda for your great review.
We are really pleased you have chosen to stay with us and have enjoyed yourselves.
Alison has asked to pass on her thanks to you both.
Kind regards, Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2021

If you want something fancy then this is not for you. If you want somewhere really central slap in the middle of Cardiff, simple, really clean and with incredibly friendly and helpful staff and very affordable then this is the place to stay. We had a family stay here with 2 rooms with 2 young adults and parents. Great location for both nightlife, restaurants and the city's central attractions. Everywhere is walkable. Even though the hotel is right on a busy street we weren't bothered by noise.

As other reviews have commented yes the fabric of the interior is a bit tired and worn, but if like us you just want somewhere to sleep and shower (loads of very hot water) that is clean and comfortable without paying the earth then this really was a great find.

All the staff were genuinely very friendly and helpful, always with a chat when we passed by. Will definitely visit again.

Room tip: Our rooms 204 and 206 were very quiet
Date of stay: November 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jennyrobbo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner , Owner at Cardiff Sandringham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2021

Thank you Jen for taking the time to write these comments.
From your initial communication and then on arrival we could tell you were a lovely family and that gives us great confidence that you will enjoy your stay. As a friendly bunch ourselves it makes for a perfect match.
I am really pleased that you will visit us again and we look forward to welcoming you.
Kind regards,
Simon and Alison x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2021

We have been using this hotel for about the last 6 years and have always found the staff to be welcoming, pro-active and helpful.
As a family run business it has many attributes, not the least being greeted with a smile and called by your name. Ann-Marie, Alison, Jav, they make my day every time I speak with them. No matter how busy they are, they always make time to chat.
This hotel has always offered us clean rooms, lots of hot water, comfy beds & easy booking. It's a shame they are not doing breakfast at present during the week but, hopefully this will change in the near future.
The Sandringham is only 1 block away from our favourite theatre, St. Davids and you can clearly see Cardiff Castle walls from the hotel. It's right slap bang in the heart of Cardiff. One street behind the hotel and you are in Retail Therapy paradise; shopping arcades abound and all the major retailers you need are within a stone's throw.
A big bonus is the reduced parking fee at the nearby NCP in Westgate Street. Normal fee for 24 hours is £26. Sandringham Hotel fee is £16...
Well done to all the staff at the Sandringham. See you soon!

Room tip: Cardiff is noisy, you can request on booking. However, if the Rugby is on...
Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jacquie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner , Owner at Cardiff Sandringham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2021

Thank you Jacquie for reviewing us and for your constant support.
So many of our regulars that we speak to say that they haven’t reviewed us online as they tell us each time how happy they are to stay which is proven with them returning time after time.
However we do need the help of the internet as well so a big thank you from us for taking the time to write such lovely comments about us.
We look forwarding to welcoming you again.
Kind regards, Alison and Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2021 via mobile

Just woken up after my first night in this hotel. There's a dance club beneath it and the thumping music goes on into the wee hours. The hotel itself is a good two star. Clean and cared for. At the moment they're not cleaning during our stay according to Covid rules. Hmmm. Kettle in room.

Room tip: Parking available 3 minutes walk away in an NCP car park. Sat Nov essential as Cardiff is in development
Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Marianna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner , Owner at Cardiff Sandringham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2021

Thank you Marianna for your review and for choosing to stay with us.
As you say we are not asking housekeepers to enter rooms whilst guests are present but there are bags of clean towels, more tea/coffee, toiletries etc available from reception. We have bins around the hotel as well to dispose of rubbish.
I am glad that you are generally enjoying your stay.
Thank you.
Kind regards, Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews