We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lincoln House Private Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$117
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Clayton Hotel Cardiff(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$78
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Royal Hotel(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$132
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Future Inn Cardiff Bay(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$73
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tanes Hotel(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (780)
Filter reviews
780 results
Traveller rating
554
191
26
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
554
191
26
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour posterwelsh cakesbute parkcity centrefresh fruitbay windowfull welsh breakfastsmall hotelsophia gardenssitting roomlava breadoff street parkinglovely hoteloriginal featuresno liftbreakfast was deliciousbeautiful room
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 780 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2018

Just returned from a three-night stay at Lincoln House. Everything was outstanding. We opted for a larger room on the ground floor with a king-size bed, and could not have been more pleased. Quiet, warm, comfortable with a spotlessly clean and spacious bathroom. We were treated to a sumptuous breakfast, with fresh produce and first-class service. The hotel staff were invariably courteous and helpful, and the atmosphere is relaxed. The hotel also gains through its location, fifteen minutes walk to the centre through the park, and excellent local eateries, notably The Cricketers and Elganos, just five minutes away. Strongly recommended.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank mscct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

Lost count of the times I have visited this gorgeous hotel in the last 12 months. It is like a sanctuary in lovely but busy Cardiff. This time I wished to write about the welcome. Not only am I welcome but a friend who had stayed there once before for just one night was recognised as my friend by a very special member of staff. (Well, they are all special).

And the breakfast gets better and better.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sandpwms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

I have to agree with the other reviewers, it’s not a “hotel”, more “bed-n-breakfast” and definitely over-priced. We paid £384 for 3 nights and it was terrible value, because we had rationed heating during a very cold period. For the price, and compared to other accommodation, 24/7 heating should be a minimum.

It was cold on arrival (mid afternoon) - and as we were going out the receptionist said it will be switched on at 4:30pm!!. The radiator was luke warm, we could put our hands on it. We asked about heating timings, as we had to work in the morning and we were told to do our work in the sitting room - huh!!?? at 7am, who has business calls in a public area??!!. She even mentioned that if they were to switch on the heating for us, it meant they had to warm up the entire hotel. Clearly there was really low occupancy and mentioning this, gave us the impression they couldn't afford to heat the place.

Electric heaters were eventually left, and when we returned the radiator was switched OFF altogether. A listed building without heating all day was freezing by the evening. We were told the cleaners switched them off because they got too hot during their work!!. The windows were drafty, they even had condensation, and the cold air swirled around the room in the middle of the night. The bathroom was so freezing, we had to put the towels on the floor so we could walk on the cold lino. At least it kept our yoghurts refrigerated!

My husband is Welsh, and we picked Lincoln for location, but it was absolutely uncomfortable and really unpleasant. The more we requested assistance with being cold, and then returning to have our heating switched-OFF clearly spoke volumes about the approach to service.

Room Tip: AVOID all rooms on 3rd floor - not insulated and crafty
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LincolnHouseCardiff, Owner at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Dear Guest, your visit coincided with a particularly cold snap with plummeting external temperatures together with a major sporting event in the city. Nevertheless the issue you have raised with respect to the heating in your room has been noted and rest assured it will be thoroughly investigated and corrective action taken. This will include replacement of the existing windows with double glazed like-for-like units in the near future which will arrest the condensation issue. With regards staff turning off radiators having made-up rooms we have issued instructions that all radiators should be left fully on in every room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

Friendly and very helpful staff,comfortable room,lovely breakfast,great location and perfect to stay on a rugby weekend-would definitely recommend this hotel if you are coming to stay in cardiff. Added bonus of onsite parking,easy to walk into cardiff.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank liz b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LincolnHouseCardiff, Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Dear Liz, thank you for your review which is very much appreciated. Feedback is always welcome from guests whether positive (or not so positive) and we always act upon it whenever possible. We look forward to your next stay with us in the not too distance future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Lincoln Hotel on Saturday night (3rd March 2018). The room was pleasant, clean and tidy.

After a good night's sleep we went down to a really welcoming and tasty breakfast. The fruit selection was exceptional, plenty of choice and so fresh. I then enjoyed the full Welsh Vegetarian breakfast with a pot of tea. Delicious!

Throughout our breakfast we were offered additional tea and coffee (as much as we wanted really). Great service as a lot of larger hotels only offer an initial pot/mug with no top ups. The extra tea was perfect to go with the Welsh cakes also on offer.

After breakfast we walked (not far) to Cardiff Castle and the city.

Very enjoyable stay with friendly staff.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank 24Nic24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews