We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$111
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/01/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$112
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/01/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$107
View deal
Hotels.comUS$111
Booking.comUS$112
TravelocityUS$111
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,874)
Filter reviews
2,873 results
Traveller rating
1,547
903
247
101
75
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,547
903
247
101
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviews laguna bar lovely hotel steam room spa treatments afternoon tea bars and clubs superior room quiet room saturday night reception staff following morning stayed for one night good nights sleep cooked breakfast noise ncp gym
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 2,873 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2021 via mobile

Pros
- lovely hotel
- Friendly staff
- Great location - ask reception for discount code on ncp app for greyfriars road car park
- Nice use of facilities - pool and jacuzzi
- Breakfast was lovely
- The bar and lounge are really nice
- Rooms are lovely - really spacious

Cons
- we were on the second floor opposite nightclub tiger tiger - on Friday night the music was playing until 4am. We are well travelled and are used to hotels providing earplugs - suggestion for management! didn’t sleep nearly the whole night!
- The sauna wasn’t working - no one told us about this
- In the spa you can only have a robe and slippers if you’re a member - seems a bit silly as we didn’t have any footwear with us or anything to wear down and back to our room. Most hotels would provide this to guests

Overall we would definitely stay here again but would definitely ask for a room on another side or higher up. It’s a shame to see other people have raised this and management have ignored what they’ve written in their review.

Room tip: Ask for room away from nightclubs
Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon Thurlby, Marketing at Park Plaza Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2021

Dear Victoria, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review based on your most recent stay with us at the Park Plaza Cardiff. We are pleased to see there are so many positives you can list throughout your stay with us. As a collective team, we work really hard to ensure that each guest has a comfortable night stay with us. With that in mind, we are aware of the noise levels from the nightclubs that face the hotel, and we are in constant communication with the local council on ways we can rectify the noise issues. We do supply earplugs on request from the reception desk, it is unfortunate you were not made aware of this and able to request some to make your stay more comfortable. Although there are some drawbacks from your stay, we are happy to see that you would stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully within the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2021 via mobile

A great stay as always at this hotel in the heart of Cardiff
We went for Beaujolais Day and have to say the service was excellent and the food all delicious especially as they were very very busy.
A huge well done will definitely be returning next year

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank amandavj107
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon Thurlby, Marketing at Park Plaza Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2021

Dear amandavj107
Thank you so much for your feedback. Beaujolais Day is one of the busiest days of the year for us and it brings joy to every one of our staff involved during this special event. We are very glad to have been able to share that joy with you and all our guests.
We hope to see you again next year !
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2021

The hotel is well positioned in the city, very modern look, rooms are a good size, I personally thought that the mattress was a little soft, but that's a personal thing. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was pretty damn good. My only complaint is the night clubs out the front of the hotel. If you have a room facing the front of the hotel then you can still hear the thump, thump, thump until the early hours.

Date of stay: November 2021
Thank wynnj2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon Thurlby, Marketing at Park Plaza Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2021

Dear wynnj2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay and for choosing Park Plaza for your stopover in Cardiff, we are glad to know you have enjoyed the amenities and services our hotel offers in our bustling City. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next journey to Wales.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2021 via mobile

Just home from a one night stay here. Was a little anxious after reading some of the latest reviews but really didn't need to be.

Room was lovely and clean, comfortable beds with soft bedding and good pillows. Plenty of space also.

Checked into room with no problems at all.

Used the pool which was a lovely feature to have included. Only problem down there was that the costume dryer put a hole in my friends swimming costume. This was dealt with the next morning when we were asked to come back to see the spa manager. She was very professional and apologetic and offered various options for compensation.

We dined in the restaurant in the evening. The food was delicious. I had the scotch egg and pork belly and my friend had the scallops and Dahl. No complaints from either of us!! Compliments to the chef.

Slept really well until "kick out time" from the bars and clubs opposite. Very loud but what we expected. After all we were in the city centre!! If you don't want to be woken by the noise then book somewhere outside the centre.

Breakfast was again delicious. Lots of variety and a well cooked hot buffet.

All in all a great stay in a great location for us.

Room tip: Don't use the costume drier if you have wires in it. If you're not prepared to be woken by the noise of pubs/clubs closing then stay outside the centre.
Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Stacey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon Thurlby, Marketing at Park Plaza Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2021

Dear Stacey L,
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Park Plaza Cardiff. Our Staff will be very happy to have received your praise.
We hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2021

We arrived for a two night stay the room was adequate bed and pillows very comfortable. Bathroom was nice. Cleaning needs some attention. Pool and spa great. However changing area needs some more private changing options. Bar slow, bar food not great but restaurant very good especially George the manager who was incredibly polite and accommodating. It’s a little frustrating when you are paying £230 per night and you have to battle the general public for a table. All in all a nice hotel but over priced.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Anne-Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon Thurlby, Marketing at Park Plaza Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2021

Dear Anne-Marie C
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your valuable comments, we will do our best to improve on you the mentioned points and we will make sure your positive feedback is also shared with the team, especially George. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews