We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
7 people are viewing this hotel
Hotels.com
US$91
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/11/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$91
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/11/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Destinia.com
US$90
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/11/21
Expedia.comUS$91
PricelineUS$91
ZenHotels.comUS$102
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,135)
Filter reviews
3,135 results
Traveller rating
1,576
1,098
351
62
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,576
1,098
351
62
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station city centre afternoon tea car park excellent location lovely hotel bars and restaurants coffee machine the air conditioning buffet style double bed few minutes walk family room executive room saturday night motorpoint arena maldron
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 3,135 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2021

We booked the bottomless brunch at the Clayton hotel the weekend and i must say what a fab experience. The brunch was stunning and the prosecco was also really nice and to top it off, not once did we need to ask for a refill, every time our glass was nearly empty the lovely waitress would make sure it was topped straight back up. Now thats exactly what you want from a bottomless prosecco brunch!! Well done the Clayton! Fab food, drinks, service and atmosphere :)

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 695debj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton Cardiff, Owner at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2021

Hi 695debj,

Many thanks for your great review!

We are very pleased to hear that you had a great time brunching with us at the Clayton Hotel, Cardiff.

Please be reassured that I have passed all your great feedback to our restaurant team who are very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time.

We do look forward welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Sian,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2021

So first you should know that this is our fourth stay at the Clayton hotel Cardiff.
All other stays went without mishap ,we assumed this one would be the same .
Firstly be advised that whilst the staff are happy enough to serve you at the bar ,deal with you at reception, bring dinner to your table ,they will not run a hover round your empty room ,or pop some clean towels in ,because apparently that’s too dangerous.
Instead you are expected to go to reception to pick up any items you need ,and don’t expect your request to be met graciously.
Next do scrutinise your bill carefully,ours was £185.00 over charged when we queried this ,they seemed unsurprised ,took the amount off and after we left put £80.00 back on again .
I have no idea what’s happened to the management of this hotel ,but it sits on the cusp of going straight down the steep slope to one night rentals .The front desk staff are unskilled and less than friendly , one particularly grim faced young lady informed me that I should have been told of the lack of room service at check in ,I hadn’t the heart to tell her that she had checked me in .
In short if your on a hen /stag night and require a place to flop this will do ,but for any stay over a night it’s a disaster .
They do a very fine breakfast .
Please don’t bother to reply to this we won’t be staying again .

Room tip: Higher rooms are quieter I believe
Date of stay: September 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oldbats
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 September 2021

We had an overnight stay here before catching a flight from Cardiff International Airport. Despite being right next to the Cardiff Central train station, we did not hear any noises from the station. Spacious and friendly, helpful staff. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ProfProton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton Cardiff, Owner at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2021

Hi ProfProton,

Many thanks for your great review!

We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time with us at Clayton Hotel, Cardiff. We are also delighted to hear that you were unaffected by the local train station.

We look forward welcoming you back in the near future,

Kindest Regards,

Sian,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2021 via mobile

Ryan was brilliant getting us all set up on our romantic staycation, thank you! Thank you to Micheal for being so lovely and the chef for my lactose and meat free meal! Sharn you were an absolute delight! Thank you all from room 1016 (wed-fri03/09/21). The only issue was the lack of a smart tv, so we didn’t get our gadgets to watch the James Bond films we had ready, that was disappointing. Sky TV is available but it’s not a new version, perhaps chromcasting options would be good for couples like us. This was booked through a gift via red letter says :)

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 678mahimk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton Cardiff, Owner at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2021

Hi 678mahimk,

Many thanks for your fantastic review!

We are so pleased to hear that you had the most wonderful stay with us at the Clayton Hotel, Cardiff.

Our chefs love being able to cater for all of our guests dietary requirements, so I am very pleased to hear your amazing feedback!

Please also be reassured that I will pass on your wonderful feedback to Ryan and Michael. They both will be ever so delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward welcoming you back very soon.

Kindest Regards,

Sian,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2021 via mobile

Cardiff. Great service, very attentive staff in the restaurant with bottomless Prosecco desk. Two ladies beginning with E who I’ve forgotten. Friendly, nice food, top customer service. Nothing too much trouble. Definitely visit again x

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank QED1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton Cardiff, Owner at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2021

Hi QED1973,

Many thanks for your wonderful review!

We are so pleased to hear that you had the most wonderful time with us at the Clayton Hotel, Cardiff.

Please be reassured that I will pass on all your great comments too.

We look forward welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Sian,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews