We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Donard Hotel(Newcastle)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$120
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$131
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$310
US$302
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Meelmore Lodge(Newcastle)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
154
9
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
154
9
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslocal sitesexcellent hostsquiet streetslieve donardfamily holidaybreakfast was excellentfew minutes walkroom was spotlessstayed nightstown centreenjoyed our stayulster fryfrancismournesmountainsaccommodationhouse
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 164 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We had a very enjoyable 4 day stay in Newcastle in early May. Amble In is a first class B&B. Colm and Frances made us feel very welcome; each evening we returned from a superb day walking in the Mournes, by morning our wet gear had been dried out and a good breakfast set us on our way again. Enjoyed chatting to Colm and Frances and they were rightly proud and happy to share their knowledge of the local area to make our stay even more rewarding.
Very comfortable in Shimna Room. Ideal location for nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColmMcClean, Owner at Amble In B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Hi Derek, thank you very much for taking the time to post your fantastic review. We truly appreciate your great comments regarding the dry cloths and the breakfast each morning, we try to make our guests feel special and take great pride in the service we provide.

We are happy to share our local knowledge and point out the interesting places that are not marked on any map; we are glad it made your visit more interesting, it was rewarding for us.

Thank you for choosing the Amble In B&B accommodation for your short break walking in the Mournes and we hope to greet you again soon.

Regards

Colm and Frances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I stayed with Colm and Frances for two nights over the Easter break. It was ideally situated for walks in the Mourne Mountains,5 minute walks to the main street with restaurants and bars to choose from. It was a real pleasure to stay with Colm and Frances who treated me as a friend and could not do enough to make my stay enjoyable. Colm even took the time to show me various walks in the Mournes and lent me maps and information about the area. I highly recommend this accommodation. The rooms were spotless and the traditional Irish breakfast set one up for the day. This is no average bed and breakfast accommodation and I look forward to my next visit in August.

Room Tip: all rooms are more than satisfactory
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColmMcClean, Owner at Amble In B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Hi David, thank you for taking the time to post your fantastic review. We truly appreciate your great comments regarding “treated me as a friend” and “traditional Irish breakfast set one up for the day”. We try to make our guests feel special and take great pride in our Irish breakfast the service we provide.
We are happy to share our local knowledge and point out the interesting places that are not marked on any map; it makes your stay more interesting.
Thank you for choosing the Amble In B&B accommodation for your short break walking in the Mournes and we hope to welcome you again soon and maybe share the views from the top of Slieve Donard (this time without the fog).

Best regards
Colm and Frances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed in the Burren room for 2 nights. It was a good sized comfortable room with a decent size on-suite. The room had a TV and tea making facilities. The location is great - about a two minute walk to the shops and restaurants and about 5 minutes to the beach. Colm and Frances were great hosts and Colm gave us some very good recommendations. Breakfast was OK - choice of cereals and a cooked breakfast with breads / toast.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColmMcClean, Owner at Amble In B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Hi Kate; we thank you for posting your recent review.
Customer feedback is vital for us to maintain our high standards, we are glad you enjoyed our spacious Burren room with its modern facilities and our recommendations for dinner.
Thank you for choosing the Amble In B&B for your short break in Newcastle.

Regards

Colm and Frances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights during Easter.The room was very clean and cosy.Breakfast was delicious.Colm & Frances are the best hosts.They are very helpful and friendly.Me and my husband travelling a lot and in " Amble In " for the first time we felt like at home.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Karina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColmMcClean, Owner at Amble In B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Hi Karina; thank you very much for taking the time to post your fantastic review. We truly appreciate your great comments regarding, ”for the first time we felt like at home”. We try to make our guests feel special and take great pride in our Irish breakfast and the service we provide to hill walkers.
It was disappointing for you your few days in the Mournes were in one of the heaviest snowfalls we have had in 30 years, I am glad it didn’t deter you on your adventure to the top of some of the peaks, and thank you for sharing some of the fantastic snow pictures.
We are happy to share our local knowledge and point out the interesting places that are not marked on any map; it makes your stay more interesting.
Thank you for choosing the Amble In B&B accommodation for your short break walking in the Mournes.
Kindest regards from
Colm and Frances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Stayed here for a week mid-April with my boyfriend and couldn't have asked for a better experience!

The BnB is conveniently located near all the shops and restaurants as well as the bus station in Newcastle which was great as we didn't have a car so having everything within a walking distance was nice.

We had the Burren room which had a massive bed with an ample amount of pillows. The en-suite bathroom was a good size with different coloured towels provided so you wouldn't get mixed up. There was also a TV in the room but we didn't use it as we spent more time exploring Newcastle. Colm & Frances provided an excellent breakfast every morning with a selection of cereals, breads (the homemade soda bread is a must) as well as a full fry up.

We hadn't had much planned for our stay but Colm who knows everything there is to know about Newcastle had some wonderful suggestions and we found ourselves getting to know Newcastle pretty well thanks to the maps and books he provided. Definitely ask him about the slope where the cheeky leprechauns push cars up! ;)

All in all I highly recommend staying with Colm & Frances if you're ever in Newcastle.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wengyee6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColmMcClean, Owner at Amble In B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2013

Hi Wengyee,
We really appreciate you taking the time to write such a lengthy review for us it.
It was great to meet you and we are glad you have good memories of your visit to Newcastle.
Our books and maps of the mountains and the surrounding area are available to all our guests and we are always on hand to explain and give safety advice on the mountains.
Have you come up with a better theory than my Leprechaun one for the “Magnetic Brae” at Spelga dam?
It would be lovely to meet you again if you are ever back in Newcastle; you will be made welcome.
Thank you for choosing the Amble In for your break in Newcastle.
Best regards
Colm and Frances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews