We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amble In B&B
Nearby Hotels
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$227
US$197
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Donard Hotel(Newcastle)
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
154
9
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
154
9
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslocal sitesquiet streetexcellent hostsfamily holidayfriendly ownersroom was spotlessa great place to staybreakfast was deliciousstayed here for nightsenjoyed our staytown centreulster frycouldn't do enoughfrancesmournesmountainsaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 164 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed in the Burren room for 2 nights. It was a good sized comfortable room with a decent size on-suite. The room had a TV and tea making facilities. The location is great - about a two minute walk to the shops and restaurants and about 5 minutes to the beach. Colm and Frances were great hosts and Colm gave us some very good recommendations. Breakfast was OK - choice of cereals and a cooked breakfast with breads / toast.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColmMcClean, Owner at Amble In B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Hi Kate; we thank you for posting your recent review.
Customer feedback is vital for us to maintain our high standards, we are glad you enjoyed our spacious Burren room with its modern facilities and our recommendations for dinner.
Thank you for choosing the Amble In B&B for your short break in Newcastle.

Regards

Colm and Frances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights during Easter.The room was very clean and cosy.Breakfast was delicious.Colm & Frances are the best hosts.They are very helpful and friendly.Me and my husband travelling a lot and in " Amble In " for the first time we felt like at home.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Karina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColmMcClean, Owner at Amble In B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Hi Karina; thank you very much for taking the time to post your fantastic review. We truly appreciate your great comments regarding, ”for the first time we felt like at home”. We try to make our guests feel special and take great pride in our Irish breakfast and the service we provide to hill walkers.
It was disappointing for you your few days in the Mournes were in one of the heaviest snowfalls we have had in 30 years, I am glad it didn’t deter you on your adventure to the top of some of the peaks, and thank you for sharing some of the fantastic snow pictures.
We are happy to share our local knowledge and point out the interesting places that are not marked on any map; it makes your stay more interesting.
Thank you for choosing the Amble In B&B accommodation for your short break walking in the Mournes.
Kindest regards from
Colm and Frances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Stayed here for a week mid-April with my boyfriend and couldn't have asked for a better experience!

The BnB is conveniently located near all the shops and restaurants as well as the bus station in Newcastle which was great as we didn't have a car so having everything within a walking distance was nice.

We had the Burren room which had a massive bed with an ample amount of pillows. The en-suite bathroom was a good size with different coloured towels provided so you wouldn't get mixed up. There was also a TV in the room but we didn't use it as we spent more time exploring Newcastle. Colm & Frances provided an excellent breakfast every morning with a selection of cereals, breads (the homemade soda bread is a must) as well as a full fry up.

We hadn't had much planned for our stay but Colm who knows everything there is to know about Newcastle had some wonderful suggestions and we found ourselves getting to know Newcastle pretty well thanks to the maps and books he provided. Definitely ask him about the slope where the cheeky leprechauns push cars up! ;)

All in all I highly recommend staying with Colm & Frances if you're ever in Newcastle.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wengyee6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColmMcClean, Owner at Amble In B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2013

Hi Wengyee,
We really appreciate you taking the time to write such a lengthy review for us it.
It was great to meet you and we are glad you have good memories of your visit to Newcastle.
Our books and maps of the mountains and the surrounding area are available to all our guests and we are always on hand to explain and give safety advice on the mountains.
Have you come up with a better theory than my Leprechaun one for the “Magnetic Brae” at Spelga dam?
It would be lovely to meet you again if you are ever back in Newcastle; you will be made welcome.
Thank you for choosing the Amble In for your break in Newcastle.
Best regards
Colm and Frances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Review Amble Inn

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Amble Inn.

- Large ensuite room, well furnished with massive bed. Neutral and simple style with lots of wood.

- Good facilities: the Wifi was sufficiently fast for streaming TV from the internet, and a flat screen TV was provided. Kettle with teas and cookies, etc.

- New bathroom with a good shower, good ventilation and a window. There was a selection of shower gels provided, which was great for me because it's something I always forget to pack, and is an annoying thing to take through security (the 100ml rule) if you only travel with hand lugage.

- Lots of maps, and practical and historical literature to borrow. The hosts clearly explained the maps, and for a fell runner staying even marked out a route on a plastic overlay.

- Good, strong and plentiful real coffee served at breakfast.

- The breakfast and times where very flexible, with nearly everything sourced locally. I asked for the full works and consequently couldn't eat a lunch.

- The room, house, and bathroom was very clean, tidy and nicely laid out

- Centrally located easy to amble to resturants, shops, beach, etc (pun intended)

- Fair price, great value for money

- The best thing about my stay was the host and hostess, kind, friendly, funny, and genuinely proud and happy to make sure the stay was as pleasant as possible.


I stayed for quite a long break; 5 nights, and it was nice to get to know the host and hostess. When I return, which is a certainty, I'll not only look forward to the excellent service, but also seeing the host and hostess again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamDHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColmMcClean, Owner at Amble In B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2013

Hi Sam,
We really appreciate you taking the time to write such a lengthy review for us it. It was great to meet you and we are glad you have good memories of your visit to Newcastle and our little chats after breakfast.
Our books and maps of the mountains and the area are available to all our guests and we are always on hand to explain and give safety advice on the mountains.
It would be lovely to see you again if you make it back to Newcastle, you will be made welcome with some real strong coffee.
Thank you for choosing the Amble in for your short break in Newcastle.
Best regards
Colm and Frances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed at the Amble in for a few nights over Easter.
The place is spotless, & Colm & Frances could not have been more helpfull.
Colm cooked a salmon & scramble egg each morning which was fantastic, & left fresh biscuits in the room each day , which was a nice touch.
Colm has put a lot of thought into what his guests would need / require & it makes the stay very comfortable .
Will defintily return, you won't find any better place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColmMcClean, Owner at Amble In B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Hi Len and Mary,
We really appreciate you taking the time to write such a fantastic review for us it. It was great to meet you and we really enjoyed our little chats after breakfast. It would be lovely to see you again if you make it back this way and maybe get to the top of Slieve Donard this time.
Thank you for choosing the Amble in for your short break in Newcastle.
Best regards
Colm and Frances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews