We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool pub but average food”

The Crown Liquor Saloon
Ranked #102 of 1,182 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Golden Mile
Description: You will find The Crown Liquor Saloon in Belfast within a short stroll of Europa Hotel, Grosvenor Road and Glengall Street - however, you won't find another like it.Step in to discover a traditional pub of unique character, revered for its eclectic range of real ales and its heartily classic pub food, which are served, as they should be, with a generous measure of famous Irish hospitality.The Crown Liquor Saloon is one of many rare gems in the Nicholson's collection of great pubs, reputed for their distinctive buildings, intriguing history and vibrant atmosphere.
Reviewed 30 March 2018

The place is so cool! It is really different to other pubs as there are these loges where you can have your beer or food with your own group.. Also the decoration is beautiful and full of history. I definitely recommend to visit this place for beer, the food was fine but nothing special. I'd say you can have better food elsewhere.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Irene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Crown Liquor Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Hi Irene P,
thanks for taking the time to give us a review and im glad you enjoyed your visit. Our food is traditional pub food but there are a number of great restaurants nearby if you want something a little more formal or for a special occasion.
Hope to see you again soon.
Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,656)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

346 - 350 of 4,656 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

The restaurant was very busy and because we hadn’t booked we waited about half an hour.
We were both starving. We ordered the Guinness pie. When it arrived the pie looked good but the meat was grisly. There was only a very small portion of mash and vegetables.
The food I thought was very mediocre and we still felt hungry.
We wouldn’t rush back.

Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Crown Liquor Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Hi Louise P,
sorry you were disappointed on your recent visit. I have passed on your comments about the food to our food team and suppliers and we are always looking for areas to improve.
Hope you can give us another try soon so we can show we can get it right.
Thanks for getting in touch.
Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Stop here for a drink! It’s so quaint and unique. Loved the atmosphere and it felt like the perfect traditional Irish pub to visit while doing our trip around the Emerald Isle.

Thank francesgilman1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Crown Liquor Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Thanks for your review, see you again soon.


Colum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Worth a visit if only to see the decor. We wandered through the venue but were unable to find a seat. A truly historic and well preserved building.

Thank PamelaW31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Crown Liquor Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Thanks for your review, next time you visit give us a call we can reserve a booth for you, see you again soon.


Colum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

What a lovely experience. We were there on the day Ireland won the rugby. The atmosphere was electric, all the booths were full and we had to use the upstairs part of the restaurant. The room was tastefully restored and very warm and comfortable. The food was less than mediocre and very overpriced for what it was. I would recommend visiting and have a drink but definitely give the food a miss. A beautiful building, well worth a visit.

Thank Teresa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Crown Liquor Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thanks for your review, I will pass your comments on to our food team.


Colum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crown Liquor Saloon also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to The Crown Liquor Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing