We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of Yakitori #1

Yakitori #1
Ranked #44 of 1,359 Restaurants in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Yakitori #1 provides modern Japanese cuisine using the freshest ingredients from sustainable sources. It is the place to come for the best Sushi, Grilled Meats, Fish and Wok-Fried Noodles & Rice. The menu is alluring, the dishes are authentic with an emphasis on simple yet attractive presentation. Dishes are designed to be shared at the table or enjoyed individually. Enjoy superb Japanese food in the form of a light meal in an informal setting and watch our expert chefs at work in our open kitchen.
Reviewed 23 December 2017 via mobile

First time visiting Yakitori and it was wonderful. We went along with friends for a birthday. Our meals arrived quickly and near enough all together. The staff were wonderful and very accommodating to our large group.

Thank Roxy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle W, Public Relations Manager at Yakitori #1, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Thanks so much Roxy, so glad you had your party with us! Hope to see you soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 42 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2017

My wife and I absolutely love sushi. Having had a lot of sushi in Korea and Japan, we are often disappointed by sushi restaurants in the UK. But here we had the best sushi we have had in the UK by a mile, and we've had a lot of sushi in the UK. Great portions, the other dishes we had were also fantastic, it was fresh, it was tasty. We will visit again when back in Cardiff! The service was also good.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle W, Public Relations Manager at Yakitori #1, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Hi Jonathan, thanks so much for the kind review. It really is great to hear that our sushi is highly rated! If you have time please leave us a review on google, it would be hugely appreciated! Hope to see you soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017

Lots of choice, lots of flavour, excellent service. If you actively choose to go to Wagmama over this place, your making bad life choices.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank rpopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle W, Public Relations Manager at Yakitori #1, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

Thank you! We aim to encourage good life choices ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

We hadn't tried this restaurant before so when we saw a Groupon offer we thought we would give it a try. We arrived at the restaurant and gave in our voucher, not more than a couple of minutes later we were presented with two drinks, lemon and honey, very nice. A couple of minutes later a starter of small pasty shaped parcels with chili dip arrived, not a word had been said. My husband managed to order a beer, mean while just after we had started to eat a starter which we had no idea what it had in it, the main course arrived. We worked out that this was sticky rice, chicken breast sliced with curry sauce, a couple of battered sweet potato slices and a few lettuce leaves. I must say that both courses were very good, apart from the limp lettuce leaves. I don't know what would have happened if one of us was a vegetarian or had any food allergies as not a word was spoken. This was by far the most unusual dining experience we have ever had, but it had it's advantages, no fast food restaurant could have served up this food any quicker and we saved on parking charges as we were back at the car within an hour. Having said all this, looking at the usual menu which looks really good and due to the high quality of the food we were given we will visit again and make our own choice of food to eat.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle W, Public Relations Manager at Yakitori #1, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

Hi Christine,

Sorry to hear that it was an 'unusual' experience for you, we are looking into this to ensure this kind of service doesn't happen again. We're glad you enjoyed your meal however, and we hope to see you again soon. Don't hesitate to contact us if you have any questions about the menu, we'd be more than happy to go through on or prior to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

Having visited this place several times I wandered back as a lone diner...late ... Ona Sunday.The usual welcome was warm and friendly.

On first glance it was apparent that the usual menu has been changed/updated and if my memory serves me right reduced.

However, the quality of food and in particular the sushi and sashimi was spot on and...for the price really good value too.

A return is on the cards soon.

Thank Ed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle W, Public Relations Manager at Yakitori #1, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Hi Ed, thanks for the great review. The menu has been changed yes, we are glad that you had such a positive experience! Thanks for the feedback :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yakitori #1 also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Yakitori #1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing