We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oakleigh House
Nearby Hotels
Cherryhill Lodge(Newcastle)
US$120
US$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$225
US$198
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Donard Hotel(Newcastle)
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Meelmore Lodge(Newcastle)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
38
5
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
38
5
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstollymore forest parkone nightsun roomstayed herewelcoming hostsnext morningbeautiful locationrayleighaccommodationmournestvwedding
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2015 via mobile

Delicious breakfast, clean rooms with comfy beds, as much tea, coffee and biscuits you like, very friendly staff and all within a 5 minute drive from Newcastle for £30 a head, cannot recommend oakleigh house enough

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2015

My wife and I stopped here for one night on a spare of the moment impulse, and I'm so glad we did.
Following a busy day running around the beautiful nearby Donard Forest, this was just what we needed. Granny met us at the door and showed us to a lovely room. It was spacious, comfortable, clean and bright. There is a well stocked tray in the sun room (stunning view) with teas, coffee and biscuits. After we had cleaned up, it was time to head into Newcastle for a bite to eat. We thought it would be nice to stretch the legs and walk. Granny appeared with a map and showed us the way. 20 minutes later we were there. A walk back meant dinner was well settled and we were definitely ready for bed.
After a great nights sleep, Pam brought us a well prepared fry up,( there are cereals too) juice, coffee and tea.
Needless to say we needed another walk before heading home.
Will certainly stay here again when we are back that direction.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank janjam31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2015 via mobile

stayed for the 1 night while at a wedding, great place, lovely scenery, excellent staff, made us feel at home as soon as we arrived, the breakfast was brilliant, thanks a million Jan & Pam. Would recommend to anyone.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank billiards1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Stayed here 8-11th August 2014 to watch the Newcastle airshow and celebrate my wife's birthday. Nice comfy bed and excellent breakfasts prepared by 'granny'. The b&b is very handy to Newcastle and Tollymore forest park, only a 20/25 minute walk to either. Ample car parking on site when not touring through the Mourn mountains.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ronandeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I was tired when I arrived, and the first thing I saw was the welcoming tea and coffee counter. A cappuchino later I discovered this wonderful B&B. It was clean, and lovely - the breakfast was fantastic - everything was made to order as we sat there. The bathroom was clean and well equipped We had some lovely chats to the hosts and they came us suggestions about where to eat that was very helpful!

This place is definitely worth a stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karoline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews